Ratings based on 224 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 3, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Bernhardt

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
The location of hotel was good and the room was adequate but the price to value ratio was slightly disappointing.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Good hotel location if you're attending Documenta

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Friendly, informed, English speaking staff. Very nice breakfast. Convenient to tram transportation.
Cons: The addition of air conditioning would be wonderful. Cobblestone streets are noisy.
Location: Because it's nearby the 4 & 8 tram lines, it's easy to access a large portion of the city. Getting around is not a problem.
We enjoyed our three day stay at the hotel. Our primary purpose for our trip was to visit as many Documenta venues as possible and this hotel proved convenient for that purpose. Our check in was routine and there were no surprises. The staff was very helpful in providing information for getting around the city. Our room was about normal size for a European hotel room and the bathroom was satisfactory (good shower size). The room was maintained well by the service staff. The room and hotel has no air conditioning. We discovered this was not uncommon for older hotels within the city. Since we were visiting in late June, it was warm. We had to maintain air circulation by leaving the windows open. There were no mosquitoes but the street in front of the hotel was cobblestone and cars made a lot of noise as they drove by. Fortunately, we were there over a weekend and there was relatively little traffic then. However, it was noisy on Monday morning. The breakfast is very good, perhaps, one of the best we had during our trip. Don't miss it. The staff was very helpful in providing information on using the city's tram (trolley cars). The 4 & 8 lines stop less than a block from the hotel and both stopped at the main Documenta site (as well as the Ratskeller). Although we didn't use other lines, it appears one can access a large portion of the city simply by using the trams. There apparently is a public parking lot nearby the hotel but we found nearby street parking (weekend).
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location and breakfast

Posted Jul 1, 2017
This hotel had some good features but lacked some basic expectations. The hotel is very close to a tram stop, and the rooms are clean, if rather outdated. My main issues were that there was no kettle or iron in the room, and the fridge did not hold its temperature, thereby spoiling the food I had bought. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
by Judith

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Baz from Geneva

Posted Jun 8, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly staff and good value for money. Better than expected breakfast. Hotel a bit dated but clean and no complaints for the price paid.
4 out of 5
by Mark from Milwaukee

A solid place with nice people.

Posted May 19, 2016 on Hotels
The people there were generous and kind. The young lady at the front desk ran after me with my iPhone as I raced out of there to catch a tram. Good people and a good place. The room was simple, which is what I needed. Bath room was tolerable, but who needs a five-star bathroom?
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2015
Reception dest stuff (thr one with red mid-length hair) was impatient with us when we had some misunderstanding on the fee charge, when I asked her to provide us a wifi to check my card balance before we checked in, she refused to do so. There was no water cattle in every room, we have to go downstairs again and again for hot water. But the desk stuff who with up-do blond hair was really nice and patient.
3 out of 5
by Richard

Not exactly a gem, but good for the price.

Posted Jul 29, 2015 on Hotels
We came for a one night stay to see a friend and the hotel did everything it should, though not much more. The highlight is the neighborhood, which has several good restaurants/hangouts, and some of the best coffee I've found in Germany! It's a little removed from most city attractions. The hotel is clean enough. Some things are very modern and nice, while other things are waiting for a good restoration. The room was small, especially the bathroom which was comically tiny. I had to sit to use the toilet and my knees were under the sink, and I had to stand with one foot outside the bathroom to dry off after my shower! The bed was comfortable, but split in the middle, in the German fashion -- not great for couples. The staff were courteous and helpful, though the morning cleaning lady was persistent and annoyingly early.
4 out of 5
by Gerard from Singapore

Clean hotel, good location.

Posted Jul 6, 2015 on Hotels
We were a family of 4 & were given a spacious room with a large balcony. Unfortunately we did not have much time to enjoy the Balcony. The room was nonetheless clean with sufficient towels provided. The double beds were a little small though for have 2 person to comfortably sleep in them. The hotel was located in a residential area with the convenience of amenities such as banks, restaurants, supermarkets & public transport.