Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

a place to be pampered

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Hotels
lovely room (although up a flight of stairs) friendly staff wonderful breakfast
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017
Dear GUESTS We thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us at Mosselberg on Grotto Beach! Kind regards Linda
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Disappointing from start to finish!

Posted Sep 23, 2017
My husband and i were celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary whilst on this trip. The guest house was very modern but a building doesnt make your stay....... the welcome we received was abrupt and we were left to carry our bags in from the car park around the pool and up a flight of steps. I got the feeling that management must have some serious trust issues, we were asked to sign a disclaimer saying that if we didnt look after our own stuff and something was stolen, it was our own fault..... leading me to believe they couldnt trust their staff. Then when we went into the room, there was a sign that said as guests, we were only entitled to take the complimentary slippers and NOTHING else, what sort of guests have they had in the past? Thieves? Breakfast was a disaster. The man that took our order got both breakfasts mixed up. We got 2 different menus. I had requested gluten free bread and when i asked to confirm it was, the man just kept saying "no it free, no charge" all through breakfast. Both my boiled eggs and my husbands poached eggs were hard after having been asked what way we would like them. There was a girl hanging around the breakfast room, like a prison warden, i could not see her purpose because she was equally clueless as the man. There is no modern technology in the room. Its not 5*. The owner waited until we were checkin out to address our comments. We paid approx £147. for night and got compensated with a bar of soap...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from stratford upon avon

Amazing hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2017
We had a lovely stay -it started with being upgraded to the best room with the most stunning view of the ocean. Room very comfortable and we had a roaring fire in minutes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017 by Linda, Hotel Management
Dear Louise Thank you for your kind review... it is always a pleasure to know that our GUESTS enjoyed their stay with Mosselberg on Grotto Beach and all we have to offer. Hope to accommodate you on your next visit to Hermanus again. Kind regards Linda
1 out of 5
by Michael

Horrible stay

Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
I got a special rate when I booked 5 months in advance. I approached the owner on arrival to ask if my husband that is doing the Cape Epic, can stay with me and my two boys in the room. He has a paid for camper van in The Epic rider village, but a room will be much more comfortable. He had to confirm with someone what the rate will be. I went to her an hour later, when she told me she was very upset with the rate I paid through the website and that there are people at the hotel that is paying a lot more than me!!!! What an insult, I have never felt so unwelcome. She also told me that our breakfast is not included, so I showed her my reservation and her response was that she will have to check it first. We also had to wait 40 min for our room. Dinner was served at R375 per head, I asked her if she has something for the kids, she said the steaks are cut the same thickness so the kids will have to pay the same price!!! I think she should remove her little board that kids are welcome. Will never go back to this place. View awesome, owners not.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017
Dear Guests I refer to the above GUEST review that you recently completed. Please allow me to offer you my most sincere apologies for the fact that your arrival and welcome at Mosselberg, did not meet our standard of service and GUEST experience. I confirm therefore that I do see your comments in a serious light and have taken action to rectify the shortcomings. Your feedback is highly valued and will be used to maintain and improve our GUESTS experience and service, where necessary. Thank you & Best Regards Linda
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quite beach hotel.

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Eclectic courtyard focused architecture is the big selling point. And proximity to seaside cliff walk. The greeting staff were a bit officious on check in but improved during our stay - but all others very nice. Linda was not there when we stayed. The pool isn't particularly inviting except maybe for kids. Food lovely. Dinner can be had on special order. Rooms fabulous. Views great. Near Dutchies a seaside restaurant that is quite lively and friendly. A drive into Hermanus for dinner (you could walk in I suppose and taxi back out).
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by Linda, Hotel Management
Dear GUESTS Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at Mosselberg on Grotto Beach. Driving by car to town is about 5 minutes or else Hermanus have very reliable Taxi services if you prefer this option. Many of our GUESTS do the walk on our beautiful Cliff path to town and take a taxi back We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay and hope to invite you back some day soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good option and close to beach

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Excellent couple of nights stay in march 2017. Wayne the chef was very welcoming as was Linda and Andrew was the star of the show helping me watch an all important football match one particular night. The in house dinner cooked up by Wayne was also first class as is the location which is five minutes from the beach. Worth noting that it is still a car drive from the centre of hermanus which is worth bearing in mind to access bars/ restaurants etc. Very much recommended though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by Linda, Hotel Management
Dear Steve Thanks so much for taking the time to complete this review of your recent stay at Mosselberg on Grotto Beach! We are pleased to hear that you had a good experience and will pass the appreciation on to our STAFF as well. Just a note on the distance to town, which is about 5 minutes drive, or you may make use of the taxi services available Hope to welcome you back some time soon Kind regards Linda
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful. Amazing room and service.

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Great place to stay. 5 star. Would stay there again.
5 out of 5
by Janice from Cape Town

Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels
We had the most lovely time. This was a treat for our young boys - a first time hotel and room service experience! They loved every minute and so did we! The staff are all so friendly and the service we received was amazing! The hotel is so close to the beach and we loved our evening and morning strolls. There were lots of little touches that made it even more enjoyable - a fire in the lounge, snacks in the TV room etc. Well worth the visit. We will definitely be back.
5 out of 5
by Ronel from Stellenbosch

Lovely luxury getaway

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
We were 3 friends and we stayed in the Olive Room, which was the only one available. We had a beautiful mountain view, which through not as fantastic as the sea facing rooms, still beautiful! The room is very spacious and the hotel went to a lot of trouble to make all three of us comfortable - there were two single beds in the room and they made up the day bed for the third person. We had a fantastic time, the venue is beautifully decorated, you have a lot of privacy and the staff is friendly and helpful. A short walk through a piece of coastal forest and you are on the Blue Flag Grotto Beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Beautiful room, common areas, great staff, amazing location, perfect views and access to beach, wonderful breakfasts.