Ratings based on 151 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Gran Hotel Gervasoni - GRAND IT IS NOT!!

Posted Mar 20, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: As mentioned above it needs to be completely renovated inside and out.
Location: As mentioned above nice restaurants in the area but the whole area needs to be cleaned up.
This hotel needs to be closed down and completely renovated before it falls down. No maintenance of any kind is being done. The hotel sits on the side of a hill with many stories to go up and down. The stairs and hallways are rickety with carpet runners in some places so you can't roll your case and can easily be tripped up. There are no elevators so you have to carry your luggage. Our room was not vacuumed before we had access to it. The bathroom was dreadful with no where to put anything and to get hot water in the shower you have to let the tap run for 5 minutes. Overall a very nasty place to stay. Many nice little restaurants in the area unfortunately you have to keep your eyes on the ground to avoid all the dog droppings. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2016 by hotel gervasoni, Hotel Management
Lamentamos su mala experiencia en el hotel, estamos trabajando en mejorar muchos aspectos de los cuales usted comenta.
2 out of 5
by Rui from Houston

Pass if you have alternatives.

Posted Mar 10, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is in a great location and has a great view. That is about it.... Maybe we got bad luck but (based on people we talked is always like this) only one person at the front desk is helpful. All others are terrible! There's no willing to help even in the smallest things. Remote for a high mounted TV? Not available. Can I get one? no. Food late? Nope. Walk around dark alleys until you find a place open. Extremely tight room. Anything said the next room can be heard as lively as if neighbors are laying in the bed with you. Noise from the loose floor boards can be heard through the walls as well as the kitchen work (which by the way do not belong to the hotel?? go figure). and please, DO NOT HOLD THE FRONT ENTRANCE DOOR OPEN! They will yell at you because the AC is on. Internet? Not available. Phone lines? Not available (Blamed on a short cut, but people warned that is an ongoing issue). Parking? DO NOT COUNT on the three spots. Never available and taken by people not at the hotel! Nobody checks! IF you have another option, take it. Very expensive for what it was offered.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2016
sorry for your bad experience , we are working on solving these problems we recognize that have long time unresolved .
3 out of 5
by george from phoenix

Posted Mar 6, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel has a lot of charm and great location however our room was located up a perilous flight of stairs which required great caution. We also had a flooding in the bathroom the day we left.
2 out of 5
by martin

Disappointing 2 star hotel

Posted Mar 2, 2016 on Hotels
Disappointing...public areas look good, but rooms small and bathroom terrible. Wifi not reliable and only want ride in reception area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

hotel rating

Posted Feb 17, 2016
Pros: location and staff
Cons: better ventilation and cleaning of old furnishings such as; chairs, carpets, drapery etc
Location: excellent location, lots of things to do within walking distance
Nice hotel, great location and staff however realize it is an old house that was nicely converted to a hotel but, there is no AC, people with allergies beware of mustiness and dust due to old furnishings and windows open for ventilation.
3 out of 5
by Lilian from Belém, Pará

Valparaíso, bucólico e agradável.

Posted Feb 15, 2016 on Hotels
A casa, apesar de muito antiga, é bonita e está conservada. Os quartos não tem ar condicionado, o telefone e o wifi não funcionam nos quartos, apenas na recepção e o café da manhã é fraco. Apesar desses inconvenientes, gostamos da estadia pois o local é bem localizado e agradável. Contudo, achei o preço muito alto para o que oferece. Dica: malas leves e pequenas, pois não há elevador e há muitas escadas a subir.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2016
Eatimados, estamos solucionando algunos de los inconvenientes que mencionan, desgraciadamente por ser una casa patrimonio de la humanidad no podemos intervenir mucho arquitectonicamente, por lo mismo no puede haber elevadores.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 15, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Håkan from Partille

Valparasio på 3 dagar!

Posted Feb 14, 2016 on Hotels
Hotellet låg mycket centralt och hade charm!
5 out of 5
by Debbie from Rancho Mirage, CA

Nice old hotel close to cruise port.

Posted Feb 13, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is on a hillside and difficult to get to by car but close to cruise port and in a nice area of town. Old hotel has narrow staircases and wood floors that creak but was very clean and in a pedestrian shopping area. Staff was very friendly and helpful and spoke English and Spanish. I would recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2016
Thank you for your comments hope to visit us on your next trip to Valparaiso
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location and good value.

Posted Feb 12, 2016
Pros: "atmosphere'. front desk staff were helpful.
Cons: We had a problem with toilet seat that did not get rectified.
Location: Enjoyed walking and trolleys which allowed us to 'soak up' the history and atmosphere of Valparaiso. Not enough time but a great experience.
Liked the 'atmosphere of the hotel and the location was good for our interests.