Ratings based on 162 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient not luxury

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel decor a bit tired and dated. Ok for one night stopover.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived early and our room was ready. We enjoyed our stay. The staff was very helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient.

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
Very good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Once Grand Hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2016
We have stayed in the Grand many times and it has always been a delight. However we feel the hotel is now in need of modernisation. The room we were given was not 'superior' as booked - the wallpaper was peeling, the wardrobe door was broken as was the toilet seat and the room smelled very stale. To be fair, once we complained we were offered another room which was better - although the toilet smelled strongly of stale urine. Shame to say goodbye after 9 years but we will not be booking here again unless improvements are made.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: In the city centre and parking
Cons: Yes the tea and coffee in the room was not top up went down and ask for tea bags reception did not find any went to shop next door
Location: Good all round
We stop with you about three years ago it was good that why we came back again but it just did not seem so good the lady in breakfast room was good I wish she would cook her eggs longer they were all most raw not good as we English like our eggs and bacon but saying that it poss we will come back if the need arises
3 out of 5
by Bernadette from Ayrshire

Not 4 Star but not 4 Star prices.

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
Booked a last minute cheap flight to Potiers and this was one of the few 4 star hotels available. It definitely wasn't 4 star accommodation but then it wasn't 4 star prices. The room was very comfortable and clean. Good bed and pillows. There is no room service at the weekends which seemed strange but worse, the bar also does not open Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays. So if you fancy a wee nightcap, tough luck.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, poor hotel facilities

Posted Aug 19, 2016
We arrived around 9.30pm and found the hotel gates locked, the carpark full and the night clerk not too helpful. However there is public parking available at the big Carrefours next door and a couple of good restaurants as well. When we found our room (there is no porter) we unpacked, then discovered that the phone to reception didn't work and neither did the airconditioning unit. Walked down to reception, was offered a different room where the airconditioning worked but the bathroom basin was cracked. The carpets throughout the hotel have a strange dusty, musty smell as though they need airing. Anyway, the bed was comfortable and we slept fine. Next morning we left, so don't have much experience of this hotel except wasting an hour packing/unpacking, changing rooms, night clerk who didn't know what the parking cost (Carrefours turned out to be cheaper than the hotel) and an overall impression that we won't be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cardiff, UK

Lovely hotel

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: Centrally situated, helpful staff and rooms of excellent standard.
Location: Near shops, cathedral and all amenities.
Excellent hotel situated in the centre of the city with underground parking. Beautiful clean and interesting city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect central location for a city break

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Secure parking, locked gate to hotel at night right behind pedestrian area with bars and restaurants, close to shops and all the sights.