Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

great views of Valparaiso

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Very friendly and accommodating hosts, great views, garage parking, easy to reach with the shared taxi, beautiful character house.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto area.

Grand House, in Chile, is Casa Grande. It is!

Posted Dec 21, 2015
Pros: See above.
Location: Tell the ladies what you are interested in and they can tell you where to find it, annotated maps and all.
Indeed it is like going to visit Grandma but with a delightful twist. The Ladies (Twins) who own and operate it are exceptional. Helpfull, considerate, very knowledgeable about the area and great senses of humor. Breakfast on the patio with all of Valparaiso laid out below you is a memory that will last. I recommend a taxi (very low cost) to get there, and be sure to tell the driver it is "Cerro La Cruz" since street names, shared among the many "Hills" of the city can be somewhat confusing. Many major flags could take customer care lessons from these Ladies! I thank them for making a 3 day business trip a pleasure.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible beds, nice people

Posted Feb 28, 2015
The house is on a hill, kind of hard to get to on foot, and a 5,000 CLP ride away from the Valparaiso bus station (Rodoviario). The staff are super nice, the view is great and the house is cozy and has an old house charm that will be attractive to many. However, the beds are terrible. My back is still aching from the U position I was in all night. That is the only reason why I don't plan to return on my next trip. I'm sure they could change that easily if they wanted.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

A unique experience

Posted Feb 3, 2015
The first impression was a shock because the house was on a rough street which the taxi driver could not find. This impression was soon overcome by the welcome shown us by the two owners - delightful twins who constantly went out of their way to answer all our queries and who shared with us our delight in Valparaiso, its history and its attractions. Meals were more than just breakfast and included coffee and toast or cookies whenever we arrived back from trips to other parts of the city and its neighbour, Vina del Mar. Among the attractions of the house were its fabulous view over the harbour and its amazing collections of silver, china and crystal. We enjoyed the experience of using "collectivo" taxis, trolley buses, buses and light rapid transit to get around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice Hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: The floral balcony where the breakfast was served. One must get into this hotel at least for this experience.
Location: The location is on the slopes of the hill and drive to downtown is less than 10 minutes.
A very nice B-and-B indeed at the price we paid. The staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast was also pretty good and the place it was served on the picturesque balcony with lots of floral around. The location of this hotel is on the slopes of the hill with crowded residences. I was terribly afraid to drive the car to reach this place. But after couple of times we used to get of it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Vic, Australia

Lovely place,lovely people.

Posted Dec 2, 2014
A beautifully presented place to stay with lovely people providing excellent service. Doris wrote tips about places to visit and where to eat on a map of Valparaiso that she gave us. When we asked Doris to book a taxi to take us to the bus terminal, she took us herself. Perfecto! Muchas gracias.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Brilliant introduction to Chile

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Doris and Carolina were extremely hospitable and told us lots about Chile. Breakfasts were delicious and beautifully presented. Nothing was too much trouble! Easy to get to town centre and sights on foot but recommend taxi on way back up the hill. Very good value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Staying at Grandmas house

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Cons: Less stuff in rooms.
Location: Beautiful view from the hill.
Great value but a little cluttered like grandmas house. Lots and lots of antiques all over the place. Super friendly ladies running the place and helpful info. Nice to be in the hills over the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great view!

Posted Apr 12, 2014
We were catching a cruise and had a night to spend in Valparaiso. Wanted something unique to the area. Found this lovely old house....now hotel/bed and breakfast. The building is close to 100 years old and high up the mountain. The house is full of family heirlooms almost to the point of clutter. Doris is a lovely young lady who runs the B & B with her twin sister. She went out of her way to assist us in whatever we needed or wanted. She picked us up from the bus terminal and took us to the pier. The rooms are decorated in Victorian Style and have great windows that overlook the city and ocean. Breakfast was tasty and ample. I would definitely recommend to those that like to get acquainted with a new city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ike from Canada

Fabulous hostesses Carolina & Doris.

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: Good workout going up and down the hills.
Have never felt so welcome. These two ladies have done wonders with this house. If you are into antiques you will be awed with what they have. They couldn't do enough for us. Will definitely see them again. We were there in the fall and are sure if you are there in the summer the flowers will be spectacular.