Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Juan, PR

Hidden gem great for a romantic getaway!

Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Every room has a balcony, I loved the high ceilings and the ventilation inside of the hotel. Gary (assistant) likes to make the guests laugh.
Location: The hotel is a 5 min drive from town, which is full of many options for dining, drinks and fun. Ask Dana or Gary for recommendations to anything.
Great Escape is a beautiful place to go relax and disconnect from everything. This bed and breakfast is located on the top of a hill overlooking nature on all directions. The sound of the wind chimes, rustling of the tree branches against the wind and the ocean in the distance fill the atmosphere with serenity. We had the opportunity of getting to know the owner Dana who lives there. This place is but a reflection of who she is. On a previous review someone described her as being capable of mothering you without smothering, to which I can personally say that, that is a great description of the care she provides. Dana was always interested in our wellbeing, she was always making sure that everybody in the hotel was happy. I really like the honor system in the hotel. There is a full bar and well stocked fridge, whatever you take you write it down under your room number. The week we went all the cars in the island were completely rented out. Dana was kind enough to arrange transportation for us. I will definitely come back and stay here as well as recommend this place to everyone!
3 out of 5
by Jeanne E. from Smith Point Marina, Reedville VA

Vieques Interlude

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
As part of our circumnavigation)of Puerto Rico, we decided to visit Vieques. We left our rental car in Fajardo and took the almost-free ferry. Passengers should try to buy tickets in advance (particularly if going to the other island, Culebra.) Once in Vieques, Maritza Car Rental picked us up (they were terrific to deal with!) We easily found the reasonably priced and charming Great Escape B&B. The owner, Dana, was hospitable and her "aide-de-camp" was very helpful. The room was clean, pleasant and spacious with a nice veranda with a beautiful view. Rooms had no wifi, no tv/dvd player, no a/c but games and cards were available, as well as beach chairs. Pay-as-you-go refrigerator on the communal patio with drinks. Lovely pool, patio and gardens. Continental breakfast in casual atmosphere. Nearby beaches (drive) are very nice. Restaurants/bars in Esperanza were nice - particularly liked Trade Winds, Belly Buttons and Duffy's. Shopping is better in Isabella, which is further from the b&b, but not far. Driving around the island was interesting; lots of "wild" horses, beaches, and old Navy bunkers along with rustic natural beauty. We enjoyed seeing the lighthouse and the Vieques Historical & Conservation Trust and the Siddhia Hutchinson Gallery. We suggest you book your own Bio-Bay outing in advance if you will be there during new moon and your own diving, snorkeling, etc.If weather is questionable, check the ferry terminal. Overall very good experience!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Center of island

Posted Mar 13, 2016 on Hotels
nice place to stay, had a hard time finding it, needs a better sign, very friendly staff and clean
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice small, remote B&B

Posted Mar 12, 2016
Pros: Liked the remote location, although the facility was hard to find at first.
Location: The town of Esperanza is close and offers a variety of activities and food outlets. Many nice beachesare nearby, but you need a vehicle to get there.
This place is well suited for those who like peace and quiet. Except for the occasional dog barking next door, it's an isolated spot on the island that is peaceful and quiet. You are well off the road and away from town. The owner goes out of her way to be helfpul and make your stay pleasant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Peaceful B&B

Posted Mar 9, 2016
Pros: beds, pool, property, lack of wifi ;)
Cons: no shampoo or conditioner in the room. I'm sure I could have asked, but I didn't need any.
Location: relax, go to the beach, go into Esperanza (4 minute drive), explore, bio bay
This bed and breakfast was great! Everyone was very helpful. There is no wifi or tv, but that is part of the draw! Some people might have found it a little difficult at first, but once you get used to it, it is a groove that is very easy to slip in to. The beds/rooms were so peaceful! The light breeze (or AC) and the bed lulled you into a very relaxed state of mind, and the view to the ocean completed it. It was so relaxing and perfectly comfortable. I was so sad to leave. The town of Esperanza is only a 4 minute drive, but it feels like you are much further away. This place truly is the Great Escape! (Also, rent a jeep!)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kalamazoo, MI

Quiet and relaxing beauty.

Posted Mar 8, 2016
Pros: Location, owner and staff, breakfasts.
Cons: Better directions for driving to the B&B.
We were extremely pleased with our stay at the Great Escape. After having a bit of trouble finding the B&B we were enthralled with the peaceful setting and the warm and inviting staff. Our room overlooked a beautiful area of open space and trees with large hills in the background; truly an aptly named B&B. Located only a few minutes drive to the village of Esperanza, Great Escape is a great balance of convenience and solitude. Whether your choice is to sit by the small pool and read, have a pleasant talk with the owner, Dona, walk the gardens and surrounding area, or drive to the many beautiful beaches on the island you will find the stay a very enjoyable one. We fould our room to be very comfortable and the breakfasts were delicious.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice rural setting - many roosters

Posted Feb 16, 2016
Location: Great snorkeling beaches.
Good base for Vieques beaches. Room was fine if a bit dated. No TV or WiFi was fine with us but might be a problem for some people. Owner was helpful suggesting restaurants, beaches, etc.
5 out of 5
by Richard from Goshen NH

Relaxing, Low-key hidden Gem

Posted Feb 10, 2016 on Hotels
For those seeking simplicity and peace, this off-the-beaten-track gem is perfect. On picturesque grounds. The owner/manager is forever helpful. Will return on our next Vieques trip.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great people and beautiful surroundings

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: Donna and Gary
Cons: Bed firmness and amenities.
Location: The Location is perfect. It is near Esperanza town center (4minutes), away from the main area. Esperanza has great restaurants and bars.
We enjoyed our stay at the Great Escape. Donna and Gary are such lovely people. The B&B is set in a wonderful surrounding. The host are good people and guests sore also very friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was super cute and confy!

Posted Jan 23, 2016
The room was clean and spacious. Love the owner and staff(Gary)! Very relaxing place. Don't expect any technology such as a TV in the room as this is a place to relax and to get away of city life. We would totally come back.