Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Nice, friendly, quiet hotel VERY close to Petra.

Posted Aug 16, 2015
The staff were amazing - very friendly and helpful. We stayed in the chalets outside of the main building which were spacious and comfortable although there are lots of steps to contemplate after out trek round Petra and a climb to the Monastry! The hotel is at the entrance to Petra but off the main road so no traffic noise so ideally placed for your visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 10, 2015
Pros: The rooms and the chalet style lodging
Cons: Quality of the food at both the cave and breakfast buffet
Literally next door to the Petra park entrance, nice hotel with good ambiance. BBQ food at the Cave restaurant at the hotel was not great, but they readilly replaced the overcooked kebabs and items we were unhappy and the second attempt was better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Amman, Jordan

5 Stars with Best Location for Great Price

Posted May 7, 2015
Pros: Location (best in Petra) Service (best in Petra) Cave Bar ambiance (totally unique to this hotel) Value (best in Petra)
Cons: Outer appearance of the hotel (basically the room doors) looks a little kitschy. A pool would be nice as well.
I live in Amman, Jordan so have visited Petra many times. I've stayed at many Petra hotels, both international chains (Marriott, both Movenpicks, Crowne Plaza) and local hotels like Petra Moon. I've never had a bad experience at any of these hotels but the Petra Guest House was truly outstanding. The hotel is located literally right at the gate of Petra. After a long day of exploring the ruins, it was great to be so close. The hotel itself is managed by IHG and is the same level of quality as a Crowne Plaza. The lobby is well-appointed, the rooms are large and clean, and the beds are super comfortable. The staff is all former Crowne Plaza so the level of service is very high. The Hotel Manager, Issam Alaya, went out of his way to ensure my stay was enjoyable. He made sure my party received complimentary internet, offered me a voucher for the Basin restaurant inside Petra, and made arrangements for us to eat dinner in the Cave Bar. That brings me to the Cave Bar, one of the coolest features of the Hotel. The Guest House is the oldest hotel in Petra and their bar area is built into one of the caves (tombs) of the Nabeteans. The ambiance is perfect to have a drinks and food after a long day. The food is good, not spectacular, but standard for IHG properties. I will stay at Petra Guest House on all future trips to Petra. It not only offers the best location and service, but it is usually the best value, roughly $50/night less expensive than the major chains, as wel
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2015 by Issam, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, Would like to thank you for your comments and your recent booking at Petra Guest Hotel . It Was truly a pleasure to serve you. and assuring you that the complete satisfaction is our goal. We look forward to welcoming you again and assure you that everything possible will be done to make your an enjoyable one. Sincerely , Issam .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mexico

Be careful

Posted May 7, 2015
The hotel is conveniently located and the room is spacious. Also the buffet is very good for breakfast and dinner. There are many stores right next to the hotel. The only problem is that the personnel is not respectful with the woman's, they look at her very heavily in an way that could be uncomfortable. That is even inside The hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St-Albans, UK

Excellent location, staff, hotel!!! The best

Posted May 4, 2015
Friendly & helpful staff, superb breakfasts, clean & spacious rooms, within Petra villiage & the closest location to Petra entrance. Reasonably priced, value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Anne Sophie from Amman

Excellent location, good service, mediocre food...

Posted Apr 15, 2015 on Hotels
Spent two nights there while exploring Petra. The location is fabulous as it is right at the entrance to the site; the staff is very helpful and the Cave Bar has a great ambiance. The only drawback is the quality of the food in the restaurant, which is mediocre at best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kuwait/USA

Can't beat the location

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: The location is awesome and Khalid, one of the bellmen, was extremely helpful and friendly.
After a long day of hiking around Petra, you're hot, sweaty, tired, and do NOT want to walk more than you have to in order to get to your warm shower. This hotel is literally at the gate of the park. Stay in this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Brilliant location

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Pros: The location right next to the entry to Petra.
Cons: Staff could be a little more energetic, the food could be improved, and a swimming pool would be a fabulous addition.
Location: I didn't spend much time in Wadi Musa but other people I met recommended a cooking class at Petra Kitchen which they enjoyed.
The location is the main advantage of the Petra Guest House - at the end of the day when you have been walking around Petra and after the long walk up the slope to the exit it is marvellous for your hotel to be the first place you reach and the Cave Bar is very inviting. My room was very nice and for the most part the service was good if a bit slow. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice but the choices for dinner were few and somewhat uninspired (I went to a neighbouring hotel for dinner one evening and although it was more expensive the food was considerably better). I didn't like the fact that the only area that was non-smoking was the restaurant and at one point had to wait a long time for the reception area to be free of smokers so I could approach the staff to query something. If I was to return to Petra I would stay at the Guest House again - it's good value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Location, Location, Location!

Posted Mar 5, 2015 on Hotels
Best location for our exploration of Petra. Room was great. Nice breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

1min away from the Petra Entrance

Posted Feb 19, 2015
1min away from the Petra Entrance, ideal place for travellers to stay for the first day at Petra