Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Everyone there was very nice. The breakfast buffet was really good too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 4, 2016
It is a nice older hotel. Quiet and clean just could use a little refreshing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Good enough for the location needed

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: The distance between Milwaukee and Chicago, quiet and in a good location. Felt very safe.
Cons: Deep cleaning, longer shower curtains, heat turned up in the hot tub, new pillows, lonber breakfast hours.
Location: Delicious food: The Shanty, Captain Porky's, Anastasia's, the Pancake house. Close drive to Milwaukee, Jelly Belly, Mars Cheese Castle, Chicago.
In town for a wedding at the Country Club at Midlane. Can tell they aren't owned by the same companies. The hot tub was cold the first night, sort of a little warmer the next night after we made a complaint to the front desk. The room needs serious updatkng and a deep clean. The couch in the room was really uncomfortable to sit on and not very clean looking. The bed wasn't the most comfortable but was ok. The pillows left little to be desired, they were pretty hard and lumpy, should probably just be replaced. The shower curtain was short somthe bathroom floor got pretty wet, many towels used to soak up the water. The hallways have an odd odor. The air conditioning units were loud and not very clean. The bathroom sink innour room dripped water unless it the handle sas turned a certain way. The hotel was a great halfway point from Milwaukee and Chicago which is where we visited. Great restaurants near by, The Shanty, a pancake house and our new favorite Captain Porky's.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Louis Missouri

Very Clean, Highly recommended

Posted Jul 29, 2016
I found this hotel on Expedia, for our visit from St Louis to go to Six Flags and Chicago to shop at the Blackhawks store. We arrived late and was greeted by a gentleman, that was happy to see us. He got us checked in fast. The breakfast was better than expected. I work at a hotel and know what is expected when a hotel says a full hot breakfast is included. They exceeded my expectations. We had a tiny issue, but it didn't affect my feelings toward the hotel or staff. Beings I do work at one, I do understand how busy hotel staff can get. Our second day, we left before housekeeping could get started. So I stopped at the front desk and asked if we could just get 5 bath towels and a bath mat. I explained to the lady, that I accidentally left my sign on the door, but I did not want service just the towels exchanged, also that I left them on the floor right inside the door. We got back from a very exhausting busy day of sightseeing in Chicago, to find the dirty towels still there and no fresh towels. And a note that stated our do not disturb sign was on the door. Seems they need to work on communication a bit. I know, sometimes front desk doesn't communicate everything to the housekeepers completely. I called the desk and he said he would bring me towels. 30 mins later, nothing. I walk down and the lady said he thought we requested 5 bath mats. Cleanliness and hotel staff made the little issue not matter. Highly recommend this hotel!!!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tulsa, OK

Quiet location

Posted Dec 3, 2015
Pros: The location.
Cons: Rooms need to be updated. Mainly the bed and the sofa.
My husband and I have stayed here several times so when we got to our room I was very disappointed. In the past we had a two room suite but this time it was a small one room suite plus we were put on the third floor at the furthest room from the elevator. We kept our sense of humor by saying we at least got our exercise. I called the front desk as soon as I saw the room and asked for one that we have had in the past but was told we would be charged $20.00 per day more which was not in our budget.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sanchez

Nice hotel close to Gurnnee mill mall

Posted Nov 30, 2015
After shopping in the Black Friday Gurnnee mill malls. We stayed there And when I arrived I wanted to give a room with a bed and a sofa and was not what I reserved I had to show them my phone reservation I made to believe me
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is fine except for one issue

Posted Nov 27, 2015
They used an obnoxious cleaning fluid that effected our sinuses.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Bad sound isolation

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Clean, not bad hotel but with a very bad sound isolation. We were traveling with our 20 month old and he was sleeping well through the night. But our neighbors were partying at 3 am and we could hear everything (including every word) that was happening in their room. And also the breakfast buffet was very poor, from all places we visited it was the worst I would say. Won't recommend it and won't come back here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

It wasn't what I expected.. Very disappointed

Posted Oct 26, 2015
The room that was given to us was not cleaned, the bed wasn't made and it look like the people that was there before just had left...... The hotel in my eyes is a two maybe three star no more then that.....
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place

Posted Sep 9, 2015
Everything was fine except we had an unusual odor in the room. I mentioned it as I was checking out as I only had the room for one night.