Ratings based on 1,178 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Room was awesome. Overnight clerk not so much.

Posted Sep 18, 2017
The room was awesome. The place looks dated but the room made it look better. We had the jacuzzi room with the ocean view. Walk outside to the beach and fishing pier. Parking was an issue. My boyfriend and I both work in the hospitality industry so he could not come until 3:30am on a Friday. Thursday during my check-in I was told there is no room for a second car and that my guest would have to park in a lot a couple blocks away yet the lot will be closed but to ask the front desk clerk Friday morning when he came in for help. The clerk was rude and sarcastic more than once and it made me want to avoid him at all costs let alone I was half asleep and needed help. The end result we had to pay $20 a day for a second car to park a couple of blocks away and you can pull in late at night but no one is on duty until normal working hours. There is an empty lot across from the hotel in which we were told we would get towed for parking in there if we were not out by 8am but majority of the stay that lot was empty and I am not too sure why the hotel can not use it, who owns it or anything. We were told the parking lot on 9th street was $10 a day but it is not a 24 hr period, so at 5am it restarts. Just wish we were aware of this and wish the early am clerk would have handled it more politely. Catch flies with honey! Otherwise the stay was great, room was awesome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

Room with a great view of the ocean

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Location by the beach and large room.
Cons: Brighter light over the table.
Location: Right by the boardwalk and near some great restaurants. Not far from the Coastal rescue museum and the Aquarium.
We had a very pleasant experience. The room was large and had all that was needed for an efficiency kitchen. It had a great view of the ocean and it was right by the boardwalk. It was great that we could watch surfers from our room and the beach was very close.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Very nice close to places to eat shop and great to walk
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hartford, Connecticut

It was a decent hotel for the price

Posted Sep 16, 2017
It was pretty decent for price , close to stores, restaurants and shops
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: I was able to watch the boats come into the Marina and it was within walking distance to one of my favorite places to eat.
All hotel personnel were very accommodating and helpful. I would definitely stay at the hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great view of beach

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Location: great restaurants
fabulous area and hotel fits in with old deco. reminds me of the 50s
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from silver spring, Maryland

Posted Aug 29, 2017
My fiancee and I loved the hotel, the room was clean, very quiet, the parking excellent, we could see our car from our room, very convenient, the price was worth it, excellent service, the schooner inn we'll be back next year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Location perfect.

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: Location and view.
Cons: Some updating would improve. Have more coffee available in the room.
The location and views can't be beat. It was directly ocean front with a gorgeous view. The receptionist reserved a room on a high floor for an even better view. Appreciated the fridge and tho I only stayed one night it would be great for a week's stay. The hotel a bit old and old fashioned but in a kind of charming, kitchsy way. It had a jetted tub next to the window which at first struck me as odd. But I must say enjoyed by tub with the lovely view. Not modern or fancy but a great bargain for those who want to be right on the ocean in a quieter part of the boardwalk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manassas, VA

Nice location, beachfront, parking easy

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: larger desk in room for working
Location: Tons of thing - beach, boardwalk, science museum
Had never stayed at this hotel before - good for location and families near end of boardwalk...great for walks on boardwalk and play area on end. Hot-tub nice added feature.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

View of the Ocean!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Incredible place to stay! Great views, perfect beach, great room!
Cons: Ice on the 5th floor.
Location: USS Wisconsin in Norfolk!
Incredible place to stay! Great views, perfect beach, great room!