Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good stay at Fosteria

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
Fosteria has great dinners in the evening. We always eat there. Breakfast was good. Room was spacious and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from seattle

Basic clean hotel near Volterra

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Pros: Good value and near Volterra. The rooms don't have much ambience, but main entrance was attractive.
Cons: Definitely a bit dated - but I guess that it is how they keep prices down. Wifi is not in the room, only in lounge. Kind of bummer.
Location: 700 meters to Volterra. Enough said.
No frill room - almost college dorm room style. Great price though for family of four. Nice outdoor patio for dining and breakfast. Dinner was decent and reasonable. Breakfast was standard Italian (perfectly fine). All the staff I encountered were pleasant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient location

Posted Jun 26, 2015 on Hotels
Very lovely setting. rooms a little dreary. Lovely dining area and grounds.
3 out of 5
by peter

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 21, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

A Surprising find

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff, the quiet ambiance, the food.
Location: It is outside the main walls and therfore requires a 10 minuite walk into the town. Volterra is a lovely place to visit, highly recommended.
From the outside it looked a little grim, however the welcome was very warm and the room spacious, cool and airy with a little balcony overlooking fields at the back. The teenagers had bunk beds and ours was large and comfy. It is a little outside the town and at night the walk back was a bit eerie - however the appearance of fireflies dancing along the road in front of us turned it into a magical experience. The breakfasts were the usual fare but with nice home made cake - and we ate there one evening and we were surprised at the quality of the food and how reasonable it was. The staff were extremely accommodating
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels
Short walk into Volterr
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bring your own pillow

Posted Oct 13, 2013 on Hotels
A decent hotel, in a good location. You need a car though, and your own pillow as they were uncomfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

SPARTAN AND OUT OF THE WAY BUT GOOD VALUE

Posted Nov 27, 2012 on Hotels
hard to find without GPS. Very plain, but very clean hotel. Good option outside city wall with free parking.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 12, 2012 on Hotels
Free parking, 20 minute walk into Volterra.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rod from London

Decent hotel in a peaceful location

Posted Jul 27, 2012
We were impressed by the Hotel Foresteria Volterra. The staff were all friendly, informal and helpful and there was a relaxed atmosphere at all times. Our rooms were spacious, clean with good bathrooms and plenty of towels and toiletries. They also had beautiful views of rolling Tuscan hills and efficient and quiet air-conditioning. And such a peaceful location! Our only suggestion for the rooms is to decorate them a little more - a couple of pictures on the wall would be beneficial. The hotel has a nice courtyard which can be used for breakfast or other meals or just drinks. The restaurant provides good food at lunch and dinner if required. The hotel is a little tricky to find, but just follow the signs from the main road east of Volterra centre. It's not walking distance from the town centre, but you can drive and park or, more easily, get a taxi. This is a three star hotel, so no extravagant luxuries, but a very decent place to stay, with friendly people.