Ratings based on 1,303 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham NC

Nearly perfect experience

Posted Sep 23, 2017
We had a huge king bed room with gas fireplace. The room was clean and we'll kept. We enjoyed walking the trail around the pond. We had an excellent pizza served by excellent waiter. During our meal we watched a wedding in the garden. On the 2nd night water leaked through the exhaust fan in our bathroom. We called in the leak and that we had water on the toilet and floor in our bathroom. People were dispatched to the room above. The leak stopped. Stuff happens, but how you react is important. I had set towels and a waste basket to catch the water. After waiting for 20 minutes I called in that no one had been to our room and there was water all over the bathroom. They sent a person who looked, said it was leak, maintenance would be coming. Ten minutes later maintenance arrived and said it was a toilet overflow in the room above and it was fixed. Before he could leave I said someone needs to clean this potential biohazard. After some radio chatter. The maintenance person cleaned up the water and used a bleach smelling cleaner to wash down the bathroom. Excellent job. So we had a nice two night stay with several pleasant memories. At the same time we have the - remember the time the toilet leaked from the room above and we had to convince the hotel to clean it up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Lovely setting Nice restaurants in house Soothing surroundings Charming staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by Stephen , Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for writing a review for the hotel! We are happy to see that you liked the charm and environment of the hotel and grounds. We hope to see you soon. Stephen Milham Revenue Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ashland va

air show 2017

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: pool/fitness/food
Cons: internet use room needed password
Location: meals/shop
nice place and food and staff. hotel was quiet and mostly adults
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by Stephen , Hotel Management
Hello Stuart, Thank you for writing a review for the hotel! We are glad to see that you had a good time while staying with us. We hope to see you soon. Stephen Milham Revenue Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west Virginia

Great hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Accomodated us with a beautiful room that was handicapped accessible. Beautiful grounds and great restaurant
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by Stephen , Hotel Management
Hello Kathy, Thank you for writing a review for the hotel! We are happy to see you liked the grounds and restaurants! We hope to see you soon. Stephen Milham Revenue Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location really nice facility

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Overall enjoyed our stay. Nice facility and enjoyed look of the room. If you have issues with texture then from the sheets to the towels may find unpleasant. Spa was amazing and really enjoyed the grounds.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by Stephen , Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for writing a review for the hotel! We are glad to see that you thought our hotel was nice. We hope to see you soon. Stephen Milham Revenue Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bowie, MD

A hidden gem!

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Since Virginia Beach is a "on the water" beach location, I am sure most people would overlook this Inn and Spa. Once you are here on these beautiful grounds soaking in the endless southern hospitality, you tend to forget the beach is nearby. We love the place, but the people really make it worthwhile.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Stephen , Hotel Management
Hello William, Thank you for writing a review for our hotel! Thank you for the kind words about the hotel and staff. We always like to see that we are doing a good job. We hope we see you in the future. Stephen Milham Revenue Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Lovely hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2017
We were a large party of relatives who came together from various states. The staff bent over backwards to accommodate us. After the dining room closed in the evening, we were set up on the patio with drinks, etc. During the day, the large pool and surrounding area was perfect for our family. Thanks to the staff for all your help!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Stephen , Hotel Management
Hello Suzanne, Thank you for writing a review for our hotel! We are happy to see that your stay with us went well and that you had time to use our facilities. We hope we see you in the future. Stephen Milham Revenue Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Morehead City, NC

Luxurious Hotel and Spa

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Old feel, personable staff
Location: macarthur mall is close by
What a beautiful hotel and wonderfully personable service. I had a handwritten thank you card and a box of macaroons waiting for me when I returned from the mall that evening. The breakfast buffet was great. The wait staff was so wonderful. I would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Stephen , Hotel Management
Hello Jess, Thank you for writing a review for our hotel! We are happy to see that your stay with us went well. I will pass this review on to the rest of the hotel. We hope we see you in the future. Stephen Milham Revenue Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, nc

Beautiful, but...

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Great venue, beautiful and nice location. Fair price. The anniversary amenity was greatly appreciated Only disappointment was that we could only get an hour extension to the checkout without an additional charge. Surprised as our delay was associated with the weekend half marathon on the beach and deprived us of the festivities afterwards. We would come again inspite of this!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Stephen , Hotel Management
Hello Richard, Thank you for writing a review for the hotel! We are happy to see that you thought our hotel was beautiful. We are sorry that a late checkout wasn't possible for you without charge. Housekeeping needs to get into the rooms before the next guests. Stephen Milham Revenue Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arlington, VA

Relaxing

Posted Sep 3, 2017
The hotel staff welcomed us and my dog with smiles, courtesy and a dog-friendly toy. The hotel campus is stunning - boasting a quiet, garden setting, including a colonial, English -style maze garden, pond with fountain, artfully pruned trees, and carefully designed outdoor seating areas. Dogs are welcome to join guests in building 4, which is close to a spacious fenced, dog park, and easy walk to both the spa, and main house (where reception and restaurants are located). Service dogs are welcome in all rooms. The hotel design is a refreshing departure from the tall, gray and tan, corporate stacks that scar Virginia Beach. The buildings feature portraits of the United States' founding fathers, and a nod to what we might expect to have encountered in the mid 18th Century (as envisioned in the 1980s). The beds are very soft. That said, the double queen rooms are spacious, contain mini fridge, cable TV, ample electrical outlets, and USB ports.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Stephen , Hotel Management
Hello Jet, Thank you for writing a review for our hotel! We appreciate your kind words about the hotel and grounds as well as the time you took to write this review! We look forward to serving you again soon. Stephen Milham Revenue Management