Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Right in the middle of the old town

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: A hotel with character
Cons: signage - name of Hotel and directions to Reception
Great Location and a young multilingual staff who are very helpful
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs renovation

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Great location, old building, dirty and small room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic building at heart of historic Valparaiso

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Pros: Historic building, great location, very friendly and helpful staff at reception.
Cons: For some guests the age of the building and wooden stairways with no elevator might be a problem. But we considered this part of the character.
Location: Best location. Right at the top of the historic Concepcion funicular. Really good restaurants, cafes, shops and walking all nearby.
We loved this hotel - a beautiful restored historic building located within walking distance of the best of everything that historic Valparaiso has to offer. The interior is stunning - original wooden floors, ceilings etc. Includes a rooftop terrace where we relaxed in the late afternoon/evening. I particularly want to comment on our experience with reception staff. They were super friendly and helpful - during check-in, and assisting with advice and organising cars and taxis for day trips and to the airport.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2016 by Cinthya V., Hotel Management
thanks for your comments , most of our passengers appreciate our concern for historical preservation of the house , unfortunately for some of them for health is a problem with the stairs. We hope your visit on your next travel to valparaiso
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Gran Hotel Gervasoni - GRAND IT IS NOT!!

Posted Mar 20, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: As mentioned above it needs to be completely renovated inside and out.
Location: As mentioned above nice restaurants in the area but the whole area needs to be cleaned up.
This hotel needs to be closed down and completely renovated before it falls down. No maintenance of any kind is being done. The hotel sits on the side of a hill with many stories to go up and down. The stairs and hallways are rickety with carpet runners in some places so you can't roll your case and can easily be tripped up. There are no elevators so you have to carry your luggage. Our room was not vacuumed before we had access to it. The bathroom was dreadful with no where to put anything and to get hot water in the shower you have to let the tap run for 5 minutes. Overall a very nasty place to stay. Many nice little restaurants in the area unfortunately you have to keep your eyes on the ground to avoid all the dog droppings. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2016 by hotel gervasoni, Hotel Management
Lamentamos su mala experiencia en el hotel, estamos trabajando en mejorar muchos aspectos de los cuales usted comenta.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

hotel rating

Posted Feb 17, 2016
Pros: location and staff
Cons: better ventilation and cleaning of old furnishings such as; chairs, carpets, drapery etc
Location: excellent location, lots of things to do within walking distance
Nice hotel, great location and staff however realize it is an old house that was nicely converted to a hotel but, there is no AC, people with allergies beware of mustiness and dust due to old furnishings and windows open for ventilation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location and good value.

Posted Feb 12, 2016
Pros: "atmosphere'. front desk staff were helpful.
Cons: We had a problem with toilet seat that did not get rectified.
Location: Enjoyed walking and trolleys which allowed us to 'soak up' the history and atmosphere of Valparaiso. Not enough time but a great experience.
Liked the 'atmosphere of the hotel and the location was good for our interests.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

4 lost stars

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: Cannot say one thing I like. The rating is wrong. I trusted Expedia rating, but I was misled.
Cons: Everything!!!!
Location: Read above. Please do not send guests to this property!!!!!
Horrible. By the time we were able to find the hotel, and check the room we walk straight back through the door. This hotel cannot be a 4 star, cannot even give them a 1 star!!!! In the middle of some streets you would not dare walking during the day or night.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Quito Ecuador

Nice place in the old town of Valparaíso

Posted Oct 9, 2015
The room and bathroom are comfortable . The hotel is old but clean . NO wi fi in any place of the hotel .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2015
Everything was great! The hotel was clean and the view was great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from del mar CA

Good hotel in best area. Walked everywhere

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Good breakfast but limited options for dinner. Plenty of places to eat nearby.