Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Good Hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Nice staff good view over looking the sea
Cons: The Breakfast menu selections very poor.
Location: Close to town and amenities
Breakfast disappointing from last stay. selections not good, cold food most of the time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Average hotel but noisy at night

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: location is near to where we need to work.
Cons: need to be upgraded and renovated.
Location: to stay for convenience to the work place. No time to sight seeing.So cannot comment on anything nearby.
Hotel in general is average but to have a peaceful sleep at night is impossible. The room has many noise at night so cant have a peace of mind.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia, Wodonga victoria

good room close to town and other amenities

Posted Dec 9, 2015
Pros: close to beach and amenities
Cons: hotel going through an upgrade
Location: as above
enjoyed our stay we were upgraded to a suite at no extra cost
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Rooms not available, badly in need or a renovation

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Customer service, needs a complete renovation to bring it up to a reasonable standard
We booked 3 twin rooms in January for arrival 3 June 2015. On arrival, hotel said only 2 rooms were available and another room was available in another hotel in their group, The Palace Hotel. They the said they would upgrade us to best rooms at no extra charge. When we checked rooms they were horrible. Very old, smelly, second bed was a tiny roll out. We complained, asking them to move us to Palace Hotel. They then told us there were no rooms available there. We then went directly to the Palace. They couldn't have been more helpful. They had 3 rooms available immediately which were organised very quickly, we inspected them and they were perfect. We then went back to the Rex, to get our bags and asked for refund which they initially refused. After some discussion, they finally agreed to refund 3 of the 4 nights we had prepaid. We would not recommend this hotel unless you want something cheap and nasty. Good thing was the Palace Hotel was a 4 star hotel and the cost per night was similar.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from c

rex hotel

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Would not stay again very run down Photos are a complete lie If this hotel was in Australia the authorities would close it down Very noisey from park across the road playing very loud music to 4 am Plus works going on on site from machinery Nice pool area is the only positive I have Breakfast was very ordinaraging photos of hotel must be 20 years old
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good place to stay

Posted Mar 1, 2015
If you are looking for something that is central and close to the beach, then the Rex will be fine for you. The rooms are a bit dated but give a colonial feel, which is the underlying focus of the hotel. The staff can communicate in English for basics. The hotel is a true 3 star hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Not quite as described, but still quite adequate

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Location: found five different vegetarian (really vegan) restaurants nearby enough to walk. Ask at the desk.
I arrived during the "rainy season", which of late has not been something you can count on in South Vietnam. For that purpose, I thought the amenities listed "Swimming pool - children's, Swimming pool - indoor, Swimming pool - outdoor" to be an important distinction to this hotel, compared to others. However, I searched high and low for an indoor pool, and eventually asked, to the puzzlement of staff. There is no indoor pool. I brought the staff my laptop, to show what Expedia said about their offerings, and was informed that they would get that fixed. It is not fixed, now, more than a week later. I find it hard to believe, though not impossible, that no one else ever asked about this. Seems important to me, but maybe not so important for others. As it was mainly for the purpose of providing a swimming vacation for my two and a half year old, I'll stick to what is relevant. The poolside is quite hot during mid-day, so hot that my daughter was burning her feet when stepping out of the pool (and we again thought that an indoor pool would have been practical). Shade covers one side in the morning, and the other side in the afternoon (the children's pool side). The pool closes at 7 pm, which I thought was a bit premature - there is a bar located poolside, so one might expect some nighttime activity. Quite often, we had the pool to ourselves, and also, in the late afternoon, my daughter had some local kids to play with. That was a big plus.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Currie from Philadelphia, PA

Convenient Location

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: Location, Price and Swimming Pool.
Cons: Hotel is old and needs to refurbished.
Location: Beach - 10 minutes Bars/Restaurant - 5 minutes Tourist Center - 5 minutes
Pleasant welcome and nice staff. Though they speak English, they do not always understand your requirements. The pool is welcome break and it taxi's available 24/7.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Solid room for the price. Great location.

Posted Oct 2, 2012
Pros: Breakfast buffet. Wi-Fi.
Cons: Nothing of note.
Location: You can walk to the beach in two minutes if not sooner.
The breakfast buffet was very nice. Enjoyed having Wi-Fi in the bedroom too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chez from Perth WA, Australia

Comfortable, clean, good location.

Posted Mar 28, 2012
Pros: Good location, comfy, great breakfast and nice pool area.
Cons: Shocking television set. But, hey, you're on holiday! Get out and enjoy the place!
Location: Not far off the front beach. Easy walk to lots of great eateries, bars etc...
Good location. Rooms were clean and tidy, perhaps needing some refurbishment. The bathrooms were stuck in a bit of a time warp and showering (and keeping the bathroom from flooding ) with the shower over bath set up required a bit of a contortionist act, unless you were under 5 foot tall. Having said that, everything was clean and the water hot and steady so not the end of the world. The breakfasts were great. There was a lovely pool area/poolside bar and the staff were friendly, helpful and easy to communicate with.