Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel well situated - poor English

Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels
Very original and big rooms using the 20s style French colonial type of decorations. Shower and bathroom extremely nice and one of these hotels where you sleep very well thanks to amzaing bedding and curtains. Wifi an issue - working erratically and very slow - not so much an issue except when you want to post your daily photos :) Staff helpfull but level of English is rather poor (apart from main management) and might bring some surprises. Pool site is lovely and very relaxing... but the karaoke bar next door can spoil your time as you hear it as if it was next to you. Air con system is extremely noisy as well. Recommend to visit their shop - you can find Caruso in Luang Prabang at slightly lower prices but if you want something really different, signed (ie unique items) then go for it, you will want to buy absolutely everything. One really good aspect is you can walk to most of the secondary temples to visit, and a lot of good restaurants are around - recommending especially Herzog bakery for your breakfast about 10 min walk away. However, very far from the interesting restaurants on the Mekhong river - well far in terms of time as traffic is horrendous. Be very careful when walking on the pavement as it is extremely damage and dangerous as you could end up disappearing through a ditch very easily. Overall good but staff needs support and upskilling on their English.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Christina from Sweden but live in Hanoi

Colonial relaxing oasis

Posted Nov 24, 2015 on Hotels
When checking in it was a very warm welcoming. The check-in was fast and we got upgraded and they had arranged a connecting room after a call just the same day (we had different bookings as we arrived different days). The bar is very nice and they made really great drinks. Just sitting there sipping the Dry Martini made the mind fly back to the 30s and how it could have been. The pool is really nice and the garden feels like an oasis in the city. The food was also good and do not agree that it was overpriced. At breakfast we had fantastic scrambled egg, omeletes and fantastic strong coffee that kept us awake (we love strong coffee). When at the pool we had appreciated if someone had passed by at least once in a while to check if we wanted to order something. Think that they even missed some orders from us due to that we were too lazy to dress and go to the bar for water and drinks. The rooms are nice but the beds are very hard. The rooms are also a bit worn and a little bit more finish could have been good. It was walking distance to the restaurants but still not in the buzz. We rented bikes and bicycled around the town. Could have been good if this could have been arranged by the hotel as we had quite a short stay and it took some time to find a place that had mountain bikes. There are not many rooms and the guests were in general westerns on business trips or expats with visitors.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Very nice hotel - an oasis in Vietienne.

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Beautifully restored and lovely garden and pool. Staff very helpful and lovely service. Great food and very nice restaurant. We had an excellent stay and would recommend to anyone.
1 out of 5
by Mike from NYC

dreadful

Posted Feb 8, 2013
Pros: none
Cons: too many to mention
Location: none
Especially Restaurant requires much of the attention. If they charge high prices they must keep up with the professionalism. I asked for medium cooked steak, I got raw meat, and over 100 bucks check.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

A godo hotel, godo quality in a awful surrounding

Posted Jan 15, 2012
Location: Awful
The hotel is situated un a very awful street. Some of the employes does not understand English, some aré poli others not.
5 out of 5
by Bob from Washington, DC, USA

Charming French Colonial

Posted Mar 18, 2011
Absolutely wonderful, French Colonial hotel. Just 28 rooms, but has all amenities of much larger luxury hotel. Very well maintained. Great pool, bar, dining rooms. Hotel staff very pleasant but a little slow responding and not too well informed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Thailand

The Best in Vientiane

Posted Jun 19, 2010
Vientiane is experiencing gradual change as the Loas government attempt to improve the country's economy and the outcomes for its people, English is spoken almost everywhere to different degrees. The Settha Palace Hotel is exceptional. The service is very courteous without being intrusive and the rooms, with their lofty ceilings and historic charm, are well appointed and spacious. The chefs at the Settha prepare a lavish breakfast every morning, so you are assured of finding something to stimulate your appetite. Situated centrally, the Settha is ideally located for tourism and of course they cater for the business community in style. It is pricey compared to the many other hotels in Vientiane, but the experience is considerably more rewarding than its competitors and as such offers value and high levels of comfort. I thoroughly recommend this hotel...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from China

Everything was just perfect!

Posted Jan 22, 2010
Everything was just perfect! Nice pool, professional staff, beautiful room, good location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from RIO DE JANEIRO BRAZIL

COLONIAL DECORATION GOOD HOTEL

Posted Jan 13, 2010
GOOD LOCATION ...ROOMS ARE A LITTLE OLD INTERNET SERVICE IN ROOM VERY EXPENSIVE RESTAURANT VERY GOOD