Ratings based on 773 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Ivan from Porto

amazing service, difficult to find even with a GPS

Posted Jan 4, 2018 on Hotels
Great experience
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

No facilities nearby and surrounded by motorway

Posted Oct 11, 2017
We stayed here for three nights as part of a driving tour around Portugal. It was the most disappointing of all the hotels we stayed at. Half the staff were nice but the other half seemed unhappy. The hotel is surrounded by roads so there are no bars or restaurants nearby. We did manage to find a way to walk into Porto through a residential area but it is a long walk and not very nice late at night. The décor is very tired and needs refurbishing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Nice hotel and beautiful location in Porto Gaia. Only a few minutes from the shopping mall and the Port Wineries, great location. The breakfast buffet also was probably the best I've ever had and totally worth it! Staff was nice, courteuous and helpful upon check in and check out.
4 out of 5
by Martyn

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 19, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Janet

Vila Nova de Gaia, Hotel Novotel, Porto

Posted Sep 16, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel and staff were lovely. However, we spent a fortune on taxis as it is out of the way and there is no metro line nearby. The pool and garden are good though the pool was freezing. Food was good. 20 euros for a 3 course buffet was excellent but there were other choices too. Ignore Googlemaps who say you can walk to the shopping centre by turning right. You cannot. It is a dual carriageway and very unsafe. It also says there is a mini Mercado 3 mins away - there is not. It does not exist. The nearest is Continente which is a good 15-18 mins walk. There is plenty of parking if you hire a car though parking in Porto itself is not easy. Everywhere including the hotel area is on a hill and a very steep hill too. It is well worth the walk to the marina - about 15 mins downhill. Our favourite restaurant is behind the small market close to the marina, called Armazem do Peixe. Fabulous fish and meats - so good we ate there twice in 5 days. Also close to the marina you can hire bikes and cycle along the coast for up to 5 miles. It is a stunning ride and fairly flat all the way.
3 out of 5
by Louis

There must be better options in Porto

Posted Sep 3, 2017 on Hotels
Very dated rooms, extremely small, horrible bath tub.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Gageiro, Hotel Management
Dear Louis, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Porto Gaia. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Pedro Gageiro General Manager
4 out of 5
by Eduardo

Ouro trip

Posted Aug 29, 2017 on Hotels
Difficult to find. All printed info, does not correctly mention the post code ( the second part is missing) Staff are first class, except the bar, when friends seem to take priority over guests. Waited far too long for four Caipirinhas. These were disappointing, as I , being a cocktail barman, think that the barman forgot the cachaça. The only down during our short stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Gageiro, Hotel Management
Dear All, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Porto Gaia. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Pedro Gageiro General Manager
2 out of 5
by David

Don't stay here

Posted Aug 8, 2017 on Hotels
sofa bed was horrible not qualifies as 4 people
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Gageiro, Hotel Management
Dear David, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Porto Gaia. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Pedro Gageiro General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice hotel not far from the action

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: It was a nice hotel in good condition and the staff were very helpful
Cons: Have instructions on how to get there
Location: There is nothing there as the hotel is out of the way. You need to get a cab to go to Porto town.
We drove there and it is very difficult to find although you can clearly see the hotel sign access and finding how to drive there was difficult. The staff are friendly and overall we enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Location: a little bit remote from the city centre but not too far from the river and ocean
Good for holiday retreat, swimming pool a little too small, good shopping centre nearby