Ratings based on 162 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

One of few hotels here, watch ou for room location

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: see above
Cons: informing potential guests of location of their room in advance
Location: seafront restaurants, quaint walking areas
This town has few hotels. Your experience at this hotel will depend entirely on whether the room is on quiet south side with beautiful views or dark, noisy, north side overlooking busy intersection. I managed to change from the latter to the former, but at a significant additional cost. I am still recommending because there is little other choice in this small town. Front desk lady very nice. Breakfast a good spread in pleasant garden/terrace though pigeons may be interested in your food too.
5 out of 5
by Jamie

Viva La Hotel Provençal.

Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
We loved this little hotel! Lovely room, very friendly and helpful staff, nice, quiet but convenient location. Breakfast terrace was sweet, too!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

A harsh reminder of what two stars can mean

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Room rate was reasonable
Cons: See above
Location: A 10 minute walk from the front of Villefranche. Ok going down, but a tough uphill walk at end of day. Would take something nearer to action next time
Checked in and was sent to a room already occupied. Beds very uncomfortable. Aircon packed up. We were told it couldn't be fixed as it was a Sunday. Charged a further 20 euros for a two hour extension to checkout. On the plus side, some of staff were fairly friendly, and we were offered a new room with aircon on third night (no help with moving all our stuff however). Won't be returning.
2 out of 5
by Jay J

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to bus stop. Good location by the resturants

Posted Aug 17, 2017
It was ok. This was my 2nd time staying here and this time seemed alittle more disappointing. I had a room with town view it was so noisy and smelled like car gas I couldnt enjoy keeping my balcony door open. The shower was so small i barely fit my whole body in it. The breakfast was alright. They make you hard boil your own eggs , last year i remember they did it for you. Nobody has time to sit there and hard boil their own eggs.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Very reasonable price. Sparce but clean.

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: The price is very reasonable and the hotel is clean. Would be good for traveling students.
Cons: It would be great to improve the wifi but not sure if given the age of the building that could be improved.
Location: there is a lovely beach and you could day trip to Cap Ferat or Monaco.
The price is very affordable. The rooms are very clean and sparce. However, one of our two rooms did not have an in room bathroom. The wifi is unpredictable. Since Villefranche-sur-Mer is on a steep hill, people who cannot climb multiple flights of stairs should not stay here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, Florida

Hitel Provençal Villefranche sur Mer

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Experience was good however it is worthy to mention that we were overcharged for the room as follows: In high season our roon was 151 euros and low seasob 120, we paid 282 euros tmfor tge first two nights. We understand there was an event on Sunday but paying more than what the room is worth in high season was criminal. Also, we reserved a room for two and they gave us a family room which could house 4 people. I felt cheated biiiig times.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location and very helpful staff

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
The relaxed side of Nice - friendly and close to everything you need for a laid back stay.
3 out of 5
by lauren

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Tom from Jackson, NJ

Three out of Five

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
Overall the hotel was okay. The staff was friendly but some employees more friendlier than others. The bathrooms were nothing like the pictures. Our room said full bathroom but there was not a shower. There was a tub with a shower hose. On our third night the air conditioning was not working and the overnight front desk employee could have cared less. Another huge factor was the lack of Wi-Fi. In the lobby there was free Wi-Fi but in the rooms you had to pay for it. Unacceptable. The view from the room was great. The town was amazing. Overall I would rate this hotel 3.5 out of 5.