Ratings based on 211 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tired hotel close to beach

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Hotel fine but could do with some redecoration. Rooms rather basic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Nice hotel that offered comfortable surroundings that was quiet but close enough to amenities
Cons: Probably coming close to requiring a freshening in terms of the paintwork. Hotel is clean and very tidy, however some cosmetic damage has occurred
Location: Nice hotel that offered comfortable surroundings that was quiet but close enough to amenities
Nice hotel that offered comfortable surroundings that was quiet but close enough to amenities
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel Weed rather than a Tulip

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: The view, room was clean and staff trying their best to please
Cons: More staff with knowledge, entertainment, etc
Location: See above - Not much to do around the area.
The hotel is placed rather far from central Porto it does have a nice beach but due to the Atlantic sea it can be rough and misty in the mornings. The Hotel has had an refurbishment and rooms are pleasant to be in. The hotel staff do their best to serve the customers but are sometimes lacking in knowledge. The breakfast is buffet style with basics to offer however the hot water machine splashed boiling water which can be dangerous. The spa is only manned by one member of staff and at busy times you have to deal with things yourself. No life guard near the pool. There is not much to do near the area it self. So if going to Porto then stay in Porto. TIPS - to get around the city buy the yellow bus tickets which includes the boat trip and wine tasting you can also use the bus for 48 hours. Taxis were quite cheap overall. Porto is a nice city plenty to see and do. Hotel Champagne bar was never opened during our time of stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2017
Our room had a great balcony and view of the ocean, with the waves crashing on to the rocks. A microwave would have been nice to have in the room!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2017
There is no heating. very cold in the winter. The sauna was not working. and the jacuzzi was cold. Very beautiful view to the sea. The hotel staff was friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
very relaxing
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from R

Not the best experience

Posted Dec 8, 2016
The reason I chose this hotel in Gaia, by the beach, instead of staying right downtown Porto, was because it was advertised as a relaxing place with a spa with many treatments. It also said a shuttle bus to the airport was included in the price. Well when I arrived, there was banging of hammers. All day long. This lady was at reception screaming and complaining about this. When I wanted to book my massage, they simply told me that the masseuse wasn't in for the day. No discount offered, no amends made. When I ordered room service, they didn't even bring me cutlery to eat with. And finally when I booked my shuttle bus 24-hours in advance to go to the airport on my last day, they said it was booked and all was good. Well, it turns out all they did was call me a cab to the airport which I had to pay for myself. So much for a free airport shuttle bus being included. Again, no apology, no explanation. All in all, it wasn't too pleasant of an experience. I wouldn't recommend it to my friends or family.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Nancy from Collings lakes

The Robinsons

Posted Jul 2, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel staff wonderful and excellent staff but pool too cool for me. Great location and loved watching soccer at the Beach club. We had two delicious dinners at Casa Branca.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

lovely hotel

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Pros: The staff were very helpful and friendly. Lovely comfortable bed, the room was clean and airy. Nice breakfast. Free shuttle bus to El Corte Ingles.
Cons: Tea and coffee facilities in the rooms
Location: lovely and relaxing. Next to the beach, lovely walks, bicycle hire. nice cafes and bars, easy to get to Gaia or Porto by bus or hire a car.
relaxing holiday next to the beach, sightseeing around Porto and Gaia. Lots to see and do even when it rained. Loved the swimming pool and gym which was being improved at the time but not a problem.