Ratings based on 509 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Secluded Hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Upscale hotel that has not been kept up. Grounds were not mowed, rusted railings, old furnishings and poorly painted trim.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tulsa, OK

Great hotel with "themed" rooms!

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: I love the concept of "themed" rooms. We stayed in the "Lincoln" room that looked presidential. The wine bar is an Egyptian theme.
Cons: This hotel is beautiful in every detail. I hear they are making some different themes in some rooms. I'm thinking they will change it up. Exciting!
Location: Easy access from the freeway. We stayed there the night before the Eclipse 2017 so we didn't explore the area, we just enjoyed the wine bar!
The ambience of this hotel is over-the-top wonderful! From arriving and checking in, to the awesome wine bar, food, and room service breakfast, we enjoyed every moment. When we stay in Kansas City in the future, this will be our top choice hotel!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room to small

Posted Jul 13, 2017
The room was to small for the price, keep hearing water running on the side of the window all night, the restroom had a vent connected to the light so when you turn the light the vent turn on very loud..
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Chateau Avalon Hotel, Spa & Bar Team , Hotel Management
Dear elcoque, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Expedia. We are sorry the room size was not to your liking and please contact us directly when you plan to return as we have 23 different themed rooms with a different room sizes so we can find the one meets your expectations. If you wish to further discuss your experience, please call main hotel number and ask for manager on duty. We look forward to welcome you back in the future. Sincerely, Chateau Avalon Hotel, Spa & Bar Team
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wichita, KS

Disappointing at best

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: The bartender was amazing.
Cons: The cleanliness and perhaps ask when checking in what time the guests would like their rooms cleaned.
Location: The location is great as there is a lot of fun things nearby and wonderful restaurants.
My friend and I took a trip to KC looking forward to a quiet and peaceful retreat. The hotel staff were friendly but they were scripted as we had 3 of them ask the exact same question in a row, "What brings you to Chateau Avalon?" What brought us there was my need to relax for a weekend as this past year has been awful. I was looking forward to a fun place to stay that offered a different perspective. The hotel looked amazing from the outside but once we got to our room, we found lipstick stains on the robes, pubic hairs in the bathtub, and dead crickets on the floor as well as left over rose petals from prior guests. The hotel called us at 7 am to see if they could come and clean our room. We informed them we are night shifters so please do so after 2 pm. When we left, we expected to return to a clean room. We found that their only "cleaning" was tossing some towels on the sink along with a bar of soap. For the amount I paid, I would expect them to at least vacuum. It was awful. The bed was like sleeping on a rock and I woke up multiple times in pain, as did my friend. I am guessing that's how they get you to pay for their spa services. Either way, the only thing that made the stay worth wild was the bartender. He knows his liquors and was very friendly. I would not return to this hotel nor would I recommend others to do so. Very disappointed as I was really looking forward to this trip.
5 out of 5
by Chad

Fun couple hotel.

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
Great experience. I highly recommend a stay. Fun couple atmosphere. Plenty of attractions very close.
4 out of 5
by Bill

Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
Room was ok did not care for the shower set up at all was there for three days not much room to place bags and personnel items
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Nice hotel but could be better

Posted May 16, 2017
The hotel staff was wonderful! The accommodations was a different story, there is no microwave or coffee machine in the room. There was only 1 light switch for the whole room including the individual tub that would have been nice to relax in but you either had to take a bath with a full blairing light or in the dark because the only one light switch didn't even have a dimmer on it. I have to say for the price of the rooms it was very disappointing!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from m

Posted May 16, 2017
I seriously fell in love with this hotel on the outside!! Then u go in the room and ur heart sinks. It has such great potential and could be such a beautiful hotel. Needs a lot of renovations and cleaning. Seriously sad to see such a beautiful hotel going to crap. Way over priced for the condition it is in right now.
3 out of 5
by Eileen from Missouri

enjoyable but not over the top

Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
it was ok, WAY OVER PRICED
5 out of 5
by Shelly

Husbands birthday

Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was wonderful, they go out of their way to help you.