Ratings based on 279 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Brand new modern rooms

Posted May 22, 2017
We stayed in a new building and was amazing. I think we were the first ones to stay there. Great free breakfast, highly recommended.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 22, 2017
The geothermal hot tub was the best part of the stay. Only open at night so make sure you don't miss it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Not worth whatever paid

Posted May 18, 2017
The color of towers are dark blue, and feel a little wet. Paid big box, and very disappointed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2017
Discriminatory attitude of front desk staff made it a bad experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff

Posted Apr 28, 2017
The staff we very friendly. The rooms were comfortable and there was plenty of information about the area in their hotel book. It's a great place to stay in Vik, if you don't mind staying a little bit out of town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA, USA

Easy place for a 1 night stay

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Nice happy hour. make your own waffle station at breakfast
Cons: The only complaint I would have would be to have more warm options at the breakfast. There's only porridge/oatmeal or waffles. Eggs would be nice
Location: Vik is really small, good for a night or two, especially in the middle of a road trip
We stayed here for one night on a road trip from Reykjavik to Jokulsarlon Glacial Lagoon. It was a nice, clean room that was perfectly good for one night.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Good location. Large room. Fair breakfast. Easy parking. Staff indifferent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Surprise

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: The room was awesome.
Cons: Office could have a sign.
Location: Waterfalls and glaciers are nearby.
At first I couldn't find anyone, then walked in the restaurant and met a very plesant woman. Got my upgraded room with a beautiful view. Clean, roomy and a large bed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Remote hotel, good road trip stop

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: The restaurant buffet and the location of the hotel
Cons: The soundproofing of the walls
Location: Black Sand Beach nearby is great. The location of the hotel allows you to drive to the beach at night to look at the Northern Lights!
We stopped here on our road trip through the south coast. It's very remote and a good option if you don't stay in Vik, quite close to the Black Sand Beach. The dinner buffet was great! Loads of options and reasonably priced. The breakfast wasn't too impressive, but still nice. The downside of staying here is that the hotel has very thin walls, we got woken up a lot during the night by people opening and closing the door to the hallway or people talking, bring earplugs.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Located near Vis

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleaning, food, maintenance
Iceland has been run down by mass tourism. The facilities do not cope with the influx of people, specially Chinese tours. This hotel is a clear example. It is good but there's not enough staff. Cleaning goes amiss amongst the many people that do sojourn. In a few months tear and wear is visible. Rooms are spacious but unwelcoming. Restaurant is average with ludicrous prices. Breakfast is simple and boring.