Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guaynabo, PR

Great for Relaxation

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Great view, beautiful grounds and infinity pool. Not so bad the beach. Can improve service. Facilities with poor maintenace (bar, restaurant). Furniture in bad shape... A town GEM, but need TLC. Excelent for brekfast, but pricey not so good for dinner (need more natural ingredients). Main entrance urgenly needs clear illumination (too dark). NO handicaped access. Bring flip-flop if dont want to damage your HHLS or Shoes.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Nice location, but needs some work done...

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: The restaurant was great.
Cons: It needs some remodeling and care in several places; however it is a great place to stay.
Location: Close to restaurants and attractions, like horse riding and bio bay tours
The hotel has a nice pool and the property is in a great location. The restaurant was great, the food was excellent and the bar/restaurant staff was very attentive. We had some issues during the check-in, we had to wait almost an hour and a half to check-in because the only person in charge of this was running some errands. She apologized for the delay, but I think that is something that shouldn't happen. We had to book last minute so we took advantage of a last-minute same-day Expedia offer at 50% off that we considered to be a great deal, plus it was a VIP+ location; however when we were finally checked-in the lady made a comment like "let me see where I can accommodate you based on the price you paid", that didn't sound very nice, it was like let me see what is the worst thing I have available since you paid 50% less. We had the opportunity to take a last minute deal from a place which otherwise would have had several rooms empty, if you are not going to give us the best room you have equivalent to the price without the offer, then it is not a real offer and you better make no comments at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2016
A lot of green, gardens and beautiful beach view. Great infinity pool. Restaurant is very good. You can rent a car from them. Staff was always friendly. WiFi works great. It's a small hotel so everything is quiet, peaceful, spacious and relaxing. Near of Esperanza were all the action is and Black Sand beach.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to beach poor help from staff

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Staff were unable to facilitate mist of the excursions we requested. Very disorganized
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Place

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: Love the concept. Very quiet and relax.
Cons: I know this is place to relax and disconnect, but WIFI in the rooms will be great.
Location: perfect
Awesome. Staff very friendly. Excellent food. Facilities well maintained, please ensure the horses drops been cleaned sooner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2016
If you lookin for an escape and relaxation this is perfect place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicsgo, IL

Quiet by the beach

Posted Apr 2, 2016
The hotel was fantastic. We were originally scheduled to stay only one night, but ended up cancelling our other reservation and staying there. The hotel is removed from the main road and about 2 miles from Esperanza, which makes it very quiet. It has spectacular ocean views and very nice outdoor area. I'll be staying here when I come back to Vieques!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester, CT

Nice Pool,Good Location,Great Views&Bar

Posted Mar 23, 2016
Me and my Grand son spent a week here and had great stay. We were able to rent a car right at the check in office, which was very convenient, went off to different beaches most days,come back to the hotel, relax by the very nice pool, maybe get something from the bar and enjoy the hotel property, till it was time to get ready for dinner.I would recommend the Blue Horizon to anyone visiting Vieques. We had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice place, but needs some tender loving care.

Posted Feb 24, 2016
Pros: Location, pool, and very friendly staff.
Cons: Room accomodations.
The hotel staff are very friendly, but the services and accommodations were not up to par. The wi-fi did not reach the rooms and was very slow and required Facebook access, even in the central area. The pool was the best thing - beautiful; as were the grounds and the proximity to the beach. Unfortunately, the rooms needed work. They were large and clean, but only had one chair even though they advertised a seating area. There were 3 wicker chests of drawers in our room, but they were kind of beat up and one was missing a knob or two. New knobs and some white paint would have done wonders. Our air conditioner blew out one night and there is nobody at the desk after 9:00. When we tried to opened the louvred shutters, more than half of them didn't work. There is also no room service, nor phones in the room. It's hard to say whether I'd recommend it to a friend. It was a nice hotel with friendly staff and a great location, but they definitely did not have everything that Expedia listed as accomodations and what they did have could have been spruced up a bit. Everywhere we went on the island, and all the island publications kept talking about it as the island's premier hotel. I think they might have been better off spending some of that advertising budget on maintenance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ct

This was truly paradise !

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: The rooms were quaint and unique . This place is very different from a hotel stay,this was such a relaxing place .
Cons: I wouldn't change a thing.
Location: I was here on a journey to go kayak at mosquito bay in the luminescent waters there. It was all that I hoped it would be and that much more.
Wonderful experience ,the staff the grounds it was so much more than I had expected.