Ratings based on 663 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent staff but not great location

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Location is great for those wanting to be by the beach, away from city, but not ideal if using public transport (shuttle available but only twice into city and once back... Need to take care with timings). Staff were excellent but I wouldn't rate hotel as 5*. Facilities were there but hotel looks a bit tired. Missing touches such as no kettle in room. Daily chocolate was lovely gesture.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotwe for relaxing, not visiting porto city

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: Good breakfast . Nice touch with wine voucher. Hotel kept clean. Steam room and hot stone bench nice.live music good in bar.
Cons: Shallow water area in jacuzzi needed and hot water in it. Should include at least one free session for guests. More Entertainment
Location: Nothing that close. Closest town only v small. Train station 20 min walk, porto trains not that often. Beach nearby with nice boardwalk but sea roug
Hotel nice but a bit far from centre of porto, 20 min walk to station and trains not frequent Nice pool and sauna, but jacuzzi area you have to pay extra for deep and water not hot.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Disappointing drop in hotel

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Stayed at Solverde last year but this year the standards really dropped. Booked in for 3 weeks. First week was great but the last week was poor. Lack of staff, cafe closed, drinks hit by pool closed, defective gym equipment, paid over 3k but still charging for mini golf and swimming caps that you have to use in the indoor pool. Restaurant really expensive and whilst the food is nice there is no change to the menu. My mother required a disabled toilet but no rooms available with one, just one in the Lobby which meant a trip from the third floor everytime the loo was needed. Last week the hotel was full of corporate firms and some raucous guests partying at 0130 keeping everyone awake.NOT value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk England

Fabulous hotel

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Beautiful hotel and location. Very helpful and friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great dramatic natural beach

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Gym and spa and breakfast.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: 10 min walk to the stn to train it to Porto, a must. Great beach walk to the nearest town Espinho. Go to Casa Mireles (spelt wrong) for seafood.
Replace 5 star with 4 star and you are about right. Even so, exceptional value, and the gym and spa are great. The location is near to an amazing beach with massive rollers all day, though the sea is cold. This was our second visit, and the walk along either the beach or boardwalk to Espinho is a 3km pleasure. We will return.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel shame about the bathroom

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Shame that the bathroom is so outdated shower curtains over the bath/ bidet/ashtray in the bathroom 👎 The rooms, the pool area and the beach were lovely as was the nearby village
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Hotel looking slightly dated, though pleasant I would not rate this as a 5 star
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Close to beach, but not what we really needed.

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: For a beach stay, this would be pretty nice.
The hotel was just barely acceptable - we should have been more careful as we really needed something closer to Porto. The room was okay, clean, but nothing really special. Next time I'll look for another hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hardly a five star

Posted Aug 28, 2017
For a five star hotel I would expect cleaned in the room and an iron and something to boil water or coffe maker in the room. Non of which was available. We ended up calling room service each morning to bring hot water to the room.
5 out of 5
by Ann

Good hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Hotels
really good hotel with good facilities. booked late so only had room overlooking the car park(not so good). no balcony. Staff really nice though.