Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Steve from Nova Scotia, Canada

Nice suite, poor management

Posted Apr 9, 2013
Pros: Beautiful suite with balconies
Cons: Staff
Location: On a hill in an old part of town.
We had a nice two-floor suite with a balcony on each floor with a beautiful view. The suite was clean. We had to ask for towels. We had to run the water for about 10 minutes to get a hot shower. Breakfast was okay. Hotel is in an interesting, old neighborhood, with lots of steep streets or stairs to get to the city centre. Heard barking dogs late into the night. They seemed to be having staffing problems while we were there, and the manager was not particularly helpful.
1 out of 5
by Canadians from Toronto, ON, Canada

Stay far far away...

Posted Mar 25, 2013
Pros: decor
Cons: management
Location: difficult to get to places
Every review comments that has been posted on Feb 11, 14, 24th of 2013 are right on! We and others staying during March 17th of 2013 had the same experiences and in addition: 1) no hot water to take a shower 2) no soap provided 3) broken handle in the bathroom door 4) no one to help us check out the following morning, we had to go across the street to another hotel to call 3 taxies for us and two other guests 5) dog poop outside the hotel doors and management did not care to remove 6) asked for assistance re: restaurant/eating and management did not offer to help Do not pre-pay best to stay away from this hotel! If you wish to stay in this area stay at the RC Art Deco Hotel
2 out of 5
by R.J. from Las Vegas, NV, USA

Great potential hampered by management.

Posted Mar 15, 2013
Pros: view, location
Cons: plumbing, manager
Location: A short walk downhill to downtown
Great location, view, breakfast, and decoration. Top floor deck has a wonderful view of the city and bay. It is a short walk down into the city. Manager prepared and served breakfast with a tee shirt cut at navel level and jeans at hip level revealing his CK's. The guest service attitude during our two day stay was not anywhere near the level that we had experienced in Bolivia and Peru.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

it could have been perfect BUT!

Posted Mar 4, 2013
i wish i could recommend this hotel. we stayed 3 nights in penthouse suite. the room was perfect, it had balcony overlooking valparaiso and was fairly close to all activities. when we arrived they told us credit card machine was not working( i don't think it ever worked) we had to pay cash. light went out in companions bathroom( told it would be replaced, 2 days later never replaced) ran out of soap and never replaced. most of the day no one in office. most importantly someone went through our luggage. i hope they get there act together because it is a beautiful hotel.
2 out of 5
by Ron from Sydney, Australia

Valpapraiso Vineyard Inn February 2013

Posted Mar 2, 2013
Pros: None really
Cons: Small room, no tea/coffee facilities, unable to view the TV from the bed and only 1 chair in the room
Location: 10 minutes walk up a steep hill from the commercial area. My wife refused to walk it aftyer the first time.
We booked this hotel because a review we read said that the place was fun in the evening (with the bar open and music playing), but maybe it changed ownership as there was no bar and no fun. The continental breakfast was minimal and limited to a small bowl of fruit and 2 slices of toast. The owner spoke very little English and her assistant none, which would be OK except they never gave us any toilet paper and it was pretty embarrassing to have to mime the action of toilet paper usage in order to get the point understood. Yes, I drew pictures but that didn't work. There are very few restaurants in the locality and they are all closed Sunday, requiring a longish walk down a steep hill and back in order to get something to eat. The room was small and there was only 1 chair and no coffee/tea making facilities and no hot drinks available except in the dining room during breakfast
1 out of 5
by Daphne from NL Canada

Truthful

Posted Feb 10, 2013
No one spoke English, staff were poorly organized and not trained at all. Breakfast was very basic. Owner or manager was totally unhelpful. Wi if didn,t work anywhere in hotel after first hours of checking in. All guests that we saw, and ourselves included, went across the street to another hotel where staff spoke English and were more than happy to call taxis, let us and others use their Wi Fi and help with tourist info. Would not stay here again and I imagine any past and future guests would be the same.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Eclectic

Posted Feb 1, 2013
Pros: The decor
Cons: No Elevator/no air conditioning
Location: mixture of homes and businesses. Very colorful and eclectic
good location but a little hard to find and off the beaten path. The inn was decorated and built in a most unique way. Stayed in a deluxe suite on top floor with a balcony and the view was spectacular. It was a little noisy but truly lent to the feel of the area. No elevator and communication was hard. Overall our stay was different than we're used to but truly enjoyed it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view, inconsistent service

Posted Jan 24, 2013
Lovely, beautiful hotel with great architecture. Interesting decor. We were in the penthouse room. The breakfast is very skimpy some days. The manager was away and the service was inconsistent. No wifi in the room, intermittent wifi in the lobby. Next to great restaurant. Noisy neighbourhood of dog barking. Hotel was very clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only nice at first glance

Posted Jan 22, 2013
Pros: Location.
Cons: Staff, no privacy, no promises kept.
Location: Nice with harbor view.
We requested an early checkin because we arrived on a cruise ship at 5 am. When we came to the hotel, they could not even find our reservation... The staff speaks only Spanish which made everything very complicated (they cannot even call you a taxi). They do not have town maps or any other information. The internet was down almost the whole time of our stay (WiFi was however available) which was not fixed. No adaptors (apart from an Argentinian one which of course does not go into the Chilean socket). No cable TV (missed the football finals). Small breakfast: thin coffee (even for US standards), one slice of toast per person, juice and a small yoghurt. Harbor view room very nice, but no "real" walls, just wood so that you can hear everything from the neighboring rooms. Bed very soft, bathroom adjusted to the height of children (clean though). Leading to the rooms are metal stairs on which you hear every step (very loud). On the pro side: location, nice lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Don from Kelowna, BC, Canada

Hotel on the Hill in Valparaiso

Posted Jan 21, 2013
Pros: View from community balcony.
Cons: Noisy dogs.
Location: Awkward unless comfortable on hills. Neruda house close by. One of Valparaiso's best restaurants next door.
The hotel was very clean and functional. Very very small old TV. Good view from community balcony. Pleasant. Nice breakfast. Street dogs in the area very noisy. Hotel is up the hill and access by healthy people only unless you take a taxi. Two excellent restaurants very close.