Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Veselina

Allow yourself more time when you visit this place

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels
​Valentina's place was as if out of a fairytale. Her villa retains an authentic feel of a past time, from the outside to the inside - whether that be the grandiose bed or the wonderful, vintage china. Absolutely magical! We were given the warmest welcome and lots of advice on what to visit in the area as soon as we arrived. Valentina was absolutely brilliant. The villa is next to vast fields, but also a short drive to the centre - the perfect balance. The wifi was strong, breakfast had all the basics you need and we didn't feel like there was anything missing in our stay. Viterbo was the perfect place to relax for a few nights. Would highly recommend!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely stay

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
We were the only guests for a full 3 days and it felt like our own home for those 3 days. Want to thank Valentina for the great hospitality and we will definitely be back at villa farinella if we are touring the region.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The perfect place to stay in Viterbo.

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Near the centre, but a rural, very elegant setting.
4 out of 5
by James

Enjoyable Stay in Comfortable Villa

Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
We had an enjoyable stay at Villa Farinelli and we were well looked after by our hostess, Valentina. The apartment was very spacious and comfortable.
5 out of 5
by Arthur from Toronto

A step back in history

Posted Oct 13, 2015 on Hotels
This was our last hotel after 21 days. We stayed at some great places but this was truly unique. This is a preserved Villa from at least the early 1930's held within the same family. We had a beautiful room on their 5.5 acre gated very private compound with olive and chestnut trees. The furniture, pictures, and beautiful detailed ceilings are all original. Looking through an original house ledger from the 1930s was revealing. Christina, the wife of the original owner's grandson, makes the breakfast with home made bread. There is an amazing local bakery nearby, less than 500 meters away, packed by locals with good reason. Their foccacia was the best we had in Italy and the best since I was raised in a totally Italian neighbourhood as a kid as was their biscotti and hazelnut cookies. Viterbo is nearby but Villa Farinella is the real attraction here. It deserves more than 5 stars.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2015 by Valentina, Hotel Management
The best text we never received! Thank you very much! Can you write something similar on tripadvisor to?? Thanks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny

Historic villa

Posted Jul 16, 2015
This was a fabulous place, highly recommended. One would not be disappointed with the location, (car required), the premises are secluded and tranquil, the overall amenities and access to communal spaces was palatial and the very pleasant hostess Valentina was helpful, cheerful and kind. The only criticism was that the wifi was not working when we visited (a temporary problem I'm sure) and there is no AC, (fan only.) Despite the heat wave when we visited, once we opened the windows, there was a pleasant breeze in the morning that filled the rooms with relief from the stifling heat outside. Otherwise this b+b receives high marks, a hidden gem among places to stay and the price is reasonable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2015 by Maurizio, Hotel Management
Dear, thanks for your text. Finally we change our Service and now we have internet very fast (25Mb). For the AC is a choice: we have an historical house, we want to preserve original style. Thanks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely old villa just outside Viterbo

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Country location, exceptional hospitality, charm of a centuries' old villa/farmhouse.
Location: Viterbo is an underrated destination. Charming walled city, Etruscan museum and sites, the exceptional Villa Lante gardens, & Centro Botanico Moutan.
The Villa Farinella was delightful. Valentina, the owner, went out of her way to coordinate with our arrival and provided excellent advice on local restaurants and sites. The public rooms have the personal touch of an old family home and our bedroom was both elegant and cozy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2014 by Valentina, Hotel Management
Thank you so much, we really appreciate your text. See you next time Valentina
5 out of 5
by Robin Whitten from Portland, Maine

A chance to step back in time

Posted Oct 3, 2013 on Hotels
Staying at Villa Farinella is a unique chance to drop into the romantic life of Italy's elegant country villas. Beautifully restored, or preserved with furnishings and details of the original family from the mid 20th century--in perfect condition, but with modern bath & bedding comforts. Views and grounds are lovely with gardens, olive groves, and a pool. Very near the stunning gardens of Villa Lante, and easy access to Viterbo, or other nearby towns. Hosts are welcoming, gracious and helpful. Lovely in all respects.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Susan & Robert from Aurora, Ontario

Would love to visit again ...

Posted May 3, 2013
Location: Great location for making day trips, lots to see in area
This historic villa is beautifully maintained as a family operation. Maurizio and his wife are gracious and generous hosts. We stayed in the stately 'pink room' suite ... very spacious, stunning view, comfortable bed and crisp linens. The ensuite bathroom is finished with high end modern fittings. Free wi-fi in the lounge, and tasty continental breakfast included.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bologna

La voce del silenzio.

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: Tutto.
Cons: Sarebbe importante mantenere nel tempo lo standard attuale.
Location: Posizione strategica per visitare Viterbo e la sua provincia.
Abbiamo soggiornato in tre a Villa Farinella dal tredici al sedici agosto nella " casa del fattore", un vero e proprio appartamento al piano terra della villa con cucina e bagno perfettamente attrezzati ( c'è anche la lavatrice e la lavastoviglie ), una camera da letto matrimoniale ,una sala da pranzo e un soppalco con altro letto matrimoniale. Arredamento in piacevolissimo stile country con ogni comodità. I proprietari, pur non essendo previsto per questa sistemazione, ci hanno fatto trovare il frigorifero con svariate bevande e tutto il necessario per una prima colazione senza doversi precipitare a fare la spesa appena arrivati. Il silenzio regna sovrano in questo posto magnifico dove i gatti si aggirano con passo felpato e la città pur a due passi sembra lontanissima. Bellissimo passeggiare nei campi ben curati con ulivi,filari di viti e noccioli. L'interno della villa è magnifico. Ma più che le parole, bisogna vederla ! Molto graziosa anche La Quercia, la frazione di Viterbo in cui si trova Villa Farinella con una magnifica chiesa e un ristorantino- Al solito posto- comodo per la vicinanza e ottimo per i piatti proposti.