Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Five star service at a three star hotel

Posted Feb 3, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Very comfortable bed and very friendly staff. Beautiful views.
Cons: The bathroom could use a remodel to get rid of the bathtub. Trying to get in and out of that thing every day was a bit of a hazard. Get used to stairs
Location: About a kilometre from Pablo Neruda's house, La Sebastiana, this hotel is set back in the hills. Use public transport to get to and from.
This lovely family-operated hotel in the hills of Valparaiso was a lovely place to stay. The staff were wonderful and the room was very comfortable. Because it's back in the hills, it is a steep climb to get there but well worth it for the views. And there are very few places in Valparaiso that don't require some stairs anyway.
4 out of 5
by Marc

the best view. you feel connected with the area

Posted Jan 28, 2017 on Hotels
it was very comfortable. very high up and with a magnificent view. staff very nice, helpful and interested. Breakfast very good and generous. a must stay!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great option in Valparaiso, Recommended

Posted Jan 20, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice staff, conveniently located pretty close to main tourist area for getting a feel for Valparaiso and it's murals. Great view from our room. Note that parking is a bit tight and up a steep drive, but also behind a locked gate. They helped shuffle cars around so we could get out to head to the airport. Be aware that there are a lot of steps and a steep driveway to climb, in case that might be a physical concern for you. Breakfast was one of the best I had at any hotel I stayed in Chile.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles,CA

Great find!

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Old ,sweat and charming hotel at the best location on the hills of Valparaiso!Fabulous staff,excellent service and heavenly view from a room.Located on the bus route so going up and down the hills is not a torture. Will strongly recommend!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely homely place to stay with fabulous views

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful, friendly staff that went out of their way to make me feel comfortable and at home! Would highly recommend this as an incredibly lovely place to stay - it's q bit higher up on the hill but not far to walk, and even easier if you prefer to take the bus (which comes very often, is cheap and very convenient).
4 out of 5
by lisa from San Diego, CA

Amazing Views

Posted Aug 13, 2015 on Hotels
We had a wonderful stay at Sutherland. The staff was very friendly and provided us with a welcome drink and advice to tour the city. The hotel is higher up so expect a lot of walking just to get to the hotel, and lots of stairs to get into it. But the payoffs are worth it. Beautiful views from every room. I just wish they could do something about the neighbors rooster...
5 out of 5
by Ronald from Perth

A good place to stay.

Posted Mar 19, 2015 on Hotels
Have just spent 2 nights there, the staff (we were met by Plillip) were very accommodating and pleasant. Plenty of local knowledge, helpful and a friendly place to stay. We were given an upstairs room with a balcony and view through to the ocean. Would definitely recommend and would stay there again if we returned.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Santiago

Nice view with sterways

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: the room, the btreakfast was great, specially if can get one of the tables in the balcony. Great view of Valparaiso!
Cons: Maybe a bigger TV ;-)...even thoug we didn´t go there to watch TV
Location: The hotel is 20 minutes walking from La Sebastiana, Pablo Neruda´s house and 7 minutes walking from restaurants, bars in Cerro Alegre. Nice walk view.
The hotel is in a quiet neigborhood, with great Valparaiso view. The breakfast was great and the staff was very nice. The only issue to mention is you have to climbe 68 steps on the stairways to get from the street to the hall. So if you have problems with that this is not your hotel. For young people, not an issue.
3 out of 5
by Bryan from USA

Nice Hotel w/ Great View

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels
Overall this was a nice place to stay in Valpariso. The view from the room was definitely the highlight. The room could use a few updates, and breakfast is just "OK."
5 out of 5
by pj from london

great views and friendly staff

Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels
Staff were very good. Couldn't do enough for you.