Reception

Reviews of Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront

3 out of 5
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
3315 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA

Overall score and ratings

4.2

Very Good

Rating 5 - Excellent. 506 out of 1003 reviews
5 - Excellent 50%
Rating 4 - Good. 302 out of 1003 reviews
4 - Good 30%
Rating 3 - Okay. 105 out of 1003 reviews
3 - Okay 10%
Rating 2 - Poor. 50 out of 1003 reviews
2 - Poor 5%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 40 out of 1003 reviews
1 - Terrible 4%

4.2/5

Cleanliness

4.3/5

Staff & service

4.1/5

Amenities

4.2/5

Property conditions & facilities

4.1/5

Eco-friendliness

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Good
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2022

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family and small children
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
A very disappointing stay at the Oceanfront Hilton Garden Inn at Virginia Beach. We paid top $ for 2 night stay in what was suppose to be a suite. It was more like a filthy, dirty shoebox. Room was not clean, mildew in the shower and on our balcony from a constant water drip from the AC unit. The place looked like it hadn't been dusted in months. Area where the Keurig was set up was a mess with coffee stains and sugar spilled. They had at the nerve at check-in to charge me $100 security deposit on top of the $471 per night stay. The pool with filled with sand from people using it after leaving the beach area. Bathrooms were disgusting and some not functional - missing stall door. Flies everywhere, bathroom and both restaurants in the Hilton. Very unhappy and disgusted by our stay. Beware of the shady people looking for money on the boardwalk at night too! Not one cop to be seen. Never again! Do not recommend.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2022

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Very close to everything! Nice restaurant in hotel. Easy valet parking!
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2022

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Great trip- with lots to explore near the hotel.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2022

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Disliked: Staff & service
The hotel was fine but for $500/night, I expected better service. We called down for towels one afternoon and they never came. Later that evening we called for towels And mouthwash, 20 minutes later they still didn’t come. I called down again and finally the towels came maybe 10 minutes later but no mouthwash. They have water in the lobby with fruit in it but most of the time it was empty. These things are kind of minor but when you’re paying $500 a night, it’s unacceptable. Overall, I guess it was clean, but there was a dead bug on the sink counter. Again, $80 a night….sure but $500 a night, clean the bugs! Also, the chairs and table on the balcony were filthy. Not sure I would stay here again.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2022

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
This is a quite run down property, the pool was very dirty including a Mountain Dew bottle at the bottom Of it. The staff were nice with no issues there but boy I wouldn’t spend 400 bucks a night here EVER again.
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2022

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
It’s clean but the AC is too loud :(
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2022

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
This property was convenient and a great location. The parking garage was easily accessible and the attached restaurant Lager Heads was great. The ocean view room was perfect. The only complaint and it is minor considering it was very hot the days we stayed - the room A/C was very loud but it kept the room very cool.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2022

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The property was well maintained. The rooms were not carpeted which I liked, but you can feel the sand under your feet. Rooms were cleaned by appointment. It took sone time for us to get towels when we asked for them. Breakfast menu was the same each day. Our refrigerator froze just about anything. Beach access was good right out the hotel. The pool was small. I did not use valet parking. This hotel is more north on Atlantic so you will have to take the a cab or trolley to main shopping area. You can also walk.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2022

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Disliked: Staff & service
So much wrong the ac was not working properly no hair dryer the plug was broken. Piles of dirty laundry outsidemy door too much else to say. Just dont go
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2022

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Just above Neptune Park, close to live music, plenty of restaurants and Ocean front. Everything was very nice. Only complaint was air conditioner in room was extremely loud. Thank goodness it doesn't run as much at night when we were in the room.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2022

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
The area is nice and overall property in good condition. I did think the pool area needed refurbished
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2022

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
We enjoyed staying here. They gave great free coffee in the morning and ice water through the day which is really appreciated after being on the beach. The front desk would go out of their way to help which I really appreciated. I also liked how the parking was in a parking garage to keep the car cooler.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2022

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2022

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Parking is charged per day no matter if you self park or valet. Rooms cleaned upon request only but requests contented without issue. All staff encountered were extremely friendly and helpful
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2022

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family and small children
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The staff did not take care of our needs. We had an ant infestation and brought it to the hotel’s attention and nothing was done to remove the ants. We also requested our room be cleaned and it was not. We had to take a cold shower a couple of times and we didn’t receive enough towels. Our overall experience was not great. We will not book with this hotel ever again!
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2022

3/5 Okay

Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
Unfortunately there was very little value added for the price. I will try a different location next time
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2022

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Everything was clean and staff very pleasant. We enjoyed our stay.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2022

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Proximity to the beach was pretty good.
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2022

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Thank you Hilton for the good time. We are really appreciate your service. We will back for sure
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2022

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The hotel is situated right along the beach (2 minutes walk). Upon checking in we had to wait about 30 or so minutes in the hotel lobby because the room wasn’t ready. However, once checked in we were given a free breakfast coupon for 2. The 10th floor room had an ocean view that was just breathtaking especially at sunrise the next morning. Over all stay is a 5*. We are planning to return.
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2022

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family and small children, Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Great beach access! Nice and clean boardwalk.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2022

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Nice hotel with beautiful landscape!
Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2022

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The staff was very helpful!
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2022

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family and small children
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Great suite with both ocean view and city view !
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2022

4/5 Good

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Parking was the problem!
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2022

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
The hotel's public areas were beautiful. The room was okay but nothing too special for the price.
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2022

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family and small children
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
We enjoyed having the option of the indoor and outdoor pool in addition to the ocean. Our room view was excellent. We loved the patio at Lager Heads
Stayed 6 nights in Jun 2022

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Na
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2022

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family and small children, Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Loved, will gladly stay again!
Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2022

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stained sheets and bed covers...unaceptable.
Stayed 3 nights in May 2022

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Fromt desk, engineering, housekeeping all went above and beyond. Room was very comfortable . Attached restaurant needs to have doors to stop the smell of fried fish from overwhelming the loby
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2022

4/5 Good

Traveled with family and small children
Liked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
I am a yearly visitor to Virginia Beach for our family vacation, generally staying in a 3400 block oceanfront. I am aware of the pricing for most goods and services is astronomical. I paid $670/n for my room to accommodate 6 total guests. At check out I received an additional bill of $120 a night. Knowing I was paying such a large sum for my room my expectations were high & all of my needs were met. I found the staff to be willing during the length of the stay. Unfortunately after checking out and driving two hours we recognized leaving a infant blanket behind. Clearly recognizing that it was in the bed linen and didn’t make it into the suitcase we immediately called. We were put on hold, we were transferred to a voicemail in housekeeping. I called again was put on hold again. I asked to speak with a supervisor who checked the room and didn’t find anything. I asked if linen could be checked. I was told I would receive a phone call back. I did not. I called again the same evening and was met on the phone with a gracious staff member who said he would check himself. He did not, he did not return my phone call. I called again today and was sent to voicemail. I called back and was told that the room had already been checked once yesterday and that the item was lost. Unfortunately when you spend over $3000 just on the room, not including dining on property which was at least another $600- I expect effort or sympathy for a precious item. Lost my business.
Stayed 3 nights in May 2022

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Loved evwrything. Family friendly
Stayed 2 nights in May 2022

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Had a issue with early check in… property and stuff very nice though. I will stay again
Stayed 2 nights in May 2022

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities
What i wouldn't like about the property is its parking location. The hotel was built without considering parking location to its guests.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2022

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
The location was good. We had to pay extra for parking which was NOT on site. We left a power cord in the room. We contact the hotel FIVE (5) times and they NEVER called back. The bedding was old and poor quality. The shower curtain was torn and had several holes in it. There were no services. We had to call for garbage pick-up
Stayed 4 nights in May 2022

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner, Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Great
Stayed 2 nights in May 2022

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family
Liked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
Disliked: Cleanliness
I liked the location but the cleanliness and price for the room was a bit much. I made the mistake of getting the room with a non-refundable option, again my mistake. After seeing the room we wouldn't have stayed there, well in that room that was given. The room was an oversized suite, not over sized for pleasure to us, solely for being a handicap room. The cleanliness of the room however was bad. There was mold all throughout the shower that was just an eyesore. There were no other rooms available and so we had to make due.
Stayed 1 night in May 2022

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
booked bc it was "dog friendly" but it was not. no where for dogs to go to the bathroom, put us by the elevator with consistent noise and then complained when the dogs barked
Stayed 2 nights in May 2022

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
we liked staying right on the beach, we stayed on the 3rd floor room 301 directly above the nightly musical street entertainment. luckily, the music did not go past midnight. the a/c did not work the first night, they had an event on the 3rd floor terrace on saturday prior to our check in on sunday , and had to disconnect our rooms a/c to have 208 volts for the events entertainment. it never got wired back properly after the event . It got wired back together on monday. the navy jet airplanes were frequently flying out bound overhead. next time, I would prefer staying farther south on the beach. otherwise, we had a good time at the beach.
Stayed 6 nights in May 2022

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Great staff, extrely helpful and accomodating
Stayed 3 nights in May 2022

3/5 Okay

Liked: Property conditions & facilities
Hotel was clean. Good location. However did not like being on same floor with sun deck outside our room. They refused to give us any higher a floor. Room safe broke. It’s an ok hotel but probably wouldn’t come back :/.
Stayed 1 night in May 2022

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
We enjoyed our oversize room view. We had two ocean views from the front view and the side view. We saw the sunrise and sunset from our rooms. The room was clean and staff was polite and professional. We will book again with Hilton Garden Inn.
Stayed 4 nights in May 2022

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 3 nights in May 2022

1/5 Terrible

Stayed 2 nights in May 2022

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Enjoyed our stay. The location served us well as we were attending a wedding just down the street another hotel.
Stayed 1 night in May 2022

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Room was spacious and quiet
Stayed 2 nights in May 2022

4/5 Good

Business traveler, Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
I love this hotel and stay here once a year at least. It's clean, modern, has a nice restaurant/bar attached and all the rooms face the ocean. On my last visit there was no hot water in the morning, but I assume that was a fluke, because it's never happened before.
Stayed 1 night in May 2022

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in May 2022