Ratings based on 308 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Charles

Bad Choice in Visby

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Hotels
Travel guides love this hotel because of things like the bar being in a medieval chapel, but the guestrooms have little to recommend them. They are tiny and cluttered with excess furniture - we had two armoires, one that held the minibar and one that held the safe. We also had two chairs, two night tables, a desk and a table - all in a room that was barely big enough for two twin beds. Hotels.com should not allow this hotel to claim it has air conditioning - the A/C cools only to about 78 degrees; when it was 75 degrees out the vent blew hot air. (When I called the desk to ask about it, I got this response: "It's not like when you stay in Greece.") Also, hotels.com should not allow this hotel to advertise that it has a pool without disclosing that pool use costs 95 kroner, about $12 per person, after 10 a.m. The lack of real air conditioning means you have to sleep with open windows, which means you have street noise late into the night and bright light early in the morning. The breakfast area is cramped and crowded, wait staff left dirty dishes on tables long after guests had left, and the breakfast buffet was unimaginative. The cleaning staff was no more attentive - the maid didn't get to our room until 3:30, when we were trying to rest up between a day out and going out to dinner. The wifi network was the worst of any hotel I've stayed in anywhere in the world.The bathtub was not fixed to the floor, so if you stood at either end, it would tilt and throw you off balance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great overall but small room

Posted Aug 23, 2017
We had a great stay for one night, staff are very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was quite good as well. The only thing I would complain about is the small room size. We booked 4 double rooms together but our room is particularly smaller than others which makes me wonder. I would recommend this place if you stay in Gotland, it's absolutely central in Visby.
5 out of 5
by Jason

Excellent Stay

Posted Aug 15, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent stay - enjoyed the spa and breakfast. Close to all the attractions at Visby.
3 out of 5
by Oscar

Disappointing

Posted Aug 7, 2017 on Hotels
Staid in room 119, which was pretty tired and worn, and also a bit dirty. The latter was quickly resolved after complaining at reception. The room was also very warm, despite moderate temperature outdoors.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlottesville, VA

Perfect location, great value

Posted Jul 7, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: My favorite part was the view. The near midnight sunsets over the water were pretty magical looking. And the location couldn't be beat.
Cons: It is a long haul from the lobby to the end where our rooms were. There are other doors to the outside, but we could never get them to open for us.
Location: The old city walls and dozen of church ruins are incredibly picturesque. You could spend several days just happily wandering the streets.
Located in the old town with an easy walk to everywhere. Our rooms had fantastic views of the sea with wonderful 11 PM sunsets right out our windows. The hotel is big so it is a walk from one end to the other, but there are multiple elevators and two breakfast areas so it was definitely manageable. They had no "hotel parking" to offer, but we were able to park for free on the street right outside the old town walls so it was not a problem. If you come by ferry it is an easy walk from the harbor. It is located in the "old town", but in a quiet section and we had absolutely no problem with noise even with the windows open all night.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Clemente

A great hotel, must stay!

Posted Oct 5, 2016
While the rooms are very small, this hotel is a slice of history located in one of the most interesting places I've ever traveled, Gotland. The hotel also has a spa area like none I've ever seen. The lounge and bar area is also very beutiful with a glass atrium style ceiling. Another thing worth pointing out is the the food is good, particularly the breakfast. If you can, stay here!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Amazing location. Close to restaurants.

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Everything. Spa too
Cons: Nothing
We were there for Medieval Week,,,unknowingly and it was fabulous. Bar and restaurant top notch and staff over the top friendly.
5 out of 5
by Karen from Lund

Gem of a hotel in a incredible town.

Posted May 10, 2016 on Hotels
The staff were welcoming and friendly throughout our weekend, we had a nightcap in the incredible lounge 2 evenings, staff was knowledgeable and hospitable. Breakfast buffet had everything you could ask for. One very small complaint, the bed was quite hard, and pillows thin. Otherwise, a perfect experience.