Ratings based on 248 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It's really a 6 score across the board. :D

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Staff and location.
Cons: Nada. Lovely lovely people.
Location: Merano is gorgeous, wine country is equally as stunning.
Two things make the Hotel Sparerhof: staff and location. Honestly, they are the nicest family and go out of their way to recommend things and make your stay comfortable. This is 10' from Merano, without the Merano prices and parking madness. Wine country is also about 10' the other direction. It's ideal and you should go! :)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Bobo from uk

Excellent

Posted May 29, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly helpful staff. good location. nice room. comfortable bed. A perfect place for cycling.
5 out of 5
by Dariush from Wrexham UK

A real gem would reccomend for work or leisure +++

Posted Sep 25, 2015 on Hotels
We found this hotel to be friendly, comfortable and a welcome change from the bigger chain hotels we normally stay in on business trips. It is very conveniently situated for Bolzano and you can be there in 5-10 mins by car but I believe there are other transport links (train/bus). The food in the restaurant was delicious and reasonably priced and I believe there are other restaurants nearby. The rooms are simple but very clean and comfortable. The staff speak perfect English and are willing to help with any queries you have. The surrounding area is stunning and I will be returning for a holiday next year. There is also a lovely swimming pool and bikes free to use. The best Cappuccino I had on my trip!
5 out of 5
by Richard from West Vancouver

Nicest best run place imaginable

Posted Jul 13, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel, the manager, the food and the ambience were by far the best we ran into in two weeks in Italy. I look forward to coming back.
4 out of 5
by Norbert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 7, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

A quiet charming hotel in the rustic Italian Alps

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: charming, quiet, location, gracious and friendly host.
A beautiful little hotel nestled in a rustic Alpine town. Charming lobby, bar and restaurant. Gracious friendly staff...family owned and operated. Provided us with very courteous service with personal attention and help with tourist information and restaurants. A place we will certainly hope to stay in the next time we return to the Merano area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel with superb hosts

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel owners were friendly, smart, and fun. They are perfectly suited to this calling! The swimming pool was refreshing, they let me use the computer when my smartphone wasn't working, and the room itself was comfortable. What was most memorable was the style of the outdoor patio where we had dinner--a pergola, flowers everywhere, and a fine meal with excellent wines that were produced locally. The dining room where we had breakfast was sophisticated--the pictures on the wall, the curtains, the furniture--all very classy and the breakfast buffet had many delicious things to choose from. It was a totally wonderful experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to main highway just outside of Balzano.

Posted Oct 23, 2013
Very courteous and helpful staff. Good food. Local road a bit noisy at times. Great mountain view. Close to some wonderful sites to visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Don't miss a chat at the bar with Andreas!

Posted Aug 21, 2013
We stayed at Hotel Sparerhof for few nights and loved the place. The hotel has character and the people are very helpful and friendly. Breakfast is good and the free bikes were really cool, quite a few bike paths in the area. The location is good, 5 min walk from the train station and lovely surroundings.