Ratings based on 166 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from westfield, n.j.

Relaxing hotel with minor flaws

Posted Jan 16, 2017
This is a quiet understated hotel with some flaws. The quality of the staff tends to be erratic. While many are excellent there are too many that are not. The quality of our ocean front room was not great. The curtain did not close and the wall showed wear. There are limited dining choices and the beach is very small. The quality of the food was excellent and the pool is beautiful. However they need to replace the worn chaise seat cushions. We had a relaxing trip to a new location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Great place to relax! Spent a few days here after our wedding. Grounds are beautiful, room was lovely, food was good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

For this kind of coin, you'd expect a lot more...

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: They pick you up in super sweet jeeps and whisk you to the hotel. Lovely waiting room at the airport. Nice pool. Nice staff.
Cons: They do not have enough staff at the concierge. I had to wait 30 minutes just to ask a simple question. Not enough towels, chairs or yoga mats.
Location: Drinks is small villages, beaches and bioluminescent bay.
The pool area is very nice but there are never enough towels or chairs for all the guests. If you do actually score a chair, it is likely soaking wet due to the tropical climate and frequent rain showers. Grab extra towels (if you can find them) to soak up all that water. The pool bar area is subpar. You would expect that if you order guac and chips for 12 bucks at least the guac would be made with an actual avocado... nope. I wait until 3:30PM and still haven't been told my room is ready. I check on it and 30 minutes later I finally get a call that my room is ready. Room is very spacious (Tropical Garden King) but the cleanliness left much to be desired. Bathtub was full of hair and sand (all I wanted to do was take a hot bath) and each and every 'clean' towel I reached for had hair on it (not mine)... What's up with the toilet seats in Puerto Rico (Visited old San Juan, Culebra & Vieques)? Does no one believe in soft close toilet seats? My plastic toilet seat was nicked somehow so each time I sat down it poked me in the bum in some way no matter how I wiggled to try to avoid it. Unpleasant. Bed was comfortable except for the sheets which were scratchy. The staff was lovely when I left for the bioluminescent bay tour making sure I had a towel with me to dry off after. One morning I got to do the 8AM Yoga class. There were 15 of us but only 12 got yoga mats. For a resort of this size they should have at least 30 mats on hand. They gave me a towel to use...unimpressed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Palm Beach, FL

Best Hotel in Vieques

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Location. Facilities. Ambiance.
Cons: Spa would be more useful if it can be opened little early. Spa opens at 10 AM and it cannot be used if you are checking out at noon.
Location: Bio Bay tour of Mosquito Bay is must.
W is the best hotel in Vieques. Views from the resort are amazing and facilities are excellent. Don't miss out sunset from the adult beach. They have great pools. My favorite one is the black pool made from the black volcanic rock. This pool is at the corner of the hotel and if you go their after dark at clear night then you can star gaze.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, nice staff.

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Although feeling smalleR and less attended than last year this is a great place to stay. The restaurant has some good things, but is over rated and pricey. The beaches are small, but very lovely inlets with nice sand. Hotel staff is extremely accommodating, and the manager attentive. After several years of being open, there is some wear and tear on the facilities. I hope they can keep it up with new ownership.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY, NY

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: The pool area is quiet, there's are adult pools and a family pool. The ocean view is stunning!
Cons: The food is not great. If you can, rent a car and explore restaurants on the island.
Location: There are lots of beaches, restaurants and even a recently opened disco, but you need a car because cabs are infrequent.
Great hotel, it's relatively small so you get to know other guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel, completely wowed

Posted Dec 10, 2016
From start to finish his hotel is amazing. Our trip started with an early check in with full use of the hotel amenities which really came in handy because we were on the first fairy over. Our room was the fabulous ocean view, which I can't say enough positive things about. Unique, classy, modern, clean are just a few words I'd use to describe the room. The island has some amazing beaches, but because there are 2 AMAZING beaches attached to the resort, we opted to stay local and utilize our own private beaches. If you're going to veiques, this is a must stay. Absolutely blown away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful hotel with exclusive beach!

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Overall our stay was excellent and the staff surpassed our expectations. The free kayaks and paddle boards were great and snorkeling right at the hotel was decent. The only complaint was that the food was pricy and the pizza was horrible. The rest of the food ranged from ok to great. The rooms and amenities was excellent! Also, The lava rock pool was awesome!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

The W Makes You Feel Young Again!

Posted Nov 26, 2016
We feel so young and hip when we are at the W! Fun and funky decor. Great staff who go the extra mile for any request. We've been here several times and it just gets better and better. Everyone says the food is expensive, but we found it to be comparable to the DC/Baltimore fine dining costs. But the food at the W is EXCEPTIONAL! the menu has changed at Sourcé and includes local favorites. The mofongo is amazing! Servers Sari and Adrian are great at recommending dishes for you to try. Edam, one of the night managers was always available and picked us up late at the airport after a terrible rainstorm delayed and delayed our flight. The resort has become more family welcoming without sacrificing space for couples. A win-win! There are adults only beaches and pools which still allows for separate quiet spaces. Keep in mind that it rains everyday on an island. Be ready and don't run...just stay in the water and enjoy the massage! It's over in 2-3 minutes and then you have the pool to yourself for the next hour. You can't beat the the W! Perfect place, people and beach!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful All

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: Staff, facilities, service
Cons: prices
Location: location perfect
Family beach can't be used. But, I would stay again in here thanks a lot for all!