Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lake Forest.CA.USA

First and last visit

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Night entertainment.
Cons: Change entire management team, they do not know anything about anything about service.Have Mahmoud from the buffet manage the hotel. This gentleman is
Location: Glass-boat is fun.
Overall worst experience I ever had in a hotel out of over 10 countries I visited. We booked 6 nights of supposed to be ALL INCLUSIVE package. Food was so bad that 4 of my family got sick and lots of other people got sick as well. I tried to find out why and for sure found out that their quality control people no NOTHING about food safety guidelines. The two guys I watched(one is a Vet) immersing the thermometer in food to check for proper holding temperature were simply immersing the thermometer without sanitizing it, they were just wiping it in a towel. Most likely they were cross-contaminating the food. Rooms are very outdated to be a 5 stars hotel. I was holding the shower-head the whole bar collapsed. The hotel buildings are 3 stories high and no ELEVATORS for people with or without disability to use.Swimming pools are fine except for a white line in the middle of one of them with almost 1 inch gap between the tiles that caused two cuts to my bothers in_law feet. When I asked, they said that gap is for "heat expansion" I did not get that part to be honest.What kind of heat that will expand the tiles? The funniest part, is that you have to wait in line to get a piece of meat of chicken!! really, who told you that it works? You got steam tables that can hold that for you instead of humiliating people and make them feel they are in prison not a 5 stars hotel. Owners, try to save this place before it is too late. Go to Mexico and see what service is. Good luck.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2017 on Orbitz
Hotel was very good and also staff was very friendly but rooms are old fashioned need to be refurbished
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by Lina Hamdy, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the valuable feedback. We are so happy to know that you have enjoyed your vacation at our hotel. Your concern was reported to the management and we would like to let you know that we are working on this issue. We take all our guest comments into consideration to improve our services. Once again, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your opinion and we look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel. Best regards, Lina Hamdy Organization Excellence Manager
5 out of 5
by Mahmoud

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017
Dear Mahmoud, Thank you for choosing Desert Rose as your holiday destination! My team and I are thrilled to know that you have enjoyed your time with us and have returned home with positive impressions of our resort. I would like to thank you for taking the time to review Desert Rose. We would like to ensure you that we are working hard to ensure continuous improvement in our services and facilities in order to provide a comfortable and enjoyable stay for all our guests. On behalf of all of us at Desert Rose I look forward to welcoming you again in our resort, and please let me know if there is anything I can do to make your next stay easier with us. Best regards, Mohamed Amin General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Very nice resort, friendly staff, nice sand beach.

Posted May 6, 2017 on Orbitz
I have stayed 4 awesome nights at Desert Rose, very friendly staff, especially Mr. Ehab and Mr. Ayman. Every night different show for kids and adults. The kids corner is very good. I strongly recommend this place for family.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Mohamed Amin, Hotel Management
Dear Michael, Thank you for choosing Desert Rose as your holiday destination! My team and I are thrilled to know that you have enjoyed your time with us and have returned home with positive impressions of our resort. I would like to thank you for taking the time to review Desert Rose. We would like to ensure you that we are working hard to ensure continuous improvement in our services and facilities in order to provide a comfortable and enjoyable stay for all our guests. On behalf of all of us at Desert Rose I look forward to welcoming you again in our resort, and please let me know if there is anything I can do to make your next stay easier with us. Best regards, Mohamed Amin General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback and we apologize for any inconvenience. We take our guest feedback very seriously. We hope to have the chance to welcome you again in our Resort. Best regards, Resort Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ukraine

Very bad rooms in good hotel

Posted Mar 19, 2017
The Hotel is nice , The food is normal , but need more variety specially in lunch. The reservation is not true "All inclusive", you have to pay for some items like fresh juice in the main restaurant in dinner or lunch and ice cream from 12 to 2 included your reservation but from 2 to 4 for extra charge , i see this is very mean from them. The fish restaurant, you have one reservation per stay included in your "All inclusive" reservation, the waiter never smile and always upset and del, there is no variety at all , just 3 kinds of much undersized fish and anything else for extra charge The security in front of the restaurant is very stupid, my son (3 Years old) went inside with his toy car in his hands and he ran after him like crazy and pulled him saying its not allowed and he will hit someone with it. when asked for his name he replied very rude. We liked that they have a lot of green areas. Big swimming pools one of them is heated but they close it very early at 5 pm more than 1 hour before sunset ( Most hotels open swimming pools from sunrise to sunset ). The Lagoon is nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017 by Guest Relation Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Mohamed, Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to describe your impressions. It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your holiday with our landscapes. Kindly be informed that we try to offer the best food variety with our different daily theme nights as International, BBQ, Far East, Egyptian among many others and our live cooking pasta, grill and frying stations in the main restaurant called "The Palm" in buffet form and as well with our 4 A-La-Carte restaurants offering Italian, Mexican, Fish and Lebanese food cooked a-la-minute. Regarding the staff kindly be informed that we are running training daily and weekly for the manners and also on job training to improve the services in all departments. Our entire team is extremely committed to delivering the perfect vacation experience for each guest. We remain with our slogan “How a Vacation Should be”, looking forward to welcoming you once again at Desert Rose Resort in order to see and to feel the different improvements had been done. We will do our best to make your next stay in Desert Rose Resort as comfortable and relaxing as possible. With best regards, Resort Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ukraine

2 stars rooms in a 5 stars hotel

Posted Mar 19, 2017
The Hotel is nice , The food is normal , but need more variety specially in lunch. The reservation is not true "All inclusive", you have to pay for some items like fresh juice in the main restaurant in dinner or lunch and ice cream from 12 to 2 included your reservation but from 2 to 4 for extra charge , i see this is very mean from them. The fish restaurant, you have one reservation per stay included in your "All inclusive" reservation, the waiter never smile and always upset and del, there is no variety at all , just 3 kinds of much undersized fish and anything else for extra charge The security in front of the restaurant is very stupid, my son (3 Years old) went inside with his toy car in his hands and he ran after him like crazy and pulled him saying its not allowed and he will hit someone with it. when asked for his name he replied very rude. We liked that they have a lot of green areas. Big swimming pools one of them is heated but they close it very early at 5 pm more than 1 hour before sunset ( Most hotels open swimming pools from sunrise to sunset ). The Lagoon is nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017 by Guest Relation Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Mohamed, Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to describe your impressions. It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your holiday with our landscapes. Kindly be informed that we try to offer the best food variety with our different daily theme nights as International, BBQ, Far East, Egyptian among many others and our live cooking pasta, grill and frying stations in the main restaurant called "The Palm" in buffet form and as well with our 4 A-La-Carte restaurants offering Italian, Mexican, Fish and Lebanese food cooked a-la-minute. Regarding the staff kindly be informed that we are running training daily and weekly for the manners and also on job training to improve the services in all departments. Our entire team is extremely committed to delivering the perfect vacation experience for each guest. We remain with our slogan “How a Vacation Should be”, looking forward to welcoming you once again at Desert Rose Resort in order to see and to feel the different improvements had been done. We will do our best to make your next stay in Desert Rose Resort as comfortable and relaxing as possible. With best regards, Resort Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Mar 11, 2017
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. The accommodation was comfortable and clean, any problems were dealt with in record time. The pools are clean and extremely well supervised. The restaurants certainly cater to all tastes and even the fussiest of easters could find something to suit their palette. The Bars have a good selection and the bar staff will make you cocktails to your liking. Bar Topicana was a real favourite for us with Shazly and his team going above and beyond to make our time there so fantastic! As was the Rose Bar cocktail lounge. Too many exceptional staff to mention but all certainly made our holiday! Without doubt we will return!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017 by Guest Relation Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs. Laura, We would like to thank you for sharing your positive impressions after your stay in our hotel. We are very happy that you had a lovely vacation and we will do our best to make your next stay in Desert Rose Resort as comfortable and relaxing as possible. With best regards, Resort Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Beautiful gardens and beach

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: The beach area, the gardens, the reception area are kept really clean and tidy. The staff are excellent in all areas. Very friendly and smiling.
Cons: Booking and availability of the restaurants needs changing. It's favoured guests before any remaining places are made available to everyone else.
Location: It is located 15-20 mins from the airport. There are shops in the area but you can always get a taxi into Hurgada town,there are bars and restaurants.
This hotel is kept immaculate and the staff from the managers down to the cleaners are so friendly and always willing to help or talk to everyone. The biggest disappointment was the way the other restaurants had to be booked if your wanted to use them. You had to queue at guest relations at 2pm to get in 3 days later. As the weather was a bit cold the fish restaurant was closed, the Fatoosh was closed for general use. You had to be especially invited to eat there. The Italian (which only did 1 pasta dish and nothing else Italian on the menu) was at extra charge to use. The only one left was the Mexican which was lovely I need to add. But impossible to get in. We only went in the Italian & the Mexican because we complained to the Manager of guest relations after queuing for 3 days in a row and always being told the Mexican was full but we could pay for the Italian.They also don't tell you that you can only use each restaurant once, no matter how long you stay. This needs addressing as it is described as all inclusive and gives the wrong impression of what is available to you. Smoking in the winter gardens needs stopping altogether as the children are in there for the entertainment.. .most of the hotel is non smoking so why permit it in there. You pass the smoking area to go to the toilet and your clothes smell of smoke after being in the room. Anywhere enclosed should be smoke free.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by Resort Administration, Hotel Management
Dear Linilou, Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to describe your impressions. It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your holiday with our staff, beach, and gardens. We really would like to thank you for your positive feedback. Kindly be informed that the reservation system is required as the A’ la carte restaurants has limited seats and the system close automatically after reaching the required number of seats. Our entire team is extremely committed to delivering the perfect vacation experience for each guest. We remain with our slogan “How a Vacation Should be”, looking forward to welcoming you once again at Desert Rose Resort in order to see and to feel the different improvements had been done. We will do our best to make your next stay in Desert Rose Resort as comfortable and relaxing as possible. With best regards
5 out of 5
by Alyson

Amazing hotel

Posted Feb 9, 2017 on Hotels
We had an amazing week at the desert rose, from arriving at hotel everything was perfect. Firstly the guest relation Amhed explained everything to us about hotel then we were taken in buggy to our room that was a lot bigger then I thought it would be overlooking beach. There's a fish restaurant that serves breakfast but initially we had wrong colour band but this was quickly rectified so I would say make sure you get a black bracelet.at breakfast was always very calm overlooking Red Sea .The Rose bar is very nice and staff very pleasant and measures are generous. (This is an adult only bar) the Mexican is excellent . We throughly enjoyed our week at The desert Rose and will return in Nov
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs. Alyson, Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to describe your impressions. It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your holiday with our Rose Bar and Mexican Restaurant. We are very happy to see that you had a wonderful vacation in our resort and we really would like to thank you for your positive feedback. Our entire team is extremely committed to delivering the perfect vacation experience for each guest. We remain with our slogan “How a Vacation Should be”, looking forward to welcoming you once again at Desert Rose Resort in order to see and to feel the different improvements had been done. We will do our best to make your next stay in Desert Rose Resort as comfortable and relaxing as possible. With best regards, The Hotel Management