Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TEXAS

EXCELLENT PLACE TO GET AWAY FROM IT ALL.

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: QUIET; AND GOOD STAFF HAD A NICE KITCHENET FULLY EQUIPED TO HELP WITH THE BREAKFAST PRPERATION. IE 2 FRESH EGGS AND MORE GOODIES.
Cons: SOMETHING IE. RESTURANTS NEARBY
Location: NOTHING IS NEARBY. NEAEST TOWN, MAHEBOURG HAS RESTURANTS, BUT WERE FREQUENTLY CLOSED. THERE IS HOWEVER A KENTUCKY CHICKEN IN TOWN .
YES HARD TO FIND, AND RENTAL CAR IS A MUST. FROM AIRPORT TAKE ALL SIGNS TO MAHEBOURG, BUT AT ONE ROUNDABOUT THE ONE TO CENTRE DE FLACO (WAY NORTH) AFTE MAHEBOURG CONTINUE THRO SUGER CANE FIELDS UNTIL A SMALL GROUP OFM BUILDINGS. SLOW AND LOOK FOR THE SMALL HACIENDA SIGN ON THE LEFT EXTENDING FROM A BUILDING. ALSO A SIGN TO A MOSQUE HAD A GEORGEOUS VIEW FROM UP A MOUNTAIN SIDE AND ENJOYED THE QUIET BETWEEN FORAYS TO SEE THE COUNTRISIDE
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very quiet and different

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Quiet place, far from beach. There is a fantastic view if you climb a bit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 13, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Michael from America

For those with car, camera, & no fear of roaches.

Posted Nov 15, 2014 on Hotels
An enchanting panorama view of the Mahebourg region. A strikingly beautiful location. Limited option for those without reliable transportation. Numerous agressive stray dogs roaming the grounds; outside of the securely gated premises. I stayed in 2 categories of cabins. One was much larger than the other. The rustic decor was pleasant enough. However, 15 giant cockroaches the 1st night, {they only come out @ night} & almost as many the 2nd- lowered my comfort level considerably. The groundskeeper, {slash housekeeper, slash maintainance man} was kind enough to give me a ride to town; so as I could purchase both food & insecticide. Unfortunately, the insect spray & powder, applied by me- superficially damaged the cabin's precious imported South African black concrete floors. For the groundskeeper to then suggest that I may have to pay to REPLACE {at my own expense} their precious imported floors- because of some surface staining- significantly lowered the enjoyment of my stay. It took days of negotiating; to get the off-site manager to relent. I ended up volutarily forfeiting the final day of my stay. Some proper preventative mainainance- could have prevented this whole dispute. I didn't come to MU to pay for Hacienda's cabin renovations & cosmetic upgrades to flooring.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel room or self-catering villa?

Posted Feb 25, 2014 on Hotels
Gorgeous location and surroundings, safe and friendly. Surface cleanliness OK but needs a deep clean. We stayed 2 weeks self-catering for which the tiny 'hotel room' style fridge was inadequate. Wi-fi was desperately slow and kitchen under-equipped. Not enough power supplies - we had to buy our own extension bar to recharge iPhones, laptops, toothbrushes etc. The aircon was efficient, also the shower. The other clients at other villas during our stay were weekenders or short stays.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by david from vancouver

home away from home

Posted Oct 19, 2013
best experience I have had at any hotels.extremely helpful and lovely staff.peace and tranquillity at its best if that is what you are seeking.need transport for sure as it is up the mountain and getting groceries is a must .lovely touch to breakfast provided every morning.I will stay there again. tks guys.
4 out of 5
by Altwegg from Switzerland

Nice, small hotel near airport

Posted Aug 11, 2013 on Hotels
Close, but not too close to airport. Very quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maro from London

Great hotel for rest and relaxation

Posted Jul 23, 2013
Pros: Peace and tranquillity.
Cons: Access to the hotel.
Located bellow Lion Mountain these villas are built around lush gardens of previous Pineapple plantation. If you are looking for peace and tranquillity this is the place for you. Villas are built in Mexican style and are fully self-contained, with a kitchen, living room, bedroom/s, bathroom and terrace/s. We were bit disappointed as our villa did not have proper door in the bathroom and there was no doors between two bedrooms. However, bedrooms were on different floors (still no doors). Access to the property was up the steep, narrow hill and the walking option was not for us. I would definitely recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
by Rebecca from London

Great place!

Posted May 27, 2013 on Hotels
Stayed three nights at La Hacienda in May 2013. Loved the location at the foot of Lion Mountain and up a steep hill through sugar cane. Lovely service, rooms nicely designed and little touches like tea, coffee, oil and washing up liquid were appreciated. Car definitely required as it's a bit out of the way for attractions, but that was part of the appeal for us. Recommended accommodation!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Ideal Setting

Posted May 10, 2013
Stunning views in a beautiful setting. The little huts have a lot of charm.