Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Good value but a little compact in room area

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: Location, parking, beautiful views and surroundings
Cons: More bath towels and a hook to hang the tea towel!
Location: Most French Riviera attractions are around one to two hours drive away. Not far away as the crow flies but traffic can be very heavy and slow moving.
Pros: Beautiful area. Very good car parking ( at least in October anyway). Supermarket, restaurants and beach close by. You really need a car I would recommend though. Beach is a few minutes walk away. Cons: Hotel staff's English is only basic conversation level (not fluent). Just the basics supplied, not quite enough towels etc, but the apartments are fine for self catering. I would definitely NOT recommend these apartments though for 4 or 5 adults. Far too cramped, but OK for a couple or a family with 2 children.You would need to pay more for space in this 'neck of the woods'.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brighton

Great short break

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Brilliant location and the staff are so helpful. The local restaurant were amazing with a great choice and price range
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
Great location & friendly staff
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Dated property with some good facility but NO A/C

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The kids loved the pool The location was great. The rooms, although very small, had kitchenettes and lovely balconies with views.
Cons: THE A/C and advising guests up front that there is no A/C in some of the rooms!
Location: Great location, awesome place
The property has some good facility and was in a good location but had no air conditioning in the very small rooms. There were also no fans, which would have been great given it was so hot and there was no A/C. Our room backed onto the railway and since we had to sleep with the doors open due to the lack of A/C, we were woken up by the regular trains as well as eaten by mosquitoes. When booking we were unaware that the rooms were not air conditioned as this was not stated and the listing had photos of rooms with air conditioners in them and no delineation between the available rooms with or without air conditioning, the descriptions were all the same (bar size, beds, etc, but no mention of A/C), so as a basic room facility we were stunned to find the rooms were not air conditioned and consequently had an incredibly uncomfortable, sleepless night. We felt that there had not been full disclosure of information about the rooms and that we were therefore unable to make a fully informed decision about our stay and were misled about the rooms facility, we requested relocation to a room with A/C (which we were prepared to pay extra for) but none were available so we requested a refund on the residual of our stay so we could find alternative air conditioned accommodation. We were promised a refund by the Manager Krystina, but a week later are yet to receive this.
3 out of 5
by Rita

Posted Jul 1, 2016 on Hotels
Good balcony and surroundings but room/studios could use an upgrade specially in bathroom. Pipes on show and smelly. Pool toilets dirty and smelly too. Gardens and pool very nice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Norfolk UK

Probably best family hotel in Villefranche

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: Location, views (gardens and sea)
Cons: Studios are very cramped, which would be difficult to alter structurally, but might be relieved by better choice of furnishings
Location: 2 great beaches walking distance, buses to Nice, Monaco, Menton stop near reception. LOTS to see within walking distance!
Superb location walking distance to 2 beaches and local transport, very good pool and terrace (with a really good snack bar). Studios are quite cramped, but views from most are very good while still maintaining privacy, and reasonably quiet despite the adjoining train line. The complex was probably the height of self-catering family accommodation when it opened in 1987, still well-kept but rather dated now. Staff very helpful when they are there, but reception is closed more often than open. Despite its limitations, this is probably the best place available for a stay of a week or more - we'll be back!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester UK

Disappointment

Posted Jun 10, 2016
Pros: The pool.location.
Cons: The rooms, Cafe, overall service.
Location: Location is great. You have lots of things to do.Great scenery and the beach is near by.
When we got there at 20.30, there was no one at the reception and we could not get in.I had to phone a friend in Paris to speak to a number that was displayed.We got in 2 hours later. Got in the room and it was too small and two single beds.!! bathroom light flickering, shower head broken and dirty dishes in the dishwasher.I rang Expedia to complain and costing a fortune to be on hold for 20 mins. Nothing was done by you and on the 5 th day I paid an extra 100 Euros to change my room with a double bed. I will never use Expedia again.I had not used you for 5 yrs and my last 2 booking with you were a disaster and costly , let alone the stress.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 10, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wouldn't be rushing back

Posted Oct 2, 2015 on Hotels
We arrived quite late, we had been given a code to enter but it was wrong, thankfully there was a resident there to let us in. We were shocked at the size of the studio apartment. We had requested a double bed (which we didn't get) and the room was not air conditioned so it was very stuffy. We had to make up our own beds, they provide sheets and pillow cases but no duvet covers! As the room was so hot we didn't need the duvets. The positives of this residence is that the location is good (between Villefranche and Beaulieu sur mer), the bus for Nice and Monaco stops right outside the grounds and its close to some lovely beaches. It also has a lovely pool area overlooking the bay. There is a small bar which is open until 9 (later if it's anyway busy)serving cans of beer,a selection of spirits and sodas and house wine, they also do food until 4pm. If you are travelling with kids I would suggest you book a much bigger apartment as ours was far too small for 4 of us. Oh and bring your own toilet paper.....they only provide one roll!!!
5 out of 5
by Richard from Chester UK

L'Ange Gardien, Nice

Posted Jul 13, 2015 on Hotels
we used it as a base for my son to participate in the iRONMAN fRANCE. Great for Monaco, Italy even Barcelona for the day. Great little place, Beautiful swimming pool. Not happy with the £2 per day sunbed charge so didn't use one. Had an item break in the room and it was repaired the next morning. would stay there again.