Ratings based on 124 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moraga, CA

Lava Lodge is great!

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: The banana bread was a great treat.
Cons: Maybe a better description on Expedia.
Location: It's about a half hour from Hilo. Minutes from Volcano National Park. There's an orchid farm.
I wouldn't really call this a hotel. They are individual bungalows with full kitchens (at least the Jade one was). This was a great place to stay to check out Volcano National Park. Stay in Hilo if you plan to take the easy way to see the lava flow into the ocean and then stay here to check out the park. Awesome Thai food near by. It was very tropical. You can't drink the water in the bungalow, but they provide you with water.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Blissfully tranquil near National Park

Posted Jul 31, 2017
A wonderfuly quiet place to stay, close to the entrance to Volcanoes National Park. In Wolfie Suite separate bedroom, living room with kitchen facilities, and deck. The gift of a breakfast loaf of banana bread gets renewed each day. The town of Volcano is small, but includes good café and restaurant (Thai Thai) short walk from the lodging. The area is fantastic for anyone interested in volcanoes and/or in hiking. 3 days was only enough for a taste.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from upstate new york

A stay in volcano village

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: This is not a hotel, but it is like a hotel in the amenities. We had daily trash removal and towel exchange. And banana bread delivery with coffee
Cons: Not a thing! Perfect.
Location: In volcano village. On the edge of the national park. A great location. Very quiet at night for great sleeping!
A quiet cozy spot. You get the feel of the rain forest with daily cleaning and refreshing goodies! We loved our time here. Because it was a freestanding building we did not know what to expect, but services were offered and we loved that we could have our coffee and breakfast before going and exploring this beautiful island.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Lava Lodge Management , Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review.
5 out of 5
by Martin

You can't go wrong A1 choice

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
Great self contained compartment with everything you need for 2/3day stay defiantly need a car due to location.about 10 minutes to the volcano park 50 minute drive to the sea shore eruptions then a 45 minute walk to viewing area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Great place to stay near Volcano National Park

Posted Jun 12, 2017
The townhouse was clean, quiet and suited our needs perfectly! We wanted a place to stay close to the park so that we could night view and then walk trails the next day. Being 5 minutes from the entry gate allowed us to spend the maximum amount of time in the Park. The banana bread was fabulous - the best we had in Hawai'i. We would definitely stay there again. The directions are a bit confusing as you have to check in at the Tru-Value Hardware store, but they even accomodated an early check-in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Tranquil place nestled in the woods.

Posted May 31, 2017
This place was so quiet and comfortable and close to the National Park.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convient to Hawaii Volcanos National Park.

Posted May 27, 2017
Somewhat centrally located to the places we visited on the big island of Hawaii. A quite place, far from the city. More like a cottage than a hotel room. The place was clean and comfortable. The tap water was non-potable, but drinking water was provided.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from maui, hawaii

Nice cottage

Posted May 20, 2017
Our overnight stay was very good. The one bedroom cottage was clean and cozy with a fully stocked kitchen. We would definitely stay there again
5 out of 5
by Chet

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
:)
3 out of 5
by Janice

Bad stay but at least a place to sleep

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
Listed as a lodge. But actually a house with no one there. No electricity and could not get in with key as at first. Clean. Over ripe fruits, papaya with nothing to cut with. Definitely not worth the price. An embarrassment to the tourist industry in Hawaii!!