Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient layover

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
OK stopover to catch ferry to Messina. Our room reeked of stale cigarette smoke. Otherwise OK.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Staff was very nice & accommodating. Only negative is a musty smell in lobby
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Lastminute
would not stay here again - very noisy and disappointed with room. needs a major update. the whole hotel is very run down.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Value/ Close to Ferry

Posted Jan 6, 2016
We stayed here after a long drive from Matera. We were arriving late and wanted something close to the ferry so we leave for Sicily early the next morning. Our stay couldn't have been more pleasant. The staff went out of their way to be of assistance and wait staff in the restaurant made our evening memorable. The hotel was clean, our room very comfortable and the staff outstanding. A great value for the price!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Expected better

Posted Nov 11, 2015
Pros: Rooms were made up every day, and were very clean and tidy.
Cons: Bathrooms need replacing, totally. Carpet in the lifts are old and smelly. Bell service.
Location: Location is good, very close to train station and ferry service to Sicily.
The hotel seems ok on arrival, but the room was disappointing. We did not expect a 5 star establishment, but we did expect the facilities to be better. The shower was very small, however most showers in Italy are small, however the water was not terribly hot, and the shower head did not stay up on the adjustable rail, so we just let it dangle down, and washed with one hand. The fridge did not work, and my wife had medication which had to be refrigerated, so we had to keep it in the bar downstairs. The staff were very courteous and helpfull, but there was no bell service to carry the luggage upstairs, or back down on checkout. But they did provide free car service to the station, and the gentleman did help carry the luggage up to the platform. The food at breakfast was also satisfactory. I believe in it's hey day the hotel was very good, but it is extremely tired, and the rooms need a serious renovation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canadian

Just a over nighter

Posted Sep 20, 2015
The area that the hotel is in quite poor garbage and not clean, but you would be quite surprised at the mall down the road it's quite nice. Hotel is a little older but I'm sure it was nice in it's time staff are nice very good to talk to over all was okay good stop if your hitting the ferry up to Messina
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maui Hi

Lovely hotel in the centre of the town.

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Pros: Location, clean, comfortable and great staff.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great location if you are travelling to or from Sicily.
We were travelling between Sicily and Bari on the Italian mainland. This hotel is close to the ferry terminal and was ideal for us as we arrived late at night. The staff were great, very helpful and willing to assist. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good. Absulutly no complaints about the hotel or staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pat from Australia

Fine for a stopover

Posted Jun 26, 2014
We took the ferry from Messina and stayed overnight in Villa S Giovanni so we could catch the train next morning. The town itself has not much to offer. The hotel is a bit worn and needs a makeover but the room was clean and the bed comfortable. It had a spa jet shower which was fun. We decided to eat at the hotel but as we ate only vegetarian there was minimal choice. Can't comment on the rest of the menu. The manager was charming, spoke good English and tried to be helpful. There seems to be an issue with the air conditioning which as other reviewers have said is not able to be used. So the rooms are stuffy unless you open the windows. This was not so bad in early May but would be a big problem in the heat of summer. The breakfast was extensive and enjoyable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sean

Ok hotel

Posted Oct 30, 2013
Very helpful staff, especially in the restaurant. Room needed more pillows and a better hair dryer. Current one a bit archaic. Bit of a hospital feel in the halls
3 out of 5
by cdebart from canada

Very Disappointing...

Posted Sep 10, 2013 on Hotels
Would not rate this a 4*- too expensive for what you get! Hotel in much need of update - old, and old! Looks nice from outside & main lobby - but that's it. We ate at the hotel as there was no where else, food & service was very good. Hotel is located in Ferry area, and therefore not a nice part of town, tried going for a walk at night but not pleasant - was hoping for a room with view of strait of Messina, but did not happen...The staff were very good, helpful and went out of their way to make us comfortable. Unfortunately, the previous reviews on this one are correct.