Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Comfortable room, but lacking in the rest

Posted Sep 5, 2016
The room itself was lovely - clean and very comfortable. The rooms are in a building beside the pub. I was told breakfast was served from 7.30, and as I was on a course and had to leave early mentioned I'd like it at 7.30. This was fine on morning 1, but morning 2 when I went over it was still locked at 7.35, and in fact when I left at 8.10 there was still no sign of anyone around. Morning 3 I had to leave at 7.50, and again everything was still locked up and no sign of anyone around (I had to post my room key through the letterbox) The main issue for me though was lack of communication with the outside world. There is no phone signal in the bedroom at all, and although they say wifi is provided - it is very weak, so is not really useable - by moving around the room devices can pick up short bursts of signal so ok for email etc coming through, but can't browse the Internet at all - it's just not strong enough. and on the 2nd evening I couldn't even access email. If you wanted to have some time away from the world and be uncontactable, with some late starts the greyhound could work. However if you have stuff to do, want to get going in the morning and like to stay in touch with people I'd stay somewhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oz

very friendly people

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: friendly people with lots of tips where to go etc
Cons: cleaning of rooms found old sandwich containers and some food dated from weeks before we arrived in bedside cabinet
Location: close to abbey close to bus services to tmbridge
old barn converted to rooms very friendly staff good breakfast stayed two nights
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant stay.

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Pros: Friendly and relaxed.
The owner was very friendly and we had a very relaxing stay. The food was good, especially the breakfast. Bewl water is not very far and we had a very pleasant walk cross country to the reservoir, although because it had been raining it was muddy in places. The village of Wadhurst has some very individual shops and tearooms and Tunbridge Wells is about a 20 minute drive away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room was clean and comfortable

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: It was a lovely old inn with an ingle nook fireplace was warm and comfortable.
Location: Lovely old village
Staff were friendly and very accommodating,excellent breakfast,left happy,a pleasant experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Pub with rooms. Not hotel

Posted Jul 28, 2015
The pub is a little dire. Parking at the pub-there are 4spaces-good luck. The rooms are in a converted out house at right angles to pub. V pleasant surprise! Lots of space. Clean . Inviting. Bathroom in need of a little tlc But did the job. Breakfast in morning was lovely. Would use again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aylesbury

Quaint pub

Posted May 29, 2015
Pros: Good spacious room. with excellent selection of teas and coffee. Best provision of teas we have seen.
Cons: Larger tv, it was quite small. En suite badly needs upgrading. Paintwork on walls peeling and skirting boards very grubby. Shower cubicle needs clean
Location: Good venue for National Trust properties
Food good and well priced. No food on Monday evenings when we stayed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedfordshire

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: Generally very friendly, 'pub atmosphere', good breakfast (pub food in evening perfectly adequate). Room clean and tidy. Liked the box of posh teas
Cons: Free Wi-Fi in place, but had to request code from the bar. Maybe a welcome booklet in room would be useful
Location: Very poor mobile signal
Pleasant , staff friendly, room clean, box of posh teas in the room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Character hotel situated in Wadhurst

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Hotel staff were helpful when we arrived before check-in and gave us our keys early. They had no cards or check-in sheets though. The room was in an old beamed barn-type annexe and was looked very nice. However the conversion was so flimsy I could hear another guest snoring and people coughing. Breakfast was traditional but there was not a lot of choice. Overall the hotel fitted our needs well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice country pub

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Nicely decorated room in converted stables. Really good breakfast and excellent tea and coffee in the rooms. Only downside was because of the sloping roof, there wasn't space to sit up in bed. Staff were excellent though and we enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Comfortable Village Inn

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Location, ease of finding and parking, good eating facilities and good ale, friendly and helpful staff. Good selection of teas/coffees in room.
Cons: Extractor fan energised with bathroom light is very noisy. Bathroom decor in need of redoration near floor level. Shower head floppy in holder.
Location: The Greyhound Inn is in Wadhurst and there are plenty of things to do in the Weald of East Sussex.
The Greyhound Inn is located in the village centre with convenient parking. We stayed in what we assumed is a converted stable block adjacent to the main Inn. The twin room was fully equipped and comfortable. The Inn has a comprehensive dinner menu and has a good choice of real ales. Breakfast is served from 08.30 on Saturday which did not suit us but the manager arranged for a pre-selected breakfast to be available for 08.00 which worked well.