Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Steve from Nova Scotia, Canada

Nice suite, poor management

Posted Apr 9, 2013
Pros: Beautiful suite with balconies
Cons: Staff
Location: On a hill in an old part of town.
We had a nice two-floor suite with a balcony on each floor with a beautiful view. The suite was clean. We had to ask for towels. We had to run the water for about 10 minutes to get a hot shower. Breakfast was okay. Hotel is in an interesting, old neighborhood, with lots of steep streets or stairs to get to the city centre. Heard barking dogs late into the night. They seemed to be having staffing problems while we were there, and the manager was not particularly helpful.
1 out of 5
for Getaway With Friends
by Cebeci from Köln

Kein Service, schmutzig, schlechte Gegend

Posted Apr 2, 2013 on Hotels
Hotel liegt in einer recht schmutzigen Ecke des Ortes, ist sehr verlassen, fernab jeglicher Freizeitmöglichkeiten. Das Hotelpersonal ist unfreundlich, spricht ausschließlich spanisch und macht falsche Versprechungen - Servicementalität nicht vorhanden. Erreichbarkeit schlecht- sowohl telefonisch als auch per Mail als auch persönlich vor Ort.
1 out of 5
by Canadians from Toronto, ON, Canada

Stay far far away...

Posted Mar 25, 2013
Pros: decor
Cons: management
Location: difficult to get to places
Every review comments that has been posted on Feb 11, 14, 24th of 2013 are right on! We and others staying during March 17th of 2013 had the same experiences and in addition: 1) no hot water to take a shower 2) no soap provided 3) broken handle in the bathroom door 4) no one to help us check out the following morning, we had to go across the street to another hotel to call 3 taxies for us and two other guests 5) dog poop outside the hotel doors and management did not care to remove 6) asked for assistance re: restaurant/eating and management did not offer to help Do not pre-pay best to stay away from this hotel! If you wish to stay in this area stay at the RC Art Deco Hotel
2 out of 5
by R.J. from Las Vegas, NV, USA

Great potential hampered by management.

Posted Mar 15, 2013
Pros: view, location
Cons: plumbing, manager
Location: A short walk downhill to downtown
Great location, view, breakfast, and decoration. Top floor deck has a wonderful view of the city and bay. It is a short walk down into the city. Manager prepared and served breakfast with a tee shirt cut at navel level and jeans at hip level revealing his CK's. The guest service attitude during our two day stay was not anywhere near the level that we had experienced in Bolivia and Peru.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great hotel -hopeless management

Posted Mar 11, 2013 on Hotels
manager Philippe,showed no interest in fixing lights, doors broken, no soap etc. I was even refused more toast at breakfast.!!-WHICH WERE GENERALLY WITHOUT JAM OR ANYTHING COOKED.The hotel is very attractive in design and ambience but very poorly run.Would not consider returning without change of manager.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by Armando from Ciudad de México, D.F., México

Ideal para parejas

Posted Mar 11, 2013
Pros: La decoreación
Cons: EL baño
Location: Excelente vista
Que buena sorpresa nos llevamos al llegar al Valparaiso Vineyard Inn... Un hermoso hotel con una decoración exquisita. Las habitaciones bastante cómodas y el presonal muy amable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

it could have been perfect BUT!

Posted Mar 4, 2013
i wish i could recommend this hotel. we stayed 3 nights in penthouse suite. the room was perfect, it had balcony overlooking valparaiso and was fairly close to all activities. when we arrived they told us credit card machine was not working( i don't think it ever worked) we had to pay cash. light went out in companions bathroom( told it would be replaced, 2 days later never replaced) ran out of soap and never replaced. most of the day no one in office. most importantly someone went through our luggage. i hope they get there act together because it is a beautiful hotel.
4 out of 5
by Max

Buena relación precio calidad.

Posted Mar 4, 2013 on Hotels
El servicio estuvo bien. Inicialmente llegaría tarde en la noche, pero como no hay recepción 24/7, tuve que llegar más temprano forzando algún cambio de agenda. Salvo ese detalle, el personal fue servicial y amable. Había mucha tranquilidad en el hotel, estaba limpio y tenía buena vista de la bahía. El proceso de check in/out fue rápido. No probé el desayuno.
2 out of 5
by Ron from Sydney, Australia

Valpapraiso Vineyard Inn February 2013

Posted Mar 2, 2013
Pros: None really
Cons: Small room, no tea/coffee facilities, unable to view the TV from the bed and only 1 chair in the room
Location: 10 minutes walk up a steep hill from the commercial area. My wife refused to walk it aftyer the first time.
We booked this hotel because a review we read said that the place was fun in the evening (with the bar open and music playing), but maybe it changed ownership as there was no bar and no fun. The continental breakfast was minimal and limited to a small bowl of fruit and 2 slices of toast. The owner spoke very little English and her assistant none, which would be OK except they never gave us any toilet paper and it was pretty embarrassing to have to mime the action of toilet paper usage in order to get the point understood. Yes, I drew pictures but that didn't work. There are very few restaurants in the locality and they are all closed Sunday, requiring a longish walk down a steep hill and back in order to get something to eat. The room was small and there was only 1 chair and no coffee/tea making facilities and no hot drinks available except in the dining room during breakfast
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 1, 2013 on Hotels