Ratings based on 124 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montgomery, alabama

"Too small/ no air"

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: enlarge the rooms and add air conditioning. LOL
Location: Location not that great and a little hard to find.
I knew I had reserved twin beds, but didn't realize how small the room would be. Reminded my of my dorm room in college. Also, they didn't have air conditioning, which is not unusual in Austria. The problem is the hotel is right next to very busy bus stop. So, when we opened the window, the noise made it hard to sleep. On the plus side, the breakfast was very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by Eva Maria Strickner, Hotel Management
Dear Steve, Thank you very much for your review. Please be so kind and book one of your Classic rooms for your next visit. These are 24m2 big and located to the quiet courtyard. There you can leave the window open and sleep quietly. Some of your Classic rooms do have air condition. For this reason, air condition is bookable as additional service. We are very happy that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet. Looking forward to your next visit. Best regards from Austria Eva Maria Strickner, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Pillows maybe.
Location: Really close to train/ bus station. So handy.
Great stay. Checked in early which was much appreciated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Eva Maria Strickner, Hotel Management
Dear Hotel City Guest, Thank you very much for your great review. We are very happy about it. Looking forward to your next visit. Best regards from Villach Eva Maria Strickner, General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect stay in Villach

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
They even packed us a lunch for our long train ride because we lady before breakfast began. Superb service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Hotel City guest, Thanky you very much for your excellent review. We are very happy about it. We are looking forward to your next visit. Best regards from sunny Villach Eva Maria Strickner, Assistant of General Manager
4 out of 5
by Martin

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Lieber Herr Martin, Vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung. Besuchen Sie uns bald wieder in Villach. Liebe Grüße aus dem sonnigen Süden. Eva Maria Strickner, Direktionsassistentin
4 out of 5
by David from Melbourne, Australia

Great break in Villach

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
Very pleasant stay. Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast options and a chance to relax in the sauna. Perfectly situated on the edge of the historic town centre.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Eva Maria Strickner, Hotel Management
Dear David, thank you very much for your review. We areglad, that you enyoed your stay at Hotel City. See you soon in Villach. Best regards Eva Maria Strickner, Assistant of General Manager
4 out of 5
by D. Craig

Posted May 6, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2016 by Eva Maria Strickner, Hotel Management
Dear D. Craig, Thank you very much for your review. We looking forward to welcome you back at Hotel City Villach. Best regards Eva Maria Strickner, Assistant of General Manager
4 out of 5
by Nigel from Chester UK

Posted Mar 16, 2016 on Hotels
The front desk staff were very friendly and helpfull...
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2016 by Eva Maria Strickner, Hotel Management
Dear Nigel! Thank you very much for your good review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel City. We looking forward to welcome you again. Best regards Eva Maria Strickner, Assistant of General Manager
4 out of 5
by Lincoln from Perth, Australia.

Great hotel and location

Posted Dec 27, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel walking distance to everything in town. Lovely professional staff and great buffet breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2016
Dear Lincoln, Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at hotel city. We are looking forward to welcome you again. Best regards Eva Maria, Assistant of Manager
4 out of 5
by David from Vienna

Good value for a good bed and excellent breakfast.

Posted Nov 17, 2015 on Hotels
Convenient to the train station. Very friendly and helpful staff. Very comfortable bedding. Room/bathroom was quite small. Wifi worked well. Breakfast buffet was excellent. Convenient onsite parking (free) but not many spaces. Otherwise, need to use public pay parking lot (discounted). Good value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2016
Dear David, Thank you very much for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at hotel city. We also offer a garage with 20 parking spaces. We are looking forward to welcome you again at Hotel City. Eva Maria Strickner, Assistant of Manager
4 out of 5
by Justin from Newport RI

Very Nice Hotel - Super Convenient Location

Posted Nov 16, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice place located directly in front of the main train station and maybe 10 minutes into the city center by foot. Room was clean and comfortable and the staff were really very friendly and helpful. Only complaint is that even in the middle of November, the room was very hot, yet all the heaters were off, so there was no way of dealing with the temperature other than opening the window.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2016
Dear Justin, Thank you very much for your review. At 2016, we will add air condition in all rooms. Hope to welcome you soon at Hotel City. Eva Maria Strickner, Assistant of Manager