Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Sean from Alabama

Cottage in the alps

Posted Oct 17, 2015 on Hotels
Great little hotel tucked up in the Alps. Nice views, good restaurant. Cheap rooms in the off season, I'm sure it's expensive during ski season. A little hairy to get to, about 5 miles up the side of a mountain on just barely more than a 1 lane road. Even the locals stop to let each other pass. It's an Alpine mountain get-a-way.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Dakota, USA

Misrepresented

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: Location for our trip
Cons: be honest which hotel we are staying. Don't promote one and give us another one
Location: nice location in the mountains. Cable car is next to hotel.
the photo is not the hotel that we stayed in. We stayed in a hotel next of less quality to the one in the photo. The room and beds were very small. Towels were worn out and coarse. Breakfast was average, the scrambled eggs came an hour late.
3 out of 5
by Adam

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 2, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by david from Bishopbriggs

Euro Tour 2015 - Walzenhausen

Posted Aug 30, 2015 on Hotels
No A\C which was disappointing. Business hotel rather than catering for tourists. Spectacular views of the Bodensee but prices in the area very expensive.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Walzenhausen affair

Posted Mar 2, 2015 on Hotels
Great location, staff made sure we had the best service.
5 out of 5
by Kay and Gene from USA

Just beautiful!!

Posted Sep 24, 2014 on Hotels
This hotel sits on top of a mountain with gorgeous views and offers all the amenities you can expect on top of a mountain: fine dining, lovely indoor/ outdoor lounge/bar area, free parking, etc. If you are vacationing in this area, I recommend it for an evening along the way.
4 out of 5
by S Coles from Uk

Great location

Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels
Lovely hotel good service nice room with a lovely view of bodensea . Breakfast had a good choice . There is a train stop outside the hotel that takes you down through a mountain to another town that runs every ten minutes. I would return here if I were in the area again .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from California, USA

Beautiful Views of Lake Constance and Countryside

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Room was very comfortable and clean. Our room had a terrace which we thoroughly enjoyed.
Location: Convenient location close to the Austrian and German borders. An hour drive to Zurich; also an hour drive to Konstanz, Germany.
A very comfortable hotel on a hill overlooking Lake Constance. This would be a good retreat for a couple. We didn't take advantage of the amenities, other than breakfast. Our room was very comfortable and spacious. It had a small terrace with two chairs where we enjoyed our morning coffee and a spectacular view of the lake. The breakfast was wonderful with the dining area providing dramatic views of the lake and surrounding countryside. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. We arrived after the 10:00 closing time of the front desk, but a couple members of the staff waited up late and made sure we got to our room ok. We felt like we were treated as family. The location of the hotel was very convenient for us as we also traveled to Austria and Germany.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

The most beautiful view over the Lake of Constance

Posted May 22, 2013 on Hotels
We loved the breathtaking views over the Lake of Constance as well as the fresh air in the middle of the green Appenzell hills in a small village. The food in the Restaurant was delicious.