Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakland, CA

Old world charm, if a little aged.

Posted May 15, 2017
On the whole, we had a lovely stay and might even choose to visit this hotel again if we were to return to the area. The hotel could use some updates however. It's a nice, old European hotel. Very good service and staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Ga

Wachau Valley treasure

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Stately estate in beautiful little town on the Danube. Old world charm and character.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
An absolutely beautiful hotel in a very charming town.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
Great tips on where to visit in the area and excellent food at the restaurant!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your precious review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and were satisfied with the services offered! It would be a pleasure to welcome you back one day and wish you all the best - Family Thiery & Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

wonderful view of the danube river.

Posted Apr 22, 2016
enjoyed our stay. pleasant facilities. very comfortable
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2016 by Family Thiery and Team, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your positive feedback! This is always very motivating! Best regards
5 out of 5
by Amanda Lee

Posted Sep 20, 2015 on Hotels
The room was beautiful. We especially liked the shower and toilet in the wardrobe. We were greeted with a nice letter from the family and a plate of fruit. Then we enjoyed the wellness swimming pool and sauna with its beautiful architecture. We also enjoyed the lounge with schnaps and live piano playing after a nice dinner on the hotel terrace.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2016 by Family Thiery and Team, Hotel Management
Dear Ms. Amanda Lee, we very much appreciated reading through your review! All these nice words give us recognition and motivation to keep on our track! It would be a pleasure to see you again one day and we wish you all the best! Kind regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sonora, CA

Excellent in every way

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Beautiful hotel in a wonderful and scenic location. The staff were all courteous and helpful. We were there 2 nights and wish we had stayed 3. Our room was charming and the furnishings throughout the hotel created a lovely ambience. We enjoyed sitting on the terrace overlooking the Danube, as well as the hike up to the fortress ruins. Highly recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2016 by Family Thiery and Team, Hotel Management
Dear Ms. Linda, thank you very much for your review! Such nice words are always motivating, and we appreciate that the love to the details is recognized. We spent a lot blood, sweat and tears to create this lovely ambience - as you called it. We would appreciate if we see us again one day and wish you a wonderful time! With best regards
4 out of 5
by Upendra N from New Delhi India.

Posted Aug 22, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel has fabulous location and exemplary service . Would love to visit again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2016 by Family Thiery and Team, Hotel Management
Dear Upendra N, thank you for your positive review! We would also be happy to welcome you again one day and wish you all the best! With warmest regards
5 out of 5
by Nancy from Los Angeles

Wonderful, magical hotel

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
We were driving from Vienna to Prague and wanted to stop at a quaint village for an overnight stay. Durnstein fit the bill perfectly, and Hotel Schloss Durnstein was an amazing choice! It's purely magical - the location, stately structure, history, and amenities all made it a wonderful choice. One of our favorite features was the indoor pool. We went in the spring, so it was rather cool outside. You wouldn't know it though, because you were transported to a Grecian seaside village once we entered the underground space. All in all, it was a wonderful stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2016 by Family Thiery and Team, Hotel Management
Dear Ms. Nancy, thank you very much for your compliments! We enjoyed reading through this overwhelming review! This is so much appreciated. Our indoor pool is indeed an oasis of calm and well-being, and offers great opportunity for relaxation! We would be happy to see you again one day and wish you all the best!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming Durnstein

Posted May 20, 2015 on Hotels
We very much enjoyed our visit but very disappointed not to have any English speaking television (for news at least) and no English newspapers which is unusual for a Relais & Chateaux!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2016 by Family Thiery and Team, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review. Indeed we do not offer any english channels, but rather have a focus on customary channels. However nowadays this is not much requested anymore by our clients, as New Media made all forms of information much more accessible (i.e. tablets, smartphones, etc.) We offer free Wifi within the whole hotel to have access to all forms of Media! Regarding the newspaper - we do organize also english newspapers on request - free of charge! We hope besides these points you still enjoyed your holidays at Hotel Schloss Dürnstein and wish you all the best! With best regards