Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton UK

Off The Beaten Track

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Nice quiet hotel off the main routes about an hour by car from Malaga. Set in the mountains North East of Malaga, near small village of La Vinuela. Lovely private pool and lovely grounds. Nice enough restaurant - but perhaps the menu is a little bit pretentious. Lamb Burger with Foie Gras? Also the traditional design of the hotel with a lack of soft furnishing can make it unusually noisy at night. Overall a lovely hotel. The Acid Test - would I go back? Yes, of course.
5 out of 5
by Mary

Amazing relaxing place.

Posted Jun 8, 2017 on Hotels
Out trip to La Vinuela Hotel was fantastic. Amazing relaxing place. Food and service excellent. Staff very helpful. Beautiful grounds, garden and pool area. Surrounding area of la Vinuela also fabulous. Going back in September with family.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2017
Dear Mary, Nice to hear from you! Thank you for your feedback!! we are very pleasant to welcoming you again on september!! best regards!!
4 out of 5
by Marita

Lovely place to get away from it all

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
Check-in was quick and easy and reception staff were friendly. I had booked one single room and one double room, with a request for a double bed. Both rooms had single beds but we could not be bothered to ask reception to change rooms. Rooms were of a good size and nicely decorated. Our terrace had a nice view of the gardens and a sliver of the lake. Gardens and pool area were well maintained. We had room service and they forgot part of our order which turned out OK as we had over-ordered anyway. Food was OK standard. Beds were comfortable and the hotel was quiet at night. Breakfast buffet had a good selection and the hot food items which you ordered were good. We used the spa facility which was very nice but it is not made clear there is an additional cost and it is private for couple's use only so be aware you need to book a time slot and you will be charged. I would recommend this hotel to people who want to be in the country and get away from it all to recharge their batteries.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Hotels
Overall the hotel was really nice, but it was let down in a couple of areas. The room needed a little more attention to cleanliness, especially the minibar. We had requested a lake view, which unfortunately was almost non existent and our room was rather noisy. However, on the positive side we found the food and service in the restaurant was of a very high standard and the prices were surprisingly very reasonable. Also the massage was an absolute joy and highly recommended. In general, there were more positives than negatives.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very comfortable, scenic hotel

Posted Dec 21, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent hotel, and strongly recommended. Terrific rural location with wonderful views, and very accessible to the coast and airport. Some of the furniture/décor is becoming slightly tired, but still the best hotel in the region by a wide margin
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very secluded and restfull

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel overlooking the lake
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
Very relaxing place, lovely views and a great place to get away from it all. Hotel staff friendly. Gardens are beautiful and well cared for. The whole place wa very clean and the food was of a very high standard. Will be going back at some time. Loved it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Does not warrant it's 4 star rating!

Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was OK but it doesn't warrant it's 4 star rating. Toilet paper and soap not replaced unless asked for or it was down to 1 sheet! In one of the rooms the furniture was wobbly and door knobs fell off when you tried to open anything. The hand towels were hanging right next to the toilets. Very unhygienic. The TV was very small and the control was rubbish and you had to keep going up and down forever to get to a channel, and then there was only one music channel and one news channel in English, when considering you're in the middle of nowhere, they should have had excellent TV. The food was not as excellent as some people have suggested. Maybe they have a new chef! The cooked breakfast was awful. Wet soggy poached eggs with a strong vinegar taste. The bacon and German sausage was cheap and disgusting. Stick to the buffet breakfast...much better! A couple of the young girls working there were friendly and polite, but most of them were miserable and unfriendly. It was quite a soulless place and will not return! In the middle of nowhere so you need a car otherwise you will die of boredom!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wales UK

Beautiful grounds, willing staff and beautiful vie

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: nearly everything !
Cons: ... tea making facilities in bedroom .. a bus service that passes the hotel!
Location: you really need a car to explore this beautiful area.We walked everywhere.. lovely little typical spanish villages not touristy!
Relaxing holiday in luxurious surroundings.. loved the deco!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice and relaxing.