Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Elegant places

Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely converted convent with tasteful decorations. Large suite and balcony. Wonderful buffet breakfast in a peaceful setting.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The best of Portuguese charm and quality.

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
This place is idyllic. Not only is the hotel historic and physically beautiful, the service was just out of this world. The concierge service I received was the best of all time for me, and the included breakfast was sensational. I really felt like I was a guest staying in a palace due to the atmosphere of the location, the top-notch service, and the high-quality of the room and the food. As this hotel is right next door to the Palace of the Dukes of Braganza, it can't help but feel stately and luxurious but the staff really make the place and they keep their promise that "YOU" are their priority, as their advertisements say. The town of Vila Vicosa itself was also lovely, and I had one of the best taste and value-for-price-meals ever at a restaurant in town (Cuco's) that was recommended to me by the hotel staff. It felt like I was in a dream staying here. Definitely visit the palace if you stay at this hotel or in this town. Highly recommended!
4 out of 5
by Janet from Bristol

Beautiful historic hotel, not 5 star service

Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
Fabulous historical setting, with many features of the convent intact. ( A guide to the building would have been useful). Beautiful cloister, magical place to eat dinner. Sadly not matched by the quality of the food, which was expensive and unexciting. (Try the restaurant in the middle of the town square). Breakfast good and eaten in lovely little courtyard off breakfast room. Beautiful frescoed bedroom would have been perfect except that the air conditioning (which wasn't, it was a heater blowing cold) could not cope with the high 30s temperature and so sleeping was difficult. Thankfully the pool was perfect and well maintained. Staff mostly helpful but often difficult to find anyone to serve / help you - service is not what you'd expect from a hotel that describes itself as 5 star.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great staff in a mediocre facility.

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: Good historic feel and exceptionally helpful staff.
Cons: Place it in a different town and upgrade the size and amenities of the room.
Location: Not much really to do in this small town.
We booked the hotel here thinking, mistakenly, that it was in the vicinity of the city of Evora. It was not. It's about 63 kilometers away. I'm not sure why this hotel came up in our search for hotels in the vicinity of Evora. The mistake was certainly ours. The town of Vila Vicosa, a sleepy small historic town, did not have much to offer in comparison with the many great cities and towns in Portugal (we had visited Lisbon, Porto, Coimbra, Lagos, Cascais, to name a few). Vila Vicosa was exceptionally hot and with a bug-to-human ratio that had us dauntingly outnumbered. We spent only one night there and tried to enjoy the authentic feel of a town not visited by many tourists. As far as the hotel specifically, we booked it for 3 people and they brought us an extra cot for our daughter to sleep on. The next morning our daughter reported that, though she had never been to prison, she imagined that the bedding would be somewhat similar in comfort and feel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice Hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2016
We stayed at the hotel for one night. The facilities are very nice, and the room is beautiful. The hotel staff was extremely accommodating, friendly and helpful. However, the walls in the rooms are very thin and we could hear a lot of noise from other rooms. There is not a lot to do in Vila Vicosa. It is about 45 minutes from Evora so not an ideal location.
4 out of 5
by Zubaida from Cascais Portugal

Great Location and Hotel

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
Very good locations and wonderful building and rooms - very historic and wonderfully converted to modern standards - breakfast is nice in an old dinning room filled with sun and wonderful courtyards. Well worth the visit and the stay.
5 out of 5
by Karen

Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Hotels
Quiet, beautiful building with marble and wood finishes. Just lovely!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good choice

Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Hotels
A nice place to stay in every regard. Large rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2016 by Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest., Thank you very much for visiting us and for posting your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again. Kind regards, Maria de Jesus Bordalo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming historic hotel.

Posted Feb 16, 2016
Great experience. A convent and you feel like in the middle
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2016 by Bordalo, Hotel Management
Dear Guest., Thank you very much for visiting us and for posting your review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Glad you had a great time. Kind regards, Maria de Jesus Bordalo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

a tranquil break from a fast paced road trip

Posted Oct 7, 2015
Pros: Lovely furnishings; calm atmosphere; attentive staff
Cons: nothing
Location: located directly beside the Palace and in walking distance to the town centre
Although difficult to find as the name has changed to Pousada Joao IV, this hotel was a slice of heaven. Beautifully appointed, maintaining its historical roots in décor, this hotel was luxurious and the staff excellent. I only wish I could have stayed longer than one night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2015 by Marco Madaleno, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you very much for your helpful review. Our goal is always to have the highest quality, and your feedback help us to improve our services in future. We really expect to receive you again at Pousada de Vila Viçosa in your next visit to Alentejo, Portugal.