Ratings based on 136 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Pennie

Eco-friendly, clean, wonderful animals

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful 1890's home filled with photos & furniture from times past. Goats, sheep, chickens, ducks, variety of fruit & citrus trees & vegetable garden provide a delicious breakfast of mangos, eggs, yogurt, fresh baked breads & juice. The late night showering of another guest was the only drawback & not a reflection on the gracious owner.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Farm Eco/Agro B and B

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
Was really nice place to stay because it's on a farm and it was nice to stroll around so my daughter could see the animals.
4 out of 5
by lloyd

Charming

Posted Jan 20, 2017 on Hotels
Check in was simple and quick Loved making a fire after a chilly evening watching the volcano. TV channels were spotty but it worked well enough. Water was hot after you let it run for a minute. Breakfast was good. Homemade yogurt and granola was a nice touch. There were things I wish I had seen earlier (flashlights and binoculars in main room). Was slightly thrown off by all the odds n sods on sale in the common rooms - didnt realize that was something people did.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Asheville, NC

Charming Homestead

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: attention to detail
Cons: nothing
Location: great Thai restaurant, Volcano National Park
Joan, the proprietress, has been in the inn business for 30 years, and it is evident. Every detail is taken care of, from the homemade yogurt, to the stash of umbrellas, raincoats and flashlights for after dark excursions. Joan has a thorough knowledge of Volcano State Park for your trip there. The Inn, off the main road, is easy to locate and is a delightful retreat. Joan has farm animals and a lovely sprawling property. Her impressive collection of Hawaiian artwork, living room with wood- burning fireplace and home style breakfast made for a comfortable stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newport Beach,Ca

only stayed because of the volcano park

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Hot shower, and the friendly lady that first greeted us.
Cons: the owners attitude when first greeting guest, and the bed in the bamboo room closest to the window needs to be replaced.
Location: literally 5 minutes from the volcano national park, and that right there is the only good thing. the location is what gives this place business.
Booked this room because we hiked to the lava in the Volcano Park and needed a place close by because we knew we were going to be tired. Since we were camping the island we wanted to see if it was possible for them to hold our carry on bag with all our personal items so we didn't have to keep them in the car, tried to contact the owner 3 weeks ahead of time to see if it was possible and if not we could figure out where else we were going to keep them since check in wasn't until 3. Emails sent, voicemails left and never a response. When we showed up around 1 we were greeted by a nice lady, then the owner walks up, I explained I had tried to get a hold of her for a couple weeks (mainly wanted to let her know incase she wasn't getting them) and she was SOOOOOO RUDE!!! She clearly was getting every single email and voicemail but never wrote or contacted me back, seriously she was so rude and so unwelcoming we wish we could have just dealt with the first lady, if it wasn't for the nice first lady this place would be getting 0 stars. We stayed in the bamboo room, and the bed closest to the window was horrible. its not even a mattress and the bed slanted if you were laying a certain way.It would have probably been more comfortable sleeping in my car, and at 140 dollars a night I expected a nicer bed. For a B&B they didnt even have coffee creamer. I mean come on. We left as soon as we could. It served the purpose not driving back to KONA but drive a little further before staying here
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

impressive place!

Posted May 17, 2016
Pros: personal owned arts and fine staffs. the location is extremely near the national park
Cons: Again, the shower system or specifically, the water-heater.
Location: national park is awesome!
this place is owned by a owner who collected a lot of arts and fine staffs. the breakfast is very good and healthy! But, as a very conservative place, shower experience is not very good. Hot water can only exist about 1~2 minutes after you turn on the tab. Most of the time we take shower with cold water. Besides that, the place is warm and comfortable.
4 out of 5
by Hiroshi from kona

homey atomosphere

Posted Feb 25, 2016 on Hotels
good hospitality.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location.

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Nice staff. Very laid back atmosphere. If you don't have high expectations, you won't be disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HI

Perfect for National Park

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Lovely light breakfast in small friendly lounge with thoughtful provision of umbrellas, coats and slippers. Having stayed before look forward to future visit
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK place for one night stay

Posted Aug 24, 2015 on Hotels
If you arrive late, you won't be able to meet the host and need to take some time to get yourself oriented. The house is surrounded by tropical plants, has good privacy. On the other hand, because of the tropical weather and all the plants, room is quite damp, has spider webs, small insects inside. Every room is uniquely decorated, it's pretty fun if you like your room theme. Volcano is a small town, the neighborhood is quite dark after sunset. Most restaurants don't even take dine-ins after 8:30PM.