Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

A comfortable and modern hotel

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: The balconies and the rooftop bar which really showed off the fabulous view that Dornbirn has to offer.
A very hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were modern, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. I will be looking forward to my next stay at Hotel Garni Sonne.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Christian from United States

Terrible customer service

Posted Sep 3, 2015 on Hotels
One of the worst experiences I've had at a hotel. I travel frequently and had booked this hotel for 3 nights for business. Smelly room, cobwebs and spiders on the deck, and no air conditioning so had to leave windows open, but there was noisy construction going on outside early every morning. Didn't sleep well at all. Complained to the front desk attendant, who was also the owner, who said "That's the way it is in Austria" and made no attempt to help or accommodate. He even charged us for the third night even though the situation was so bad that we had to leave. Any other hotel would have helped in some way. Was shocked at this response. Definitely wasn't worth it and certainly wouldn't recommend it.
4 out of 5
by franko from Boulder

a good hotel, small but nice and easy to find

Posted Sep 1, 2015 on Hotels
really great service. I showed up late in the eve to check in and because the front desk closed down, they left the key for me on the desk. Very friendly - nice location. Overall - no complaints at all!
5 out of 5
by Leticia from Ojai

Posted Jul 1, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent. Breakfast buffet was exceptional. Clean and very comfortable room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 13, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Carlos Storrer from Sao Paulo

Could be better if it had air conditioner

Posted Aug 8, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel is very nice, we were there for one night only, on our way to Germany. I made the reservation two hours only before the check in and when we arrived, the front desk was already closed. But there was a telephone and I called the manager and he gave all the instructions to check in myself! That was pretty nice. The only complain is the lack of air conditioner in the room. The rest was very good. Nice bed, nice shower and nice breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pasadena , Ca

Over priced for a mini hotel , very small

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Too small , no 24 hr staff , they close the door after hrs and I would not recommend it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous find

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Hotel Sonne was a fabulous find on our Expedia hotel search close to the Bodensee: Great rooftop, accommodating staff, delicious, plentiful breakfast, and super clean rooms with stylish glass shower.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Absolutely great

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Nice and pleasant surroundings, friendly staff . Rooms are very clean. Wi-Fi is working perfectly. Parking place in front of the Hotel, breakfast plentiful. Bregenz is very close, so if you want you can drink coffe on the Bodensee. And you can get there for just 10 min. Overall rating 5