Ratings based on 996 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sleepless Night

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Pros: Location was closed to Rt 13 and there were good restaurants within walking distance. Staff was pleasant and friendly.
Cons: Hotel needs some renovations.
Location: Located on the bay. Hot Tuna is a nice restaurant across the street. . Citrus is an excellent breakfast and lunch venue only a short walk or drive.
We arrived at the Virginia Beach Resort Hotel on one of the coldest nights of the year. The staff on duty was extremely helpful and pleasant. She even called us after we checked in to see if the room was okay. The suite was clean but worn and basic. We had a partial bay view which was awesome, and we enjoyed a beautiful sunset. What was disappointing was the generator that was located next to my head as I was trying the sleep. Due to the cold weather, it was running constantly which kept me awake most of the night. I'm not sure if the generators are located in each room or if this room was assigned to us because we were Expedia customers. We were happy to be warm but missed a few hours of sleep in the process.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent stay here in Virginia Beach. It's wonderful that you took advantage of our great location and enjoyed the stunning bay front views. It is however, disappointing to see that you didn't have a relaxing visit and your rest was disrupted. Please accept our apology for any inconvenience and know we'll be researching your feedback and try to prevent this in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Winter Stay at Virgina Beach

Posted Dec 29, 2017
Pros: Convenient location - plenty of parking for our Winter stay.
Location: Some great breakfast/brunch restaurants and restaurants in general are nearby.
Pleasant stay, convenient location, terrific view of the Bay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2017 by Stacey, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review! We hope you will be back soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs

Aging property that has not been well kept.

Posted Dec 20, 2017
The facility is aging and common areas appeared to be dirty. My room was not bad, but a cigarette burn on the bathtub and such just made it appear less than I had expected.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback, Denny, and for choosing our hotel for your stay while here in Virginia Beach. We do apologize for any inconvenience you experienced while visiting with us but hope you did find value in the stunning views of Chesapeake Bay from your private balcony, our complimentary WiFi access and heated indoor swimming pool for your convenience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Great location and view of the Chesapeake Bay

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: This hotel is located in a prime location on the Chesapeake Bay near great restaurants and with beautiful views of the bay. Easy access parking too.
Cons: This hotel needs a complete renovation and a restaurant revamp that will honor this prime oceanfront property.
Location: Great restaurants nearby: One Fish, Two Fish for fine dining; Chick's, Hot Tuna, and Buoy 44 for casual dining.You can charter boats at nearby marinas
This used to be a beautiful resort center and excellent restaurant 30 years ago, however, they have not maintained it well at all. It's such a prime piece of property, but they are not doing it justice by letting it get so run down and completely outdated. Expect funky smells from old carpets and draperies. Expect updated appliances, some not working. The restaurant is horrible now, bad food, bad menu, no available wine list, and many menu items were not available. There are "out of order" signs everywhere and hallways are cluttered--especially the hallway to the restaurant. There were people attending conferences and staying there even on the off season, but the entire facility had the feel of being closed and neglected. The staff was apologetic and they did their best to accommodate my requests, but it was obvious they did not have much to work with or support behind them. Owners and management should be ashamed they let this once beautiful place go to near ruins.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for again choosing the Virginia Beach Resort Hotel and Conference Center in your travel plans. We are sorry to see that your stay did not go as smoothly as you had anticipated. While are hotel is a bit older, we do our best to maintain high quality standards and deliver good customer service to all of our guests. Your comments will be shared with our supervisors so that your feedback is addressed. Hopefully, you were able to catch a beautiful Chesapeake Bay sunset and enjoyed the rest of your time in the Virginia Beach area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Crest Hill, IL

Pretty dirty.

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Pros: Location for my needs and cost.
Cons: Deep clean more than the lobby.
Location: Easy access to great neck area.
Got a great deal on this hotel through Expedia, but sorry to say "you get what you pay for". This place was really pretty dirty. Not just the wear and tear which was bad enough, but there probably hadn't been a wet mop on the floors in a year. I'm thinking that owners/management aren't giving employees enough time, or money to clean the place properly. It obviously hasn't had a maintenance budget in a while as well. On the other hand, the employees were really great. Nothing was a problem with them and they all were very helpful with anything I asked about.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, Sam. Our guests’ comments are important to us as we always strive to make their stays as relaxing and comfortable as possible. We are sorry if your experience with us was not as you expected, and please know that we will research your comments with our team. Hopefully, you were still able to enjoy a stroll along our semi-private, Bay-front beach and some of our many local attractions. Thank you again for your comments and for including us in you Virginia Beach travel plans.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Cons: location and convenience
Location: several excellent restaurants are within walking distance and the Virginia beach boardwalk is a 5 min. drive.
It was off-season so I received a very good rate for this very nice hotel. room was top notch staff was outstanding and the location is close to everything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Your perfect score is truly appreciated. We will certainly pass your kind comments along to our hardworking team as they will be glad to know you enjoyed your stay. Our convenient location by the Chesapeake Bay, local restaurants, and attractions such as the nearby boardwalk and First Landing State Park is a favorite among our guests. It’s great to know that you were able to take advantage of it all. Thank you again for your review and we hope you come visit us again the next time you’re in Virginia Beach.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Disappointment

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Pros: The staff was pleasant. The food at the restaurant was good.
Cons: The cleanliness of the hotel, the décor and appliances in the room and lobby. The décor was very outdated.
Location: We were there to visit friends so I was not concerned about sightseeing.
We chose this hotel because it was close to our friends' house. I requested handicap accessible bathrooms. The first room was not accessible. Our second room was filthy. There was a receipt from the previous guest on the bed. Trash had not been removed. There were dirty cups. The sheets on the bed had not been changed. I had to take our luggage to rooms one and two. I complained, and was given the keys to a third room and told I could inspect it first, and someone would move our luggage. The keys did not work for the third room. I was so angry, I let out a spew of expletives and happened to meet the manager of the hotel. The third room was cleaner, except for the dead stinkbug in the kitchen area, and no trashcans in the bathroom. I asked the next day for a trash can in the bathroom, but it never arrived. But the bathroom was accessible. The carpets in all three rooms had seen better days, but at least the last room was the cleanest. The hotel needs a serious renovation. The manager gave us a certificate for dinner at the hotel's restaurant. The food and service were good. Since it was November, I was not concerned about the view from the hotel. You could see the water if you stood a certain way on the balcony. Overall, I was very disappointed. I do think we should have gotten our money back for one night, as we stayed two nights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, Pam. As we regularly review guests’ comments, we appreciate knowing where we can improve. We do apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced with your room, but are glad to hear that our excellent staff was able to help you. Hopefully, you enjoyed the beautiful view of the Chesapeake Bay while enjoying your delicious meal at Tradewinds. Thank you again and we hope you enjoyed your time in Virginia Beach.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2017
It was very ok. Nothing to write home about. One issue was that the "bay view" room wasn't actually viewing the bay it was viewing the parking lot. The frontdesk receptionist said we had bought a "partial bay view" room even though on Expedia it seemed pretty clear to be squarely facing the bay. She bumped us up a few floors to see an actual partial bay view but still not what the pictures advertised here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Our staff does try to accommodate our guests with the room assignment they confirmed through their reservations with third party booking sites and are sorry if you anticipated different accommodations. We do hope you were still able to enjoy our semi-private beach and a delicious meal at our Tradewinds restaurant. Thank you again and we hope you enjoyed your time in Virginia Beach.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington

It's right on the beach, but that's about it.

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: The room price.
Cons: The whole place needs updating.
I had had decent expectations about this place and got a pretty good rate with Expedia. However, the rooms at very outdated, with carpet stains everywhere. I have no doubt this property and all of its rooms have seen many great parties...and it shows. The staff was very accommodating, but I won't be staying there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback however we are disappointed to see that your visit was not what you anticipated. We are happy that you enjoyed our private beach on the Chesapeake Bay and that our gracious staff saw to your needs. We do apologize for any inconvenience you experienced and will discuss your feedback with our team.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Wrong room when we arrived. Sent us to a room that was still being cleaned. Argued about my reservation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Your feedback is so important to us. Please accept our apology for any confusion or inconvenience when arriving to our resort recently. We strive to deliver exceptional service and have our guests have a stress-free vacation on the beach. We are sorry that your room assignment wasn’t correct during check-in but do hope the rest of your visit was enjoyable. We experience beautiful sunsets over Chesapeake Bay almost each evening and we hope you were able to witness this from your own private balcony or during a walk along the beach.