Ratings based on 497 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Grandson birthday week

Posted Sep 23, 2017
It is a great setup of children as well as adults.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 24, 2017 by Joan, Hotel Management
Hi Tom, Thank you for your feedback on our resort. Our goal is that our guest achieve 100% satisfaction with us. Let us know if there is anything we can do to ensure your next stay with us is equally good. Looking forward to welcoming you back at Turtle Cay Resort Regards, Joan
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Hotel staff was not very informative....had activities for kids, but never told you how long they lasted and frequently missed them, did not provide change in linens during stay....many of the bathroom floor tiles were loose and moved, missing grout between many of them.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by Joan, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. We are sorry that your experience was not a totally satisfying one. We have noted your concerns and wish that we could have addressed them while you were here with us. Please let us know when you are coming back and we will ensure that your vacation experience is better. Again Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Turtle Cay Best regards, Joan
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pittsburgh pa

Hotel service

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Called about 5 mon before stay to have rm close to elevator. Rm prior to change was farthest away. New rm curtains were filthy. They never cleaned rm and only gave new towels one time in 5days. Do not let in rm till 4 pm and out by 10. Knocking on door at 8:30 am Day leaving to clean rm. Large bugs on porch at night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2017 by Joan, Hotel Management
Good morning Jeffrey, Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. I do apologize for the experience with dirty curtains and our over zealous team members knocking on your doors early. Turtle Cay prides itself in being a home away from home, providing all the amenities and comfort of home. We do provide a complimentary service for anyone staying over 7 nights and we will gladly bring towels and other amenities to be exchange upon request. Also a quick call to us will always give you all the answers to any question you may have. Please let us know when you will be coming back and we will work to ensure that your stay with us is good. We are looking forward to welcome you back to Turtle Cay Resort. Warmest regards Joan
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

very nice hotel, close to the beach

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: excellent room fully equipped, nice pools and hot water tubes.
Cons: internet sometimes did not work.
Location: excellent location, close to the beach and restaurants
I had very good time and would like to go there again. Very nice looking resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Joan, Hotel Management
Hello Maciej, Thank you fro your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are aware of the WiFi issues and you will be happy to know that it is a priority fro us to address. Let us know if we can do anything for you when you visit next. Looking forward to welcome you to Turtle Cay! Regards, Joan
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, pools great for kids

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Nice pools for kids.
Cons: Housekeeping more than every 5 days
This hotel is a pretty good one. The 1 major negative is that they now only do housekeeping once every 5 days. This must be a new policy, as it was not that way in the past.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by Joan, Hotel Management
Good morning, Thank you for giving us your feedback on your stay with us. We are happy that you did enjoy your stay. We have noted that you would have preferred to have housekeeping services. Unfortunately we do not provide that service presently. We at Turtle Cay Resort have provided a home away from home with all the amenities, full kitchen and washers and dryers so that all your needs can be met. We hope all was convenient. In the event that our owners and guest require more service we do have full housekeeping services available for a small fee. Please let me know when you returning to Turtle Cay Resort and I will definite ensure that you do have a great vacation. Thanks again for your feedback and hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Joan
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fair Lawn NJ

Just a motel for stay for 1 night

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: lower start rating to 1
Location: you have a beach 1 block away and you have plenty good restaurants if you have yelp and car. Do not eat closer than 2 miles to the beach
The only positive part of my review can be: room was very spacious, Nothing else can be rated good enough. First of all - do not expect that this is a 3 start hotel. It is a 2 star motel. 1. No room service. Do not expect towels to be changed ( in the resort when you use them several times a day) 2. No restaurant - find place to eat in the morning on your own 3. Small parking - I was offered on Sunday night to park my car on the far away parking because they do not have space. Of course far away parking has no security. 4. Bedroom door leads to the motel lobby that is open to the street. SO you here wind blowing and car horns all the night. 5. Staff is .. none. They are not rude, they do not exist, they are neutral. They do not try to resolve your problem, they just tell you what you need to do ( on your own) 6. For $1100 for 3 nights for Labor day weekend 7. And last - Wireless internet - 3 access hubs, but .. I had to work Sunday night, I was kicked off my vpn connection every 10 minutes during 8 hours. So no comments here ( motel advertised high speed Internet access)
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2017 by Joan, Hotel Management
Hello Oleg, Thank you for your feedback on your stay at our resort. We are extremely sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay with us. We have noted the many areas of concern and these are being addressed. Some items cannot be changed in the near future, eg not having a restaurant, but the areas that we can fix we have already addressed. We have a lot of areas to improve with our property but must admit that we don't normally have comments on rude staff. I have personally spoken to our team on ensuring that each guest is receiving first class service. There are things we cannot fix but we are working on the areas we can. Again thank you for your feed back and let us know when you are coming back to visit and we will try to ensure that your stay is better. Thank you again for your feedback and have a great evening Best regards, Joan
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Close to beach

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Very old needs updating. Mold in shower and sofa bed awful
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2017 by Joan, Hotel Management
Good evening, Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. I am sorry that your stay with us was not what you or I expected. We are working assiduously on our property to update as soon as possible. We do want our property to be the best for our guest. Comments like yours will help us to focus on the areas know that our guest are affected by and help prioritize how we address. Again Thank you for your feedback. Let us know when you are returning and what we can do to ensure you do have a great stay. Best regards, Joan We are aware that we need
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Great place! The suites are large and clean. The pool area is really nice. A lot if activities on the resort
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Joan, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed our resort. Our goal is to continue to work so that our guest have a great vacation. Looking forward to welcoming you back up Turtle Cay. Let us know if there is anything we can go to ensure you enjoy your next visit with us. Best regards Joan
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Great location!!

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Great resort with all the amenities that you could ask for. Located across the street from the beach and plenty of restaurants and shopping within walking distance. Looking forward to staying here in the future!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by Joan, Hotel Management
Hi Tammy, Thank you for your feedback. I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will come back to visit soon. Let us know if there is anything we can do for you for your next visit. See you soon. Regards, Joan
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful place to stay

Posted Aug 20, 2017
We stay four nights it was a wonderful stay. We so close to places to eat, shop and the beach. We were in the quite side
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Joan, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you home again to Turtle Cay. Let us know if there is anything we can do to further improve your stay with us. Regards, Joan