Ratings based on 383 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Comfortable stay in Vilamoura

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Great hotel right on the beach. 2 mins walk to Marina ( lots of restaurants and shopping stores ). Joao in the front desk was very helpful although he was not clear when he mentioned ‘spa is free’. He should tell that jacuzzi and pool access are free, rest of the services are not free. Safe in room also needs extra pay, what was not mentioned during Chk in. Breakfast is awesome from freshly made omlette, sausage, bacon, baked beans, fresh fruits, over 100 items. Area is very safe. Lots of quality restaurants near by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Hotel very close to the beach .

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness ,location and friendly staff.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Location good , not a lot to do nearby.
Very relaxing week , just about right to visit the marina and some shops . Great place to stay if you play golf, Food and drink very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2017 by Rui Viegas, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I am glad to hear that your stay with us was a memorable one! We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future in Hotel Ampalius. Kind Regards Rui Viegas
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from poole uk

Very good hotel great location

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Most enjoyable week. Some parts just need freshening up a little ie. curtains and flooring. Would definitely return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2017 by Rui Viegas, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to review our property. We are so glad to hear that you enjoied the location and our confort. Thank you for choosing the Vila Galé Hotels Kind regards, Rui Viegas
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: as above
Cons: as above
Location: as above
A very comfortable hotel virtually on the beach, with indoor and outdoor pools, gym and a spa and close to the marina and all the restaurants and bars. We stayed in a superior twin room with sea view. The room was quite large and comfortable, with the one side leading to the large balcony all glass. The sea view was superb and the balcony a nice place to read a book, enjoy the view or a glass or two of vinho verde which I did..The room also contained small fitted kitchenette which was handy to make a cup of tea or a slice of toast if you did not have breakfast. Had a small understanding over the the mini bar. On arrival the mini bar contained just a couple of bottles of water, no soft drinks or beer or spirits ,all the usual stuff you normally expect to get. I looked but did not see a notice of cost or a form to complete you daily usage so I assumed they were supplied gratis.That was the mistake so if you are a big water drinker - beware - because at 3 euros a bottle it could mount up over a week or two stay. Apparantly I missed the notice but I could not see one but it would not put me off booking this hotel again
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2017 by Rui Viegas, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that overall your experience was positive. About one point that you mentioned, the water in the fridge are chargeable, we have a stiker in the fridge door with the information that the waters isn´t complementary. About the receptions queles, thank you for reporting. Is comments like yours that help us improving in the future and wiil be shall be taken into account. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel Ampalius in the near future. Kind regards, Rui Viegas
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gibraltar

Nice choice

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Nice choice, I would like to recommend Vila gale chan Of Hotels in the Algarve Portugal For the experience I've had with Villa gale
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2017 by Rui Viegas, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. I'm sure our entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. Take care! Regards Rui Viegas
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from preston

Great all rounder

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Could not fault this hotel great room, lovely breakfast, clean and in a great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rugeley, staffordshire

Everything about the hotel was fab, close to ever

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Hotel was fantastic, room size good, beach very close, and places to eat out, you need to go to see it 😁 just ask for a kettle for your room, in our room we had a little kitchen , and we had sea view, lovely to watch the sunset, we also went the 2nd October and the weather was hot, just a fantastic holiday , this is our 2nd time back this year, looking forward to 2018 😃
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire

Nice hotel in perfect location

Posted Oct 6, 2017 on Ebookers
Had stayed there earlier in the year, so knew that it was very good, with friendly and helpful staff and great location for the beach, marina and Quateira. The cleanliness is exceptional.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 5, 2017 by Rui Viegas, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel Ampalius. Regards Rui Viegas
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, polite staff, sea view excellent food.
Cons: The Tivoli next door was playing extremely loud music around the pool, to the point where I had to keep the patio doors closed.
Location: The location was perfect, opposite the beach and only a 5min walk to the marina where there are plenty of restaurants, shops and bars.
Our room was overlooking the sea which was amazing and it also had a kitchen, which came in very handy as we were only having breakfast, so was able to make our own lunch. This was my 8th year in Vilamoura and can honestly say this was the best hotel I've stayed in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Fantastic stay, everything was totally amazing..

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Location, Room size,cleainliness and view, staff - totally amazing especially catarina (trainee assistant manager), great food and so clean. Amazing.,
Cons: Not much really
Location: Perfect location, immediately on the beach with a lovely 4/5 min walk onto the Marina where all the shops and bars are...
Just returned from a 5 night stay at the VG Ampalius.. We usually stay at the Tivoli or the VG Marina, but this hotel trumps them both. The trainee assistant manager Catarina was so friendly, professional and extremely helpful throughout our stay, nothing was too much trouble for her... Really made our stay here totally enjoyable. The room was beautiful with fantastic sea view... Cleanliness of the room was faultless with clean laundry every day..Breakfast was wonderful, a great selection of quality foods.. the staff were all really helpful and happy... The pool area and grounds were cleaned daily to an excellent standard... Will definitely return to this hotel, our stay was faultless ...:)