Ratings based on 516 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, Kansas

Very DISAPPOINTING!!!!

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Unbelievably disappointing and sad....it was our 25th Anniversary. The Hotel was dirty, uncomfortable, stained bedding and robes, live bugs in Jet Tub, hotel needs updated and remodeled. Most of the staff was pleasant and helpful. For the cost and so called fancy hotel, DON'T waste your Money!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from harrisonville mo

Nice hotel, great staff nice amenities

Posted Aug 28, 2017
We had a room with wet carpeting and mold smell. Immediately moved to a better room and comped our breakfast. Before we left, called and asked if we were pleased with visit. Will definitely visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Lincoln NE

Great Location / Extraordinarily Unique Property

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: What is not to like?
Cons: Larger TVs.
Location: Schlitterbahn (water park), Wolf Lodge (water park), Kansas Raceway, everything in West Kansas City. Area has a newer, vibrant vibe
We spent the day at Schlitterbahn (water-park) and found this hotel online. Simply a great experience. From outside appearance I thought I was at a Euro spa. We stayed in one of the Lincoln suites. It was very clean and well appointed. My only neutral comment would be it is a small room. There is a hot tub in the main room, though it did not make the room humid. We tried ROOM SERVICE which was great food at a great price. The value provided for the dollar spent was a lesson for every hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Secluded Hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Upscale hotel that has not been kept up. Grounds were not mowed, rusted railings, old furnishings and poorly painted trim.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tulsa, OK

Great hotel with "themed" rooms!

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: I love the concept of "themed" rooms. We stayed in the "Lincoln" room that looked presidential. The wine bar is an Egyptian theme.
Cons: This hotel is beautiful in every detail. I hear they are making some different themes in some rooms. I'm thinking they will change it up. Exciting!
Location: Easy access from the freeway. We stayed there the night before the Eclipse 2017 so we didn't explore the area, we just enjoyed the wine bar!
The ambience of this hotel is over-the-top wonderful! From arriving and checking in, to the awesome wine bar, food, and room service breakfast, we enjoyed every moment. When we stay in Kansas City in the future, this will be our top choice hotel!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room to small

Posted Jul 13, 2017
The room was to small for the price, keep hearing water running on the side of the window all night, the restroom had a vent connected to the light so when you turn the light the vent turn on very loud..
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Chateau Avalon Hotel, Spa & Bar Team , Hotel Management
Dear elcoque, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Expedia. We are sorry the room size was not to your liking and please contact us directly when you plan to return as we have 23 different themed rooms with a different room sizes so we can find the one meets your expectations. If you wish to further discuss your experience, please call main hotel number and ask for manager on duty. We look forward to welcome you back in the future. Sincerely, Chateau Avalon Hotel, Spa & Bar Team
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wichita, KS

Disappointing at best

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: The bartender was amazing.
Cons: The cleanliness and perhaps ask when checking in what time the guests would like their rooms cleaned.
Location: The location is great as there is a lot of fun things nearby and wonderful restaurants.
My friend and I took a trip to KC looking forward to a quiet and peaceful retreat. The hotel staff were friendly but they were scripted as we had 3 of them ask the exact same question in a row, "What brings you to Chateau Avalon?" What brought us there was my need to relax for a weekend as this past year has been awful. I was looking forward to a fun place to stay that offered a different perspective. The hotel looked amazing from the outside but once we got to our room, we found lipstick stains on the robes, pubic hairs in the bathtub, and dead crickets on the floor as well as left over rose petals from prior guests. The hotel called us at 7 am to see if they could come and clean our room. We informed them we are night shifters so please do so after 2 pm. When we left, we expected to return to a clean room. We found that their only "cleaning" was tossing some towels on the sink along with a bar of soap. For the amount I paid, I would expect them to at least vacuum. It was awful. The bed was like sleeping on a rock and I woke up multiple times in pain, as did my friend. I am guessing that's how they get you to pay for their spa services. Either way, the only thing that made the stay worth wild was the bartender. He knows his liquors and was very friendly. I would not return to this hotel nor would I recommend others to do so. Very disappointed as I was really looking forward to this trip.
5 out of 5
by Robert

Great

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
Great place with friendly service
1 out of 5
by nathan

Stay away from this place.

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
Air conditioner didn't work for the one night we stayed there. Employee brought me a I disgusting fan covered in lint, hair and who knows whatever else. Couldn't get a new room and didn't get anything knocked off the bill because I booked through this site. Smallest hotel room I've ever stayed in. This room had stairs leading up to a bathtub next to the bathroom and stairs to the bed. Such a perfect trip hazard for a middle of the night bathroom visit! $300 for a tiny hot room and I couldn't even get a cup of coffee in the morning or any kind of breakfast that wasn't ridiculously over priced. I'll sleep in my vehicle before I'd stay here again.
3 out of 5
by Adam

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 1, 2017 on Hotels