Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfy

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: The privacy and location.
Location: lava viewing area 45 mins away is a must see!!
Everything you will ever need is included in this rental! Amazing stay, my surprise was opening the refrigerator and seeing it loaded! Breakfast all day, or just a snack on the go. loved it. The night comes alive when you stay at this beautiful cottage..
5 out of 5
by Kristofer

Great place

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
This was a great, cozy place to stay on the Big Island. Close to the National Park and Hilo. Very nice and accommodating owners. I would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose

AirBnB-style lodging

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Family style.
Cons: There can be more tidying, i.e. some of the drawings can be cleaned out, the leaflets of information can be re-organized and re-printed.
Location: 10 minutes to Volcano National Park. Five minutes to a food court.
I didn''t realize this is an AirBnB-style lodging until I arrived. The owner Heiley is friendly and patient, explaining all details on how to use the room facilities and restaurants nearby. This is her only lodging for rent. The paintings on the walls are by a local artist who has moved away. They can be bought. The cottage has a prime location, 10 minutes to Volcano National Park. It apparently comes of age but largely clean. Refrigerator is stuffed with food for breakfast. Heiley even prepared us some fruits. Shower water is hot. There are coffee maker, hair dryer, electric fire place (didn't realize it is cold in the city of Volcano in mid-April), etc. but needs more tidiness, i.e. some of the drawings can be cleaned out, the leaflets of information can be re-organized and re-printed. We paid $40 for our third guest, who got the sofa bed. But it was too soft and sinking, and sleeping for a night there is a little tiring. When I called as a courtesy before checking out, Heiley's father took the call. He said I should leave a cleaning fee. I told him I paid upfront for everything through Expedia, but he insisted there is an additional cleaning fee. I said I don't mind if Expedia told me beforehand about a cleaning fee, like what AirBnB does, but obviously there was no mention of it. He then said that's fine if I write a review for the cottage.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 31, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place, but chilly and damp

Posted Jan 1, 2017 on Hotels
Chilly, damp climate in the area - space heaters didn't take care of that very well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Nice cottage in the rain forest

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: The setting, the location, the amenities and the friendly owners.
Cons: There is a lot of stuff in the bathroom. It should be decluttered.
Location: Visit the Kilaeua volcano, the sea arch, the lava flows, the black sands beach, the green sands beach, drink fresh coconut water.
This a quaint, independent cottage in the middle of the rain forest at an elevation of 4000 ft. We loved it when we visited over Christmas 2016. It has a full kitchen, so feel free to bring your own food, especially if you plan to stay for a long time. The Volcano park visitor center is only 3 miles away. Since this cottage is in the middle of a rain forest, you will find the environment humid (we loved it).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Excellent place to stay

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on CheapTickets
This is a great place to stay if you are visiting volcano park. It is clean, warm, you just feel like home. Highly recommended. Jun
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cozy but lot of non-functional Appliances

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Cozy & cute, close to Kilauea, but oven, microwave, coffee maker, refrig, fireplace & kitchen lights not working. All could have been repaired. Foton for 4th person was really a foam mattress on the floor. Beds were doubles, not Queen size.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Artist Cottage was wonderful.

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Pros: The location was perfect for visiting Volcano National Park and everything about the cottage was very inviting.
Cons: The bed was very soft.
We were pleasantly surprised when we drove up to the Artist Cottage. We were met by the owners daughter who showed us around the cottage. They had even provided food in the refrigerator for breakfast. It was so relaxing to take our time in the morning and we could sit and eat without having to go to a restaurant or grocery store. Everything was very clean and had many paintings done by the owner. We would definitely recommend the Artist Cottage to anyone visiting the area of Volcano.
4 out of 5
by Shoshana

Visiting Volcano NP

Posted Jan 6, 2016 on Hotels
Location is great being five minutes from Volcano NP. Comfortable with all amenities.