Ratings based on 1,451 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Front desk attendant Donna was very rude.

Posted Apr 18, 2018
I called to verify that we could check in early and was told that we could show up at any time. Fifteen min later we arrived and Donna told me check in was at 3, after explaining how I called ahead I was able to check in... (This js never an issue anywhere I travel especially when the hotel is nearly empty for the off season). Donna called 6 min after 11am checkout and was very rude and told us to vacate the room. I was appalled and realized the hotel was not booked for the next night so I was very confused as to the rush. Donna was rude and actually called the police when I indicated i needed a receipt and refused to leave until one was provided. She refused to contact a manager or supervisor when requested. Expedia ended up providing me with a credit but this was the absolutely worse experience. Will NEVER stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virgina Beach

Amazing

Posted Apr 3, 2018
Boy friend and I stayed for 5 nights. It was amazing. Staff was so kind. Breakfast was impressive for a continental. It was just really pleasant stay for us. We'll definitely be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2018
Its ok but the bathroom had head cracks in the ceiling by the bathroom it had Cracks by the tub I mean it wasn't a brand new tub but it was okay they should have had trays to carry the breakfast back to the room bigger trash cans but I mean the rooms okay the breakfast was good and whenever you park in the back they need to have the hotel the hotel Key commission working I will stay there again but I really would be on the lower level in the front.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 1, 2018
First off, the staff were nice and accommodating, but the facilities appear to have had a hard life. Everything is worn and repairs in the room we stayed were done poorly. The grounds were not kept up and there was trash everywhere. I have stayed at other Wingate hotels and this one does not come close to meeting the standards at others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Greeted warmly

Posted Apr 1, 2018
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: Stock breakfast items more timely
Location: Lots to do in Virginia Beach.
Despite being very busy, all the staff at this hotel was very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 28, 2018
Friendly staff and a clean room!! Close to the mall and beach!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk airport

Reasonable rates great hotel staff

Posted Mar 28, 2018
This hotel has a super friendly and helpful staff. It is reasonably clean and a great price for the value. Nice breakfast with strong drinkable coffee, hot and cold items. My first room didn’t have hot water, but they quickly rectified that by moving us to another room. I would stay here again. Close to the airport.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dangerous condition

Posted Mar 22, 2018
I arrived at midnight and was given a room on the first floor with a window that could not be locked. The front desk was surprised and offered me a room on the fourth floor. As i approached the new room, the wood on the door had been dug out right by the lock as if someone tried to break in. In addition to security issues, the curtains were grossly stained and the sink was missing a faucet. Due to the late hour, I locked the door and spent the night but check out the next morning, two days early. This property is not safe is not being maintained.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

Quaint

Posted Mar 16, 2018
Quick weekday getaway; nice size room and quiet Access to interstate and eateries in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 9, 2018
Rude staff . Won’t be going back . Spent too much for the conditions and raise staff