Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Nina

Best hotel on Vieques!

Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Hotels
Words cannot express how beautiful The Great Escape is. The property itself, which is maintained by the nicest man (Gary), is stunning. It includes a beautiful in-ground pool, banana and papaya trees, a swing, hammock, garden and wonderful flowers. The pool is open all hours which is also a perk. A fridge is stocked with water, soda, etc and is great for left-overs. Breakfast every morning from 8-10 with fruit, freshly made scrambled eggs, cereal, coffee, and orange juice. Breakfast was definitely a highlight! The rooms have a balcony with seating area. Ours (room 5) had a view of the pool, garden, and ocean in the distance. We cannot say enough about Dana and Gary, who helped us arrange for a moped rental and bioluminescent bay experience (definitely do the clear kayak)!! They made the stay memorable and we have already planned a return trip as this is the best place to stay on the island. 4 minutes to Esperanza via car, which is just enough distance to have a romantic and quiet evening while being close to the best beaches on the Caribbean side of the island (the best part of the island itself). Stay here and you will have the most romantic trip of your life!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Escape Vieques

Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
There was a glitch with my reservation but it was ok when we got there because there were rooms available. i had a room with a nice rear facing view of the surrounding area. We had a good time because I had my own transportation which is necessary anywhere you stay on Vieques. We always had places to be and things to do. 5 miles to Esperanza town and the beaches are a little farther. Get a car or a motor bike rental. The one staff - Gary was a great guy and very hard working.
5 out of 5
by Sheyla from Somerville MA

HoneyMoon at Great Escape

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
My husband and I went to Vieques for 3 days and stayed at Great Escape, the name says it all. It was a great escape from everything, we had just married and were in our honeymoon. We loved everything, the owner( Dana) is a lovely person, we will most likely be back there. :)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst Stay Ever

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: We did not like it.
We booked 4 King Bed rooms to accommodate 4 families. When we reached there the hotel staff says we have to pay $25 for each kid and they did not leave to pay $400 extra for all the kids. There was no hot water coming on the shower. When we complained, hotel staff says this is not the star hotel. We had to take baths outside of the pool showers. Breakfast was ok. Overall we had worst experience at Great Escape B&B hotel. I would not recommend this to anyone. I did book the rooms and all my relatives who came along with me and stayed here have been scolding me for not booking a good hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Juan, PR

Hidden gem great for a romantic getaway!

Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Every room has a balcony, I loved the high ceilings and the ventilation inside of the hotel. Gary (assistant) likes to make the guests laugh.
Location: The hotel is a 5 min drive from town, which is full of many options for dining, drinks and fun. Ask Dana or Gary for recommendations to anything.
Great Escape is a beautiful place to go relax and disconnect from everything. This bed and breakfast is located on the top of a hill overlooking nature on all directions. The sound of the wind chimes, rustling of the tree branches against the wind and the ocean in the distance fill the atmosphere with serenity. We had the opportunity of getting to know the owner Dana who lives there. This place is but a reflection of who she is. On a previous review someone described her as being capable of mothering you without smothering, to which I can personally say that, that is a great description of the care she provides. Dana was always interested in our wellbeing, she was always making sure that everybody in the hotel was happy. I really like the honor system in the hotel. There is a full bar and well stocked fridge, whatever you take you write it down under your room number. The week we went all the cars in the island were completely rented out. Dana was kind enough to arrange transportation for us. I will definitely come back and stay here as well as recommend this place to everyone!
3 out of 5
by Jeanne E. from Smith Point Marina, Reedville VA

Vieques Interlude

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
As part of our circumnavigation)of Puerto Rico, we decided to visit Vieques. We left our rental car in Fajardo and took the almost-free ferry. Passengers should try to buy tickets in advance (particularly if going to the other island, Culebra.) Once in Vieques, Maritza Car Rental picked us up (they were terrific to deal with!) We easily found the reasonably priced and charming Great Escape B&B. The owner, Dana, was hospitable and her "aide-de-camp" was very helpful. The room was clean, pleasant and spacious with a nice veranda with a beautiful view. Rooms had no wifi, no tv/dvd player, no a/c but games and cards were available, as well as beach chairs. Pay-as-you-go refrigerator on the communal patio with drinks. Lovely pool, patio and gardens. Continental breakfast in casual atmosphere. Nearby beaches (drive) are very nice. Restaurants/bars in Esperanza were nice - particularly liked Trade Winds, Belly Buttons and Duffy's. Shopping is better in Isabella, which is further from the b&b, but not far. Driving around the island was interesting; lots of "wild" horses, beaches, and old Navy bunkers along with rustic natural beauty. We enjoyed seeing the lighthouse and the Vieques Historical & Conservation Trust and the Siddhia Hutchinson Gallery. We suggest you book your own Bio-Bay outing in advance if you will be there during new moon and your own diving, snorkeling, etc.If weather is questionable, check the ferry terminal. Overall very good experience!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Center of island

Posted Mar 13, 2016 on Hotels
nice place to stay, had a hard time finding it, needs a better sign, very friendly staff and clean
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice small, remote B&B

Posted Mar 12, 2016
Pros: Liked the remote location, although the facility was hard to find at first.
Location: The town of Esperanza is close and offers a variety of activities and food outlets. Many nice beachesare nearby, but you need a vehicle to get there.
This place is well suited for those who like peace and quiet. Except for the occasional dog barking next door, it's an isolated spot on the island that is peaceful and quiet. You are well off the road and away from town. The owner goes out of her way to be helfpul and make your stay pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Peaceful B&B

Posted Mar 9, 2016
Pros: beds, pool, property, lack of wifi ;)
Cons: no shampoo or conditioner in the room. I'm sure I could have asked, but I didn't need any.
Location: relax, go to the beach, go into Esperanza (4 minute drive), explore, bio bay
This bed and breakfast was great! Everyone was very helpful. There is no wifi or tv, but that is part of the draw! Some people might have found it a little difficult at first, but once you get used to it, it is a groove that is very easy to slip in to. The beds/rooms were so peaceful! The light breeze (or AC) and the bed lulled you into a very relaxed state of mind, and the view to the ocean completed it. It was so relaxing and perfectly comfortable. I was so sad to leave. The town of Esperanza is only a 4 minute drive, but it feels like you are much further away. This place truly is the Great Escape! (Also, rent a jeep!)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kalamazoo, MI

Quiet and relaxing beauty.

Posted Mar 8, 2016
Pros: Location, owner and staff, breakfasts.
Cons: Better directions for driving to the B&B.
We were extremely pleased with our stay at the Great Escape. After having a bit of trouble finding the B&B we were enthralled with the peaceful setting and the warm and inviting staff. Our room overlooked a beautiful area of open space and trees with large hills in the background; truly an aptly named B&B. Located only a few minutes drive to the village of Esperanza, Great Escape is a great balance of convenience and solitude. Whether your choice is to sit by the small pool and read, have a pleasant talk with the owner, Dona, walk the gardens and surrounding area, or drive to the many beautiful beaches on the island you will find the stay a very enjoyable one. We fould our room to be very comfortable and the breakfasts were delicious.