Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Good location

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: Good views
Cons: Staff could be more responsive
Location: Great location for walking the streets.
Staff fairly disinterested. Restaurant is very good, however. Needs some more TLC
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad Value Proposition and Poor Service

Posted Jan 30, 2016
This hotel is no longer among the Relais Chateau offerings for good reason. Management claims to resolve problems that guests have pointed out repeatedly, but fails to do so. Among the reasons for our disappointing stay, were the hotel's failure to honor our reservation. We had booked two junior suites and instead received a room downgrade on one of the rooms to a "premium room" which was a far cry from the junior suite. No apology from the hotel was forthcoming, not to mention any sort of compensation for the inconvenience of having to split our family up on two different floors. Service was extremely poor in the restaurant, and haphazard at the front desk. Management has determined that price gouging for international travelers is acceptable by charging an exchange rate of the Chilean peso to the US dollar that is 25% higher than the market exchange rate. Breakfast is only served from 8:30 am to 10:30 am, so if you check out earlier, you do not get to have breakfast. Porters are only available beginning at 9:30 am to 10:00 am, resulting in guests having to handle their own luggage if they check out earlier. There is no air conditioning at the hotel, which is problematic on a sunny summer day and particularly on the 3rd floor where we were placed after our room reservation was downgraded. The wifi was very spotty and different passwords were required in different areas of the hotel. We will certainly never return to this hotel.
5 out of 5
by Not Provided from Occidental, CA

Nice place in Valparaiso

Posted Jan 19, 2016 on Hotels
We had a very nice stay here. Our only complaint was the construction going on outside our room. Once that is done, I think it will be great. The front desk help (especially Eduardo) was great. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Room was spacious and clean, and the bedding was great. The recommendations we got for places to go for dinner were great. All in all, a very nice place to stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 4, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Daniela from Rio de Janeiro

City problems

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
In the beginning everything was awful! Unfortunately, the city is in the middle of a renovation and the hotel street is closed. I had to leave the car and ask for help inside the hotel. When I told them they need to inform Hotels.com about the terrible conditions of the area, they told me I should park my car in their garage and pay 12.000 chillean pesos!!!! On the other hand, the manager was very polite and tried to solve the problems. The hotel is interesting, but is not a "relais & chateau". The heated pool was cold, the ofurô was cold and dirty. Only the sauna was ok.
3 out of 5
by Nassara from Santiago

Not a Relais & Chateau experience

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel does not live up to the price and expectations generated by their Relais & Chateau affiliation. First problem: we visited during the summer and the rooms, which have a lot of sun hitting them for a good part of the day, have no air conditioning whatsoever. Keeping the windows open might solve some (not all) of the heat problem, but then outside noise and light make it imposible to sleep. Worst of all, we chose this hotel specifically so we could have dinner with drinks at their restaurant Alegre (which is supposed to be a great experience) and not drive anywhere afterwards. We made reservations for the restaurant two months in advance. We confirmed them on the week of the trip. We reconfirmed them upon check-in, around noon. When it finally came the time for our dinner, at 9 pm, and we asked if we could go downstairs to the restaurant, we were informed that the restaurant was not open that night!!! And we were thus stranded on a buzy summer Saturday night at a tourist town to find a place to eat without any reservation. This was not at all the service we expected, and none of the several complaints we made to Relais & Chateau and the hotel management after we left were properly addressed. An invitation to go back and pay those horribly expensive prices to give them "another chance" does not configure a solution.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

historical hotel and vicinity

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: quietness and historical view
Cons: experience and room service
Location: good location
Experience - Disappointing Room preparation - Excellent breakfast service - Bad bath commodities Not a hotel boutique experience, I expected more.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Boutique Hotel in the perfect Location!

Posted Feb 5, 2015 on Hotels
Great Boutique Hotel in the perfect Location!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One of the best Boutique Hotels in Valpo!

Posted Feb 3, 2015 on Hotels
We had a very pleasant stay. Great location, well refurbished property, nice rooms, good staff and breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham uk

dont trust sat nav!

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: Great staff on the desk ,speak english and had good recommendations for local resturant's.
Cons: Breakfast was simple but tasty ,cooked eggs like omlettes and scambled were charged at £6 extra!.
Location: looks out onto the bay and try the two vecnicles that cut down the steep steps up to your hotel from town.
Took an age to find hotel though tiny roads up and down this lovely town. Only 3 parking spots in very tight area.