Ratings based on 477 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
35% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2017
The hotel was close to my destination. It was a quiet area and easy to train elections to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Nice Hotel for Price

Posted Aug 11, 2017
I paid for a room with a kitchen and two double beds in it. I ended up getting a corner room which was incredible because of the space available. The kitchen seemed to be very outdated but it all worked just as it should. Some of the outlets in the room didn't work and the tv didn't seem to work, but I had my laptop which gave me quick and easy access to entertainment and more charming outlets. The wifi worked tremendously! The staff was very sweet and kind. Little Creek base is right in front of the hotel so if you are military it is nice. It is also located near military housing so the neighboorhood surrounding it didn't seem to be too bad. The room was $54 a night and I stayed five nights with my husband when he was not working. It's about 20 minutes from Norfolk Naval Base. I walked to the laundry mat about a mile up the road which is also in the heart of a store center that has an Aldi, Doller Tree, Dollar General, Subway, Little Ceasers, Dublin Doughnuts, and more. I thought we did really good for the price and time we spent here.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Dirty Digs

Posted Aug 11, 2017
The room was filthy, I had to clean hair out of tub drains. I arrived late at night, otherwise I would have left immediately. There were guys hanging out in the parking lot smoking and drinking. The bathroom has a hole in the wall behind the door and the toilet was loose to the touch. Absolute slummy.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

worse howard johnsons I ever stayed at.

Posted Aug 8, 2017
the room was dirty. items from the previous customers were in the room and in the refrigerator. stayed there 3 nights and room was never cleaned! towels and wash cloths that we had to keep requesting since our room never got cleaned were stained and the bed covers were stained.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Hotel was dirty. Everything there was dirty. Staff was super nice, tho.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Nice hotel close to the beach and affordable!

Posted Jul 23, 2017
The room was nice. Perfect size for 5 and my Chihuahua. The staff was excellent. Stayed 5 nights with no problem or complaint. Will definitely go back next year!! From Ohio to Virginia will go again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from cracktown

good room good price

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: big room
Cons: throw rose pedals at my feet. Wipe my butt for me
Location: all the stores
good large clean room good price free breakfast what more can you ask
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2017
It wasn't a pleasant stay. We had bugs I'm our room and we had problems with the toilet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable. For the time we where there

Posted Jul 17, 2017
It was clean. And great location if you are in town to visit navel friends or just want off the beaten path.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2017
We had to use this hotel as a last minute resort due to a death in the family. You get what you pay for.