Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Elise

nice

Posted Jun 11, 2016 on Hotels
good price/quality and staff is very nice
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
Great deal for backpacker. Staff is very Nice. But a little noisy. You need to pay at the hotel. With hotel.com is just a reservation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Buenos Aires, Argentina

Happy at Babushka House

Posted Oct 31, 2015
Pros: Location, attention, cleanness
Cons: I cannot think of anything
Location: Really close to Nevskiy Prospect and all the turist attractions (walking distance)
Excellent attention from staff (including owner himself) Excellent central location. Very clean. Veri nice ambiance...felt like staying at a friend's house. Excellent relationship between price/comfort
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Unhygienic & unfriendly

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: Besides an ok location and well ventilated room, everything else was terrible.
Cons: Restrooms... Dirty as he'll and malfunctioning showers. Of course it would help if the staff was friendlier
Location: Close to metro although not much to do otherwise.
Filthy restrooms, 3rd floor hostel with no elevator and plenty of flight of stairs. Staff is least friendly and unapologetic for broken appliances/dirty washrooms. Definitely thumbs down!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent hospitality

Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels
I stayed there for two weekends. It is conveniently located near a Metro station and within a walking distance from the city centre. The people at the reception are very helpful and the place is well maintained. I will stay there again when I have a chance to visit St. Petersburg again.
4 out of 5
by Maya from Los Angeles

Wonderful Location

Posted Sep 6, 2014 on Hotels
It was a great hostel in an amazing location and all of the workers were so helpful and wonderful. They were all amazing. The only problem we had with the hostel was that the showers dirty as there were many people staying at the hostel and the bathrooms are shared. Other than that it was amazing!
2 out of 5
by Rahul from India

Weird room size

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels
Indeed it's a great location with breakfast and that's the reason we had selected this place for our 4 days stay. However we were very much surprised when 3 of us were put into such a small room where we even could not keep our luggage due to 3rd bed. While booking the room it showed 14 sq mt but we were given much smaller room which was not even 9 sq. mt. Manager could not give us satisfactory answer and to avoid any dispute we had to accept whatever was given to us. Shower rooms badly stink. Complementary breakfast was nice.
4 out of 5
by Nick from Canada

Posted Jun 30, 2014 on Hotels
Pretty nice, rooms are rather small, bathroom is shared. Other than that, judging by the close-by hotel prices, it is a nice overall place to sleep.
4 out of 5
by J from UK

Nice hostel with cleanliness issues

Posted Sep 9, 2013 on Hotels
Nice little hostel, but big issues with cleanliness of showers and toilets during our stay. Basic breakfast on weekdays, nice pancakes on Saturday. Very good and clean communal kitchen.
5 out of 5
by Amber from NYC

One of the best hostels I've seen

Posted Apr 5, 2013 on Hotels
First off, this is a hostel, not a hotel. That means shared bathrooms, which also means everything isn't pristine-clean in your own private bath. People who want the hotel experience shouldn't stay in a hostel. That said, I found this to be one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. It was quite clean, well-designed, and had a great kitchen. There was actually a mix-up with the type of room we'd reserved, but the staff went out of their way to make it right. It has a nice common area that allows socializing, but it's also not a "party hostel." Nice balance between social and quiet. The neighborhood is great, if pricey. It's also quite close to the subway, and an easy 1-subway-stop from the major train station. I was very happy with my stay here.